We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As good as when I stayed here 10 years ago”
Review of Colon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Colon Hotel
Ranked #82 of 514 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“As good as when I stayed here 10 years ago”
Reviewed 11 June 2012

I've stayed at Hotel Colon in 2000 and had a nice experience, so when I looked for hotels for my visit in May 2012, I reserved directly from their website and saw that their rates vary depending the date, so prices can be 50% more from one day or week to the other.
When I stayed there I was lucky to get a great rate (110 euros but other days was close to 200)
Rooms are nice and they respond to my request of a quiet room in the back, as I wasn't sure how noisy could it be facing the cathedral.
The location is great.
Staff was very nice and helpful and I was able to check in earlier .

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa2319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColonBCN, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Colon Hotel, responded to this review, 12 June 2012
Dear guest,

First of all thank you for thinking of us after 10 years! Time goes by really fast and we are glad we had the chance to welcome you back to the city after all this time.

As long as possible we try to meet all of your guests needs. Since we have such a wonderful, strategic location it allows us to offer both exciting and relaxing experience at the same time.

We would love the opportunity to have you back as our guest next time you visit Barcelona, we just hope we don't have to wait another 10 years!.. Please don't hesitate in contacting us to make sure we honor any special requests you may have.

Warm regards from the Mediterranean

Hotel Colón
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,865 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    902
    714
    162
    57
    30
See reviews for
421
799
147
105
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (510)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
68 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2012

My wife and I had a cathedral view room with balcony. The room was spacious, clean, comfortable and quiet . The view was superb. Staff was friendly and professional. Hotel is in the Gothic area of Barcelona and just two blocks off Las Ramblas St. Parking was really great as it was just outside and underneath the courtyard. We would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Barcelona and we would definitely stay there again should we go bact to Spain.

Room Tip: Rooms with cathedral view are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joseph L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColonBCN, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Colon Hotel, responded to this review, 11 June 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for your recent stay at the Colón Hotel and for taking a few minutes of your time to write about your experience and share it with your fellow travelers.

We are extremely glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We'd like to thank you for taking the time to write some very helpful tips that only someone who has fully experienced Barcelona can give!

We hope see you again in Barcelona and will be a pleasure for us to welcome you again.

Best regards,

Hotel Colon Barcelona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2012

My second stay at this hotel. The staff could not have been more friendly and helpful and the room was very nice, clean and roomy. We had a 3rd floor room with balcony overlooking the Gothic Barcelona Cathedral and plaza. We absolutely love the gothic district and the Catalan people could not have been more friendly or welcoming. We were here for 3 days prior to boarding our ship for a Med cruise on Oceania. if in Barcelona this hotel is a MUST stay in our book! Las Ramblas is way too noisy, crowded and full of pickpockets.

Room Tip: Book a high up room overlooking the Cathedral. You won't regret it. Although there is always som...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheGrovesinPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColonBCN, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Colon Hotel, responded to this review, 11 June 2012
Dear guest,

Please receive our heartfelt thank you for your kind comment. We are were extremely happy to welcome you back for the second time and we are glad to learn you enjoyed it. Your comment is very helpful for us and also for other visitors.

There's no question that Barcelona is one of the most exciting and beautiful cities in Europe, and we're lucky to be located in one the most vibrant quarters in the city. If you decide to choose our top floor room, you can also enjoy the spectacular view of the Old Cathedral while sipping some cava out on the terrace.

Please don´t hesitate in contacting us in advance so we can arrange that especial room for you once again.

Best regards,

Hotel Colon Barcelona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2012

The Colon Hotel is right in the middle of the gothic area of Barcelona. It is a short walk from Las Ramblas and looks over at the Cathedral. The staff is very friendly and helpful. They have free wifi which is easy to use. We stayed in a three person room and had plenty of room. The bathroom was a kind of odd shape but very clean and easy to use. Also the hotel gives you aloe vera which came in handy after I received a sunburn on the first day. The beds were a little hard for me, but that's standard in Europe. Overall great hotel located in the heart if the gothic region.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katis1621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
U.K.
Level Contributor
82 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2012

Good hotel in a great spot set in a square opposite the cathederal. Plenty of character within the hotel and bedrooms.
Our room overlooked the street at the side of the hotel. The room had a "juiliette type balcony" ( right term?) The room was quiet and as others have said the furnishings and bathrooms are dated but everything for a short stay was there. I prefer to say the rooms were typically Spanish ouzing typical Spanish charm.
One thing of note and it should not put people off is on arrival the entrance is up a short flight of stairs. Ask at the desk if you require help with luggage up the steps. There are staff to help and at one end there is platform lift as well for access.
We would use this hotel again,
AuroraUK

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AuroraUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColonBCN, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Colon Hotel, responded to this review, 7 June 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for your kind words and for taking a few minutes to share your experience with other travelers on TripAdvisor. We must say that was one accurate description of our rooms, that we are sure people will find quite useful!.

We are glad to know you enjoyed your stay in Barcelona and that we were able to make your it even more especial.

If you are planning to visit Barcelona again, please don´t hesitate in contacting us in advance so we can make sure to honor any special request.

Kind regards,

Hotel Colón Barcelona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya
#96 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,664 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
H10 Montcada Boutique Hotel
H10 Montcada Boutique Hotel
#66 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,989 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Barcelona Catedral
Hotel Barcelona Catedral
#48 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Raval
Hotel Jazz
Hotel Jazz
#42 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,350 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Catedral
Catalonia Catedral
#32 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,294 reviews
El Raval
Hotel 1898
Hotel 1898
#23 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colon Hotel

Property: Colon Hotel
Address: Avenida de la Catedral 7, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#52 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#62 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#84 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#125 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:4 star — Colon Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Colón is a classic and traditional 4 stars hotel situated in the heart of Barcelona, right opposite the Gothic Cathedral. It was founded in 1951 and during its 90 plus years of history, it has housed big names such as Hemingway, Tennessee Williams, Jean Paul Sartre, Sofía Loren, Jane Fonda, Francis Ford Coppola, Santiago Calatrava, and Arata Isozaki. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Colon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Colon Barcelona
Barcelona Colon Hotel
Colon Hotel Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing