We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
NH Barcelona Ramblas(Barcelona)
US$196
US$181
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Expo Hotel Barcelona(Barcelona)
US$138
US$111
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Barcelo Raval(Barcelona)
US$181
US$154
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$179/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$221
US$169
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$161
US$144
Official Website
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$211
US$182
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Ako Suite Hotel(Barcelona)
US$164
US$147
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$173/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$157
US$137
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya(Barcelona)
US$164
US$123
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$138/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Arts Barcelona(Barcelona)
US$2,067
US$2,002
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Reviews (152)
Filter reviews
152 results
Traveller rating
12
41
42
28
29
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
12
41
42
28
29
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 152 reviews
Reviewed 23 September 2014

Genuinely can't rate this highly enough for low budget accommodation in central Barca, which can be really really overpriced. Exceptionally clean, polite staff (I encountered the hard working cleaning lady and awesome guy behind reception with the white tash), great location. The only thing I could fault was because I had a single room (small but with a balcony) I had to hire a big towel for €2 as it only came with a hand towel, but apart from that everything was great. I had a couple of anxieties regards the security of these places as I normally stay in hotels in Born, but the room had a strong lock, and the streets were completely safe on return (you press the buzzer and there's 24hr desk cover who let you up to the reception which is on the first floor). There was even shower gel sachets in the room and 3 plug sockets. Oh yeah one other thing - at one point I thought the shower wasn't draining but then realised I had my foot over the plug! ;) Comfy bed. Free fast and reliable wi-fi. Maybe I was lucky but it was really quiet for me. There is a great restaurant next door, which had great salads & a good lunch meal deal, 3 courses and drink for €10.5 and there are a couple of local bakeries which do a croissant & coffee deal for €2, one with a terrace (50cent extra) ideal for low budget travelling. By the way, if you're on Las Ramblas (I avoid this as it's extremely touristy) take good care of your phone / wallet, and keep your hand on them, my hand never leaves my pocket walking around town but two of my friends had their phones taken on Las Ramblas by two strange women. I shall definitely be returning to Pension Segre. Thanks for a great stay.

Room Tip: Some rooms have balconies, which may be louder but add to the experience! ;)
  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Leigh B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pension45, Owner at Pension Segre, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2015
Google Translation

Gracias por su comentario.
Nos complace que su estada haya sido de su agrado. Nuestro personal esta siempre a la disposición de los clientes para atenderlos en todo lo que necesiten. Nuestro establecimiento es económico y sobre todo muy limpio y seguro.
Si vuelve a Barcelona estaríamos encantados de tenerle otra vez con nosotros.
No olvide visitar nuestra página web y nuestro facebook.
Gracias.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2014

The best thing about this hotel is the location. It is between El Barri Gothic and the Port, and a 5 minute walk to La Rambla and Drassanes metro station. Downstairs there is a patisserie, pharmacy and supermarket. Along the street there are a range of bars, restaurants and shops.

The wifi worked and the reception staff spoke English. There is a very old lift, which was better than carrying my luggage up stairs. That is where the positives end.

My biggest issue was that the room did not have air conditioning, only a desk fan. The room was uncomfortably hot and had to sleep with the windows open, which was very noisy with people walking up the street. I had to sleep with earplugs and eye mask.

Half of the lights in my room and shared bathrooms didn't work. There were 3 bathrooms on my floor. One shower did not work, one had no light and the drain was blocked in the third. I opted to shower in the dark.

The room has a bed, desk and sink. There is no tv, fridge or tea/coffee facilities.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank M O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2014

I spent 5 nights in the Pension which is close to the beach.
This closeness unfortunately does mean that it is very loud with people partying and shouting at night (and the window have no proper insulation so that one does hear everything).
Despite having booked for 5 nights, I had to move after the first night because they had double booked my room. This way I saw two room. Both rooms were very small and did have no air conditioning unit, which is why did not really cool down at night. Instead the rooms had a small fan which made lots of noise and only distributed the hot air but did not cool anything.
The person only offers shared facilities. Unfortunately 2 out of 4 were out of service (shower and toilet) on my floor. This resulted in queues in front of the showers in the morning. The showers themselves were not very clean and sometimes the light did not work.
Check-out time is 11 in the pension, but one morning the cleaning lady came into my room (she used a key without even knocking) at 9.30 already. A complaint to the reception did unfortunately not help. The reception people in general were very polite, but any complaint about non-working facilities etc. were answered with a general "sorry" (with nothing changing).

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pension45, Owner at Pension Segre, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2015
Google Translation

Gracias por su comentario.
Lamentamos que su estancia no haya sido de su agrado. Como usted a podido comprobar, estamos en un barrio muy céntrico y es normal que se oiga un poco de ruido.
Cuando usted reservo en el hostal, ya sabia que no disponíamos de aire acondicionado. Solo tenemos ventiladores, y todas nuestras habitaciones tienen balcones o ventanas que dan a la calle (la mayoría) o al patio interior.
Durante el tiempo que estuvo alojada en nuestro hostal, usted podía pedir un cambio de habitación con baño dentro si no le gustaba las instalaciones comunes, que se limpian mas de una vez al día.
Le pedimos disculpas por el malentendido de la señora de la limpieza, porque se equivoco de habitación, causándole unas molestias.
Gracias.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

I booked this hostal in late June for my trip to Barcelona in late July and I chose the option which offered free cancellation. At that time they charged me one night for 37 Euro which I thought a temporary block in my credit card to reserve the booking.

Due to some change in my travel plan I had to cancel the reservation. However, I checked with my bank and was told that the hostal actually charged me and the transaction took place. There has been no refund notwithstanding I made the cancellation 2 weeks prior to the intended check-in date. It's been more than a month now since I made the cancellation.

I'm in touch with Venere team and they're on the case. It's kinda frustrating that such a simple process could take the hostal too long to sort out and I don't know when it will be done.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank TLe0101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pension45, Owner at Pension Segre, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2015
Google Translation

Gracias por su comentario.
Cuando usted realizó la reserva, puede comprobar que siempre se carga la primera noche como garantía, esto lo hacen todas las agencias de reservas.
Cuando la canceló en el plazo correspondiente, nosotros inmediatamente realizamos la devolución del cargo realizado en su totalidad. Normalmente la demora es debido a las transacciones internacionales de los bancos, donde nosotros no podemos hacer nada al respecto.
Y esperamos ahora, que usted haga otro comentario para indicar que efectivamente recibió el dinero en su cuenta.
Gracias.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

The biggest plus in this place are the people that work there. Very nice helpfull and correct. The little woman from housekeeping is so much fun. The rooms have a normal sice but they are very outdated, but then again you dont go on vacation to sit in your rooom all day so who cares.

Room Tip: Dont take a room on the street side in the summer. People are outside all night and the will wake you up.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stevenantwerp86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews