We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location Friendly Helpful Staff.”
Review of Pension Segre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pension Segre
Ranked #488 of 520 Hotels in Barcelona
Reviewed 28 September 2014

Pension Segre is a basic but when you are in one of Europe's most interesting cities you are not here for luxury.

The rooms overlooking the street are basic with small balcony. However we found it impossible to sleep from the noise of locals and tourist revellers which lasts into the early hours. We asked for a quieter room at the back which although airless it allowed for sleep as it was a lot quieter.

Rooms are spotlessly clean as are the shared bathrooms. Front desk staff speak English and are very helpful, they pointed us in the direction of some good value bars and cafes. We really like La Plata a few minutes walk away. It serves the freshest sardines and salads, just two or three selections each day but delicious and reasonably priced. The bar is always packed with locals, which is a good sign. The house wine is excellent and reasonably priced, served from giant barrels above the bar.

Pension Segre is situated in the Gotic district, a 10 minute walk from the Plaza Catalan where the airport buses stop. It's also next to La Ramblas which we felt to be over rated. We prefered the area around the hotel such as Born which has a lot of character and Barceloneta which is close to the beach and has a character all of it's own and a community of families who have lived here for centuries, it was home to the fishing community. The huge buildings with balconies remind you of Havana.

The Segre is very close to the beach which tends to be packed during the summer season. There is a very nice bar on the beach which offers shelter from the searing sun, the salads are delicious and reasonably prices, Sangria and local beers are also served.

Pension Segre does not offer breakfast but there is a coffee machine next to reception. We loved a little cafe -La Merce in Plaza Merce next to the cathedral. We would have breakfast there. they have a special offer of toasted bacon and salad sandwich with cafe con leche for a bargain Euros 3.50. The cakes and sandwiches are delicious at this award winning cafe which is open from 7am each morning.

We were surprised at what a great value destination Barcelona is. When you reads about it you tend to associate it as being as expensive as Rome or Paris, but no, on the contrary. You can find a decent bottle of good wine for just Euros 2 and a good local beer for less than £1.

Locals are friendly and will be happy to chat with you and tell you how they are Catalonians, they are proud of their heritage. It's a great city to walk around, you do not need to take transport. Much of it is pedestrianized. There is a metro just five mins. from the hotel where you can get a connection to the airport, it's faster than the bus and easy to access. Ask at reception for directions. Purchase a transport card which allows you to use bus tram metro and train. Great value and convenient.

The only hazard was the huge amount of middle aged men in ponytails whizzing by on skateboards or those silly scooters. It seems due to the economic crisis an awful lot of middle aged men have a lot of leisure time these days and spend much of that time annoying people as they zoom past on roller skates and skateboards. The authorities need to tackle this problem as these guys are a pest.

We really enjoyed our stay in this beautiful city, and would highly recommend a visit.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back, less character but you will be guaranteed a good night's sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
7  Thank 218lenniel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pension45, Owner at Pension Segre, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2015
Google Translation

Gracias por su comentario.
Nos complace saber que su estancia fue satisfactoria en todos los sentidos. Como usted menciona, nuestros trabajadores están siempre a la disposición de nuestros clientes para ayudar a que disfruten de su estancia con nosotros y de nuestra maravillosa ciudad.
No olvide visitarnos en nuestra nueva página web y en facebook.
Gracias

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (145)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 26 of 145 reviews

Reviewed 23 September 2014

Genuinely can't rate this highly enough for low budget accommodation in central Barca, which can be really really overpriced. Exceptionally clean, polite staff (I encountered the hard working cleaning lady and awesome guy behind reception with the white tash), great location. The only thing I could fault was because I had a single room (small but with a balcony) I had to hire a big towel for €2 as it only came with a hand towel, but apart from that everything was great. I had a couple of anxieties regards the security of these places as I normally stay in hotels in Born, but the room had a strong lock, and the streets were completely safe on return (you press the buzzer and there's 24hr desk cover who let you up to the reception which is on the first floor). There was even shower gel sachets in the room and 3 plug sockets. Oh yeah one other thing - at one point I thought the shower wasn't draining but then realised I had my foot over the plug! ;) Comfy bed. Free fast and reliable wi-fi. Maybe I was lucky but it was really quiet for me. There is a great restaurant next door, which had great salads & a good lunch meal deal, 3 courses and drink for €10.5 and there are a couple of local bakeries which do a croissant & coffee deal for €2, one with a terrace (50cent extra) ideal for low budget travelling. By the way, if you're on Las Ramblas (I avoid this as it's extremely touristy) take good care of your phone / wallet, and keep your hand on them, my hand never leaves my pocket walking around town but two of my friends had their phones taken on Las Ramblas by two strange women. I shall definitely be returning to Pension Segre. Thanks for a great stay.

Room Tip: Some rooms have balconies, which may be louder but add to the experience! ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Leigh B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pension45, Owner at Pension Segre, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2015
Google Translation

Gracias por su comentario.
Nos complace que su estada haya sido de su agrado. Nuestro personal esta siempre a la disposición de los clientes para atenderlos en todo lo que necesiten. Nuestro establecimiento es económico y sobre todo muy limpio y seguro.
Si vuelve a Barcelona estaríamos encantados de tenerle otra vez con nosotros.
No olvide visitar nuestra página web y nuestro facebook.
Gracias.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2014

The best thing about this hotel is the location. It is between El Barri Gothic and the Port, and a 5 minute walk to La Rambla and Drassanes metro station. Downstairs there is a patisserie, pharmacy and supermarket. Along the street there are a range of bars, restaurants and shops.

The wifi worked and the reception staff spoke English. There is a very old lift, which was better than carrying my luggage up stairs. That is where the positives end.

My biggest issue was that the room did not have air conditioning, only a desk fan. The room was uncomfortably hot and had to sleep with the windows open, which was very noisy with people walking up the street. I had to sleep with earplugs and eye mask.

Half of the lights in my room and shared bathrooms didn't work. There were 3 bathrooms on my floor. One shower did not work, one had no light and the drain was blocked in the third. I opted to shower in the dark.

The room has a bed, desk and sink. There is no tv, fridge or tea/coffee facilities.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Melono123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2014

I spent 5 nights in the Pension which is close to the beach.
This closeness unfortunately does mean that it is very loud with people partying and shouting at night (and the window have no proper insulation so that one does hear everything).
Despite having booked for 5 nights, I had to move after the first night because they had double booked my room. This way I saw two room. Both rooms were very small and did have no air conditioning unit, which is why did not really cool down at night. Instead the rooms had a small fan which made lots of noise and only distributed the hot air but did not cool anything.
The person only offers shared facilities. Unfortunately 2 out of 4 were out of service (shower and toilet) on my floor. This resulted in queues in front of the showers in the morning. The showers themselves were not very clean and sometimes the light did not work.
Check-out time is 11 in the pension, but one morning the cleaning lady came into my room (she used a key without even knocking) at 9.30 already. A complaint to the reception did unfortunately not help. The reception people in general were very polite, but any complaint about non-working facilities etc. were answered with a general "sorry" (with nothing changing).

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pension45, Owner at Pension Segre, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2015
Google Translation

Gracias por su comentario.
Lamentamos que su estancia no haya sido de su agrado. Como usted a podido comprobar, estamos en un barrio muy céntrico y es normal que se oiga un poco de ruido.
Cuando usted reservo en el hostal, ya sabia que no disponíamos de aire acondicionado. Solo tenemos ventiladores, y todas nuestras habitaciones tienen balcones o ventanas que dan a la calle (la mayoría) o al patio interior.
Durante el tiempo que estuvo alojada en nuestro hostal, usted podía pedir un cambio de habitación con baño dentro si no le gustaba las instalaciones comunes, que se limpian mas de una vez al día.
Le pedimos disculpas por el malentendido de la señora de la limpieza, porque se equivoco de habitación, causándole unas molestias.
Gracias.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

I booked this hostal in late June for my trip to Barcelona in late July and I chose the option which offered free cancellation. At that time they charged me one night for 37 Euro which I thought a temporary block in my credit card to reserve the booking.

Due to some change in my travel plan I had to cancel the reservation. However, I checked with my bank and was told that the hostal actually charged me and the transaction took place. There has been no refund notwithstanding I made the cancellation 2 weeks prior to the intended check-in date. It's been more than a month now since I made the cancellation.

I'm in touch with Venere team and they're on the case. It's kinda frustrating that such a simple process could take the hostal too long to sort out and I don't know when it will be done.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank TLe0101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pension45, Owner at Pension Segre, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2015
Google Translation

Gracias por su comentario.
Cuando usted realizó la reserva, puede comprobar que siempre se carga la primera noche como garantía, esto lo hacen todas las agencias de reservas.
Cuando la canceló en el plazo correspondiente, nosotros inmediatamente realizamos la devolución del cargo realizado en su totalidad. Normalmente la demora es debido a las transacciones internacionales de los bancos, donde nosotros no podemos hacer nada al respecto.
Y esperamos ahora, que usted haga otro comentario para indicar que efectivamente recibió el dinero en su cuenta.
Gracias.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
Be Ramblas Hotel
Be Ramblas Hotel
#399 of 520 in Barcelona
255 reviews
Hostal Sans
#367 of 520 in Barcelona
436 reviews
El Raval
Hostal River
Hostal River
#390 of 520 in Barcelona
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ciutat de Sant Adria Hotel
#392 of 520 in Barcelona
206 reviews
Barrio Gòtico (Barri Gòtic)
Hostal Lausanne
Hostal Lausanne
#427 of 520 in Barcelona
170 reviews
Hotel Ruta de Francia
#454 of 520 in Barcelona
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Segre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Segre

Address: C/ Simon Oller, 1 Principal, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #488 of 520 Hotels in Barcelona
Price Range: €35 - €171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Pension Segre 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Stayforlong S.L., Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pension Segre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pension Segre Hotel Barcelona
Segre Hotel Barcelona
Pension Segre Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing