We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service, Great Location”
Review of Colon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Colon Hotel
Ranked #80 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Service, Great Location”
Reviewed 5 July 2012

Excellent Location. We were able to get to all of the sites on foot from the hotel. Our room was on the cathedral side of the hotel, which made it a little loud at night, but the view was beautiful. Some people would call the hotel old fashioned since the rooms aren't really big and the decorations are fitting of the old-city location. We loved it, however. The staff was very personable and helpful, even though we didn't speak their language. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jlnmph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Colon Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your stay at the Hotel Colón and your explanatory feedback. We are most thankful for constructive reviews for they allow us to enhance our understanding of our guests' needs and wants. We are glad to learn that you appreciated our team’s efficient service. For us is very important that our guests feel comfortable and happy during their stay in the hotel.

For any leisure traveller interested in visiting Barcelona's many cultural and tourist attractions, our hotel is definitely an excellent choice: Many of Barcelona's hotspots are virtually round the corner.

If you find yourself planning your next trip to Barcelona, please don´t hesitate in contacting us. We´ll be looking forward to see you again at Hotel Colón.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,901 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    923
    728
    163
    57
    30
See reviews for
426
816
149
107
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (520)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2012

Lovely city center hotel covenant for all sights. Lovely clean homely rooms I was traveling on my own so no issues with safety.my room was facing center court yd of hotel but was not an issue as did not need a view. The only problem I had was loud talking ect echoing up from court yd but did go quiet at 11. Staff are very friendly and helpfull at this hotel doorman and reception especially. Would stay here again in a heart beat
No swimming pool or gym but did not require either

Room Tip: Ask for a cathedral view if a room with a view is important
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joe1811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Colon Hotel, responded to this review, 3 July 2012
Dear guest,

Firstly we'd like to thank you for having chosen the Hotel Colón for your recent stay in Barcelona and also for taking a few minutes of your time to share your experience with your fellow travelers at TripAdvisor.

Being located in the heart of the legendary Gothic Quarter, one of the oldest one in the city gives our guest and added value to their visit. Just at a walking distance away from some of Barcelona's hot spots, such as Las Ramblas, La Boquería Market, el Born, the Waterfront, Barceloneta Beach, Plaza Catalunya (etc); makes us a great place to stay at.

We are looking forward to your next visit!

Regards,

Hotel Colón - Barcelona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 30 June 2012

Excellent location, Gothic area very nice with good restaurants, had a great view from our balcony.The rooms are outdated but the location and service makes up for it,Perfect place to stay in Barcelona.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RustySutherland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Colon Hotel, responded to this review, 3 July 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for your kind review. We are happy to learn you took advantage of our strategic situation to fully enjoy Barcelona.

The Gothic Quarter is definitely one of the most beautiful areas of the city, full of excitement things to do year-round. We encourage our guests to take a stroll down the narrow medieval streets to experience firsthand all that it has to offer, from cafes, to restaurants, shops, museums and local talent street artists it's is almost certain the Gothic will pleasantly surprise you.

We look forward to welcome you back next time you are in town!

All the best,

Hotel Colón – Barcelona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2012

Hotel was nice and service was excellent. The rooms were a bit out dated, but were clean and larger than most Euro hotel rooms. We did not dine in the hotel so I cannot rate the restaurant. Most importantly the location was great and the staff went out of their way to help with our requests. A couple of steps in either direction takes you to Born , Las Ramblas, Plaza Catalunya and quite a few restaurants. This hotel is located on the plaza with the Barcelona Cathedral. There were quite a few events in the square. There is a stop for the sight-seeing bus very close. Also one minute away there is a large covered market....not boqueria large, but a nice place to shop for food close to the hotel. We traveled with two small children and their family room consisted of two separate bedrooms and a large bath. For the price and location I will stay here on our next trip to Barcelona. There was very little noise, much quieter than the Ramblas area. This is not a 5 star hotel, but I gave it 5 star rating because for us it was a perfect fit due to location, family room availability and service. I recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing the Cathedral.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jp3Atlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Colon Hotel, responded to this review, 5 July 2012
Dear guest,
We appreciate your review and we are truly glad that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel. We do our best to recreate a good experience during your stay at the Hotel Colón and kind reviews like yours let us know we are walking towards the right direction.
Our neighborhood, the Gothic Quarter, is one of the must-see in Barcelona. Also close to public transport, makes us a perfect place to stay with family.
We are looking forward to your next visit to Barcelona and we hope you’d try out our amazing restaurant.
Warm regards,
Hotel Colón-Barcelona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
56 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2012

We stayed here for one night in June on a week long holiday in Spain.

Pluses : great location. Opposite the Cathedral and easy to walk from here to a lot of central Barcelona. Oh - and the breakfast buffet was pretty good - with lots of fresh fruit, jamon, Spanish cheese and tomato bread (as well as English fare for those who wanted it).

The negatives: despite check in time being 2pm it took until 3.40 to get in. And then we were given a room with two single beds despite booking a double room. After a fuss, and another hour's wait we got a small double room. It was small, the pillows very uncomfortable, and all rather faded and dated.

I wouldn't go back.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Natalie222Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Colon Hotel, responded to this review, 5 July 2012
Dear guest,

We are truly sorry to hear that we fell short to meet your expectations on your last visit. However, we´re afraid most of it was due to an unfortunate misunderstanding. The classic double room in Spain usually means two twin beds.

Anyway we have a great location close to most important tourist attractions in Barcelona. Hotel Colon is always glad to provide you a service of our restaurant with delicious breakfast.

We hope to see you in our hotel next time

Warm regards,

Hotel Colón-Barcelona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Catedral
Catalonia Catedral
#33 of 513 in Barcelona
1,313 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Barcelona Catedral
Hotel Barcelona Catedral
#48 of 513 in Barcelona
1,935 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
H10 Montcada Boutique Hotel
H10 Montcada Boutique Hotel
#68 of 513 in Barcelona
2,002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya
#98 of 513 in Barcelona
3,699 reviews
El Raval
Hotel 1898
Hotel 1898
#22 of 513 in Barcelona
4,404 reviews
Eixample
Olivia Balmes Hotel
Olivia Balmes Hotel
#16 of 513 in Barcelona
2,112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colon Hotel

Property: Colon Hotel
Address: Avenida de la Catedral 7, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#52 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#62 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#84 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#125 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€€
Hotel Class:4 star — Colon Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Colón is a classic and traditional 4 stars hotel situated in the heart of Barcelona, right opposite the Gothic Cathedral. It was founded in 1951 and during its 90 plus years of history, it has housed big names such as Hemingway, Tennessee Williams, Jean Paul Sartre, Sofía Loren, Jane Fonda, Francis Ford Coppola, Santiago Calatrava, and Arata Isozaki. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Colon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Colon Barcelona
Barcelona Colon Hotel
Colon Hotel Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing