We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vibrant and interesting”

Mercat de la Boqueria
Ranked #7 of 798 things to do in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: This popular food market sells some of the freshest fruit, vegetables and seafood in Barcelona.
Reviewed 5 April 2018

With our hotel just a 5 minute walk from the market, we visited a couple of times. The best time for us was the morning to get breakfast - fresh breads, baked goods, fruit and smoothies. In the morning it was usually quieter and would have less tourists so it was ideal!
The offerings in the market are vast and the concepts they offer are fresh and interesting. The food/drink we had was very tasty and real indulgent.
As it's a market under shelter, it can be quite cool, specifically when out of the sun so a jacket/cardigan is probably recommended.

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank Bethhy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (22,181)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"tapas"
in 650 reviews
"amazing market"
in 145 reviews
"fresh juice"
in 111 reviews
"ham"
in 233 reviews
"jamon"
in 257 reviews
"busy market"
in 74 reviews
"meat and fish"
in 64 reviews
"food stalls"
in 123 reviews
"love food"
in 64 reviews
"stalls selling"
in 110 reviews
"feast for the eyes"
in 73 reviews
"walk around"
in 113 reviews
"for sale"
in 76 reviews
"las ramblas"
in 269 reviews
"paella"
in 75 reviews
"visiting barcelona"
in 68 reviews
"vendors"
in 318 reviews
Filter

1,385 - 1,389 of 22,181 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2018

This is a fabulous covered market on the edge of Las Ramblas. Bustling and crowded, this is a real market frequented by local people buying their provisions. There are lots and lots of stalls selling fresh food - all sorts of meat, fish and vegetables. There are also lots of little food stalls where you can buy hot and cold snacks. It really is a great experience and well worth a visit.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank SevenoaksSinjun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018

This market offers a lot of great food - both raw (pork, especially, and seafood, of course) as well as cooked. Smoothies, tapas, pastries (less of those), wine, and even some souvenirs, it's all there, but in a space that is too small for the number of people wanting to visit on a normal day. Our first visit was not too bad, it was not a weekend. Fortunately that was the day I chose to find Quim de la Quim (pardon my spelling) which is where Phil Rosenthal cooked and ate in his wonderful food and travel show. If you are looking for a place to sample all sorts of things Barcelona then this is a decent place to visit. Compared to the Time Out market in Lisbon I found it less visually appealing, less varied, more crowded, and overall less appealing. I think it is worth a visit if you can go on a less-busy day and limit your time there to maybe an hour or two at most.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018

This must be the craziest (in a good way) "Farmers Market" you can imagine. Unlimited amounts of great quality fresh fruits and vegetables, meats and seafood. We purchased from various vendors and they were all "spot-on" - Beware of pickpocket business here, as one of our friends had her wallet stolen.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank GoldenGateWineSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 4 April 2018

Such a great market to visit. Spanish, Mediterranean, fresh fish and meat.
Beautiful food, fresh, you can buy although prices are a little high.
It's very busy so be mindful of your belonging.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank Silvia246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mercat de la Boqueria also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Mercat de la Boqueria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing