We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Somnio Barcelona
Nearby Hotels
US$228
NH Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$225
NH Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Expo Hotel Barcelona(Barcelona)
US$135
US$114
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hilton Diagonal Mar Barcelona(Barcelona)(Great Value!)
US$273
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$199
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
US$264
US$223
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$158
US$151
Melia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Claris(Barcelona)
US$262
US$239
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel 1898(Barcelona)
US$256
US$196
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
El Palace Hotel(Barcelona)
US$504
US$448
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (231)
Filter reviews
231 results
Traveller rating
87
91
33
13
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
87
91
33
13
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshared bathroomgreat locationthe main tourist attractionslas ramblasair conditionerclean towelscomfortable bedcleaned dailyde graciawould stay againa great staythree nightshostelshowercitymetroluggage
Filter
Updating list...
80 - 85 of 231 reviews
Reviewed 9 July 2011

We spent two weeks on the road in Spain, staying at everything from a Parador to a sparse two cot room in small town Andalusia. Somnio was nice. Really nice.

The beds were real beds and had nice sheets and good pillows.

The place was quiet and easy to walk everywhere. We had friends in other hotels nearby spending four times as much money for not much more in terms of their accommodations.

Staff helped get tickets to La Familia Sagrada, which made our stay worth every penny and more. We couldn't believe the guidebooks left out that you can get advance tickets and avoid the lines.

I would highly recommend Somnio.

Room Tip: Get the private room. It is big and the shower rocks.
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DCtoBCN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2011

The other reviews are correct that the service is good and the staff generally helpful (they print a list of museums that are free on Sundays, but one staff member said he would help us find a laundrette and then left without helping). It is probably a decent hostel. But if you are travelling with someone else, do not stay here. For just a little more money, you can get a real hotel room. I stayed with my partner, and we could barely walk around the bed. We got a room with a private bath, but it was ridiculously tiny. Honestly, you could barely move. Not to mention, the room was next to the community bathroom, and we were constantly woken up by people going in and out of the bathroom. Note also, the pictures on the website are totally deceiving. To describe the rooms as small is an under statement. For an extra 10 Euro per night, we moved to a nice hotel, 4 blocks away, and the move was the best choice we made the whole trip.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank corbitt26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2011

My sister and I stayed at Somnio for 4 days in June. It was the best hostel/hotel of all the ones we stayed at for 2 weeks in Spain. The first 2 nights we stayed in a 6 bed dorm. The other women staying there were nice, quiet, respectful of different sleeping schedules, and friendly. The shared bathroom was cleaned regularly and the beds were clean and comfortable. The next 2 nights we stayed in a private room. The bed was so comfortable and the bathroom was very clean. The location is wonderful, right next to Las Ramblas and near a couple metro stations. The people that worked at the front desk were all so very nice and helpful, with directions, tips for Barcelona, and recommendations for restaurants. Both of the owners were there during our stay and were so nice and friendly and very professional. I really can't say enough good things about Somnio. Best hostel ever!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CrunchyTeacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2011

Easy to find and centrally located this is the ideal hostel for exploring Barcelona. We had a twin room which was large and had its own sink and mirror. The room was next to the road but there was only minimal noise from the traffic and the air conditioning unit kept the room cool. Although there is shared bathroom facilities, these were always clean and well maintained. The staff members were lovely and gave us some good food recommendations in the area.

Would definitely recommend this hostel to others.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tabitha_Tabz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2011

I defenitly recomend this Hotel, very well located, 5 minutes from the Center of the City, Plaça Catalunya, very clean, and with a very good price for the place where it is located.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BMBMartins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews