We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Barcelona Fiftieth”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of El Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
El Palace Hotel
Ranked #11 of 521 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Barcelona Fiftieth”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012

We chose this hotel through a Thomas Cook Flexible trip brochure and on recommendation from an experienced travel consultant at a local Thomas Cook travel agency. It was to celebrate a fiftieth birthday with a week’s stay in a luxury five star hotel. The break was to be a surprise for my partner, but the cat was let out of the bag, when Thomas Cook sent through marked envelopes in the post with their name on the outside.

Our destination was the El Palace Hotel in Barcelona flying with Easyjet with a private taxi transfer to our hotel.

We got caught up in the bag fiasco at Gatwick airport (power outage on the conveyor belt), but luckily our baggage was transferred without any delay to our destination.

We found the El Palace Hotel in Barcelona a very luxurious hotel with the following excellent points: -
1. Excellent customer service
2. Excellent accommodation
3. Excellent food
4. Excellent location
5. Friendly and helpful staff

The only downside we had a very slow draining bathroom sink after a few days which was not rectified on our first mention of it. It was rectified on the second mention.

The prices for hotel extras we found to be a little on the expensive side, but for a five star hotel I suppose this is to be expected. Overall prices for most items in Barcelona were expensive in comparison to the UK.

If a quiet stay is required, then this is not the right hotel, as it is located on one the main roads into Barcelona. We found our room to be well insulated from the traffic noise though, and we slept soundly on very comfortable beds.

The hotel staff assisted us with excellent service in re-arranging our pick up time on our return journey back to the UK, as this was booked for 5:45am in the morning for a 10:55 flight back to the UK. We did ask the staff at our local Thomas Cook agency to change this, but did not find them very helpful in accommodating this.

Overall our stay was very enjoyable and we would not hesitate in returning to this hotel again.

Room Tip: Request to see the room before taking the keys.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NigelM_007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,621 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,281
    232
    58
    32
    18
See reviews for
338
864
47
107
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
surrey uk
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2012

Fab hotel, great location. Defiantly has the wow factor as soon as you walk through the door. Service impeccable. Breakfast is served in a heated garden room and is the best buffet breakfast I have ever had. It was my first romantic weekend away with my new boyfriend and it was a dream. Highly recommend it. Shopping in Barca is great to and just outside your door. Head to the markets for the most amazing colours and vibrancy. Enjoy x

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank abbyjabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
118 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

This is an excellent hotel where everything is 'just so'. The staff are attentive without being obtrusive, the hotel is very comfortable and spacious with beautiful decor, and an air of efficient calm pervades. We ate in the Caelis Restaurant one night (reviewed separately) and only took breakfast - which was an extensive and delicious buffet. You can stay in this hotel with confidence.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheHistoryProfessor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

The hotel is perfectly located for sightseeing. This beautiful old hotel is very focused on good service and there was always a member of staff to cater for every reqirement. The breakfast was 30 euros but all visitors receive a 50 euros voucher for the restaurants so we used it on breakfast and we were not disappointed. The food and garden room setting were a highlight of our stay. The classic room was large and totally adequate. If you prefer to use the bath please note it is small.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank geoffthomas51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2012

I stayed the night of 29th of feb at el palace barcelona, this hotel is one of the ritz building this genius has created ! Now it has been revamp with full new deco and works
My room 407 was great ! The deco is very tradi but comfort and fully equiped! The extra the bathroom, former roman bath that make you feel like cesar !!! The l occitane products were great and finally one hotel which offers real quality products !!!! And hand crean toooo !!!
The bfst lounge is in a patio so you can enjoy the morning freshness surrounding by trees buffet is awesome, staff is always keen to help ! I higly rec this place !!! Weel done to the hotel !!!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Snoopy2011_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
Casa Camper Hotel Barcelona
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
#5 of 521 in Barcelona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,213 reviews
Eixample
Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Magdalenes
Catalonia Magdalenes
#9 of 521 in Barcelona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
Eixample
Olivia Balmes Hotel
Olivia Balmes Hotel
#15 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,028 reviews
El Raval
Hotel 1898
Hotel 1898
#23 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Palace Hotel

Property: El Palace Hotel
Address: Gran Via de les Corts Catalanes, 668, 08010 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#5 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#8 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#10 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#29 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€€€
Hotel Class:5 star — El Palace Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Palace Hotel has been totally refurbished and reopened late 2009. The works have preserved the classic spirit that has always characterised this property, distinguished as a symbol of Barcelona’s hotel tradition. Set in the heart of the city centre, close to Las Ramblas and in the most prestigious shopping area, it is surrounded by boulevards, theatres and main banks. It has an excellent transport connections and it is just 20 min from el Prat Airport.After the restoration, the Hotel will have 125 rooms, 42 of which will be suites and junior suites, all equipped with last-generation technology. A new room design, a soft interior re-decoration of public areas and lounges and the realignment and optimisation of the architectural infrastructure will enhance the beauty and majesty of our Hotel like in the 20’s. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Travel Republic (UK), Hotelopia, Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers, TravelUp and HotelQuickly so you can book your El Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Palace Hotel Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing