We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Somnio Barcelona.”
Review of Somnio Barcelona

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Somnio Barcelona
Ranked #126 of 735 Speciality Lodging in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 September 2011

Stayed here for a 4 night stay, travelling solo wanting to met people in the hostel, Positives;

Staff great and very friendly
Clean room
Central location

Negatives:

no common area or kitchen for social which is important to me
if you want to relax and keep it low key then this hostel is great for you, if you are travelling alone and want to be social i would not stay here.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (224)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

78 - 82 of 224 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2011

We spent two weeks on the road in Spain, staying at everything from a Parador to a sparse two cot room in small town Andalusia. Somnio was nice. Really nice.

The beds were real beds and had nice sheets and good pillows.

The place was quiet and easy to walk everywhere. We had friends in other hotels nearby spending four times as much money for not much more in terms of their accommodations.

Staff helped get tickets to La Familia Sagrada, which made our stay worth every penny and more. We couldn't believe the guidebooks left out that you can get advance tickets and avoid the lines.

I would highly recommend Somnio.

Room Tip: Get the private room. It is big and the shower rocks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DCtoBCN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2011

The other reviews are correct that the service is good and the staff generally helpful (they print a list of museums that are free on Sundays, but one staff member said he would help us find a laundrette and then left without helping). It is probably a decent hostel. But if you are travelling with someone else, do not stay here. For just a little more money, you can get a real hotel room. I stayed with my partner, and we could barely walk around the bed. We got a room with a private bath, but it was ridiculously tiny. Honestly, you could barely move. Not to mention, the room was next to the community bathroom, and we were constantly woken up by people going in and out of the bathroom. Note also, the pictures on the website are totally deceiving. To describe the rooms as small is an under statement. For an extra 10 Euro per night, we moved to a nice hotel, 4 blocks away, and the move was the best choice we made the whole trip.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank corbitt26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2011

My sister and I stayed at Somnio for 4 days in June. It was the best hostel/hotel of all the ones we stayed at for 2 weeks in Spain. The first 2 nights we stayed in a 6 bed dorm. The other women staying there were nice, quiet, respectful of different sleeping schedules, and friendly. The shared bathroom was cleaned regularly and the beds were clean and comfortable. The next 2 nights we stayed in a private room. The bed was so comfortable and the bathroom was very clean. The location is wonderful, right next to Las Ramblas and near a couple metro stations. The people that worked at the front desk were all so very nice and helpful, with directions, tips for Barcelona, and recommendations for restaurants. Both of the owners were there during our stay and were so nice and friendly and very professional. I really can't say enough good things about Somnio. Best hostel ever!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CrunchyTeacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2011

Easy to find and centrally located this is the ideal hostel for exploring Barcelona. We had a twin room which was large and had its own sink and mirror. The room was next to the road but there was only minimal noise from the traffic and the air conditioning unit kept the room cool. Although there is shared bathroom facilities, these were always clean and well maintained. The staff members were lovely and gave us some good food recommendations in the area.

Would definitely recommend this hostel to others.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tabitha_Tabz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Don Moustache Hostel
Don Moustache Hostel
#131 of 735 in Barcelona
121 reviews
Eixample
bcn Fashion House
bcn Fashion House
#51 of 307 in Barcelona
346 reviews
Eixample
Hostal Girona
Hostal Girona
#53 of 307 in Barcelona
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Sant Jordi Hostel Alberg/Lluria
Sant Jordi Hostel Alberg/Lluria
#120 of 735 in Barcelona
140 reviews
Eixample
Alternative Creative Youth Hostel
Gracia
Bonavista Apartments - Virreina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Somnio Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Somnio Barcelona

Address: Calle Diputacion 2, 08007 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Poblenou
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #126 of 735 Speciality Lodging in Barcelona
Price Range: €40 - €101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Somnio Barcelona 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Somnio is a brand new hostel located in the center of Barcelona just steps from Las Ramblas. Somnio offers the service of a five-star hotel at hostel prices. Not only is Somnio the perfect launchpad to the best of Barcelona, it is a comfortable and stylish place to plan your trip, meet new people and recharge for the adventures that await you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and TripOnline SA so you can book your Somnio Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Somnio Barcelona Hotel Barcelona
Somnio Barcelona Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing