We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Somnio Barcelona.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Somnio Barcelona

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Somnio Barcelona
Ranked #129 of 756 Speciality Lodging in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Somnio Barcelona.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2011

Stayed here for a 4 night stay, travelling solo wanting to met people in the hostel, Positives;

Staff great and very friendly
Clean room
Central location

Negatives:

no common area or kitchen for social which is important to me
if you want to relax and keep it low key then this hostel is great for you, if you are travelling alone and want to be social i would not stay here.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank emma s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    81
    27
    10
    5
See reviews for
17
65
49
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
DC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2011

We spent two weeks on the road in Spain, staying at everything from a Parador to a sparse two cot room in small town Andalusia. Somnio was nice. Really nice.

The beds were real beds and had nice sheets and good pillows.

The place was quiet and easy to walk everywhere. We had friends in other hotels nearby spending four times as much money for not much more in terms of their accommodations.

Staff helped get tickets to La Familia Sagrada, which made our stay worth every penny and more. We couldn't believe the guidebooks left out that you can get advance tickets and avoid the lines.

I would highly recommend Somnio.

Room Tip: Get the private room. It is big and the shower rocks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DCtoBCN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
corbitt26
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2011

The other reviews are correct that the service is good and the staff generally helpful (they print a list of museums that are free on Sundays, but one staff member said he would help us find a laundrette and then left without helping). It is probably a decent hostel. But if you are travelling with someone else, do not stay here. For just a little more money, you can get a real hotel room. I stayed with my partner, and we could barely walk around the bed. We got a room with a private bath, but it was ridiculously tiny. Honestly, you could barely move. Not to mention, the room was next to the community bathroom, and we were constantly woken up by people going in and out of the bathroom. Note also, the pictures on the website are totally deceiving. To describe the rooms as small is an under statement. For an extra 10 Euro per night, we moved to a nice hotel, 4 blocks away, and the move was the best choice we made the whole trip.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank corbitt26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2011

My sister and I stayed at Somnio for 4 days in June. It was the best hostel/hotel of all the ones we stayed at for 2 weeks in Spain. The first 2 nights we stayed in a 6 bed dorm. The other women staying there were nice, quiet, respectful of different sleeping schedules, and friendly. The shared bathroom was cleaned regularly and the beds were clean and comfortable. The next 2 nights we stayed in a private room. The bed was so comfortable and the bathroom was very clean. The location is wonderful, right next to Las Ramblas and near a couple metro stations. The people that worked at the front desk were all so very nice and helpful, with directions, tips for Barcelona, and recommendations for restaurants. Both of the owners were there during our stay and were so nice and friendly and very professional. I really can't say enough good things about Somnio. Best hostel ever!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CrunchyTeacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2011

Easy to find and centrally located this is the ideal hostel for exploring Barcelona. We had a twin room which was large and had its own sink and mirror. The room was next to the road but there was only minimal noise from the traffic and the air conditioning unit kept the room cool. Although there is shared bathroom facilities, these were always clean and well maintained. The staff members were lovely and gave us some good food recommendations in the area.

Would definitely recommend this hostel to others.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank miss_katpob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Hostel Duo
Hostel Duo
#192 of 756 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
Eixample
Buba House
Buba House
#162 of 756 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Eixample
Hostal Oliva
Hostal Oliva
#63 of 324 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Stay In BCN Suites
Stay In BCN Suites
#174 of 324 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
Eixample
Hostal Girona
Hostal Girona
#45 of 324 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
Eixample
Plaza Catalunya Hostel
Plaza Catalunya Hostel
#602 of 756 in Barcelona
3.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Somnio Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Somnio Barcelona

Property: Somnio Barcelona
Address: Carrer de la Diputacio 251, Segundo (2), 08007 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #129 of 756 Speciality Lodging in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:2 star — Somnio Barcelona 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Somnio is a brand new hostel located in the center of Barcelona just steps from Las Ramblas. Somnio offers the service of a five-star hotel at hostel prices. Not only is Somnio the perfect launchpad to the best of Barcelona, it is a comfortable and stylish place to plan your trip, meet new people and recharge for the adventures that await you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Somnio Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Somnio Barcelona Hotel Barcelona
Somnio Barcelona Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing