We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (25)
Filter reviews
25 results
Traveller rating
5
8
5
4
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
5
8
5
4
3
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 25 reviews
Reviewed 9 May 2012

We loved the Hotel Alcazar. It is a botique hotel, located on the river walk, and it is beautifully decorated and has excellent beds and double pane glass in the windows which prevents occupants being disturbed by road noise--a very welcome thing in Spain.

There is only one restaurant close by; it's about 30 meters away, and they don't see many tourists. We had a delightful afternoon glass of wine there and returned for dinner at 8:30 when the kitchen opened. The waiters went out of their way to help us understand customs/menu items/etc. After dinner, when we ordered coffee, they brought a coffee liquor (at no charge) for us to sample, just because they thought we should. We were very pleased that the receptionist at the Hotel Alcazar recommended we try the restaurant.

We also spent some time walking on the river path, which was delightful, and we enjoyed looking right up at the Alcazar, which was beautifully lit at night.

We were definitely pleased with our stay.

Room Tip: The more expensive rooms are not on the street side, but ours was on the street side, and because of the double pane glass, we were not in the least disturbed. We were offered a room on the other side, and it was lovely--but so was ours. I don't think you can make a bad choice. As the receptionist said, "We don't have any ugly rooms," and I believe he is right.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pstreet1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2011

We stayed two nights here recently, I thought it was a nice place to stay. It is a walk to the main town, but only 10 or so minutes at most. The hotels location gives you great views of the Alcazar castle, and the river close by. The room we got was lovely, huge bed, and very nicely decorated inside.

We found the service to be fine, they printed train tickets off for us, and were nice and friendly.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MattyboyLeiden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2009

This "hotel" claims to be 4 stars. It has no restaurant, only 2 members of staff who do or don't do everything. Our bathroom was filthy when we checked in. The location is also very misleading - it is not next to the alcazar - it is BELOW it and outwith the old town itself. You have to drive to get anywhere near the old town of Segovia. There are no amenities nearby. Breakfast is also disappointing.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SaritaTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2007

After a first contact that they had a room available, I sent on request my credit card details...and could never get any confirmation from these people.
After several trials I sent them a mail that I had booked elsewhere and was not interested anymore.
To say the least, this is not very professionnal. If they had first made a mistake, and had in fact no room available, they could simply and politely let me know.
A place I will avoid in the future!

Stayed: October 2007
4  Thank Didierz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2007

Recently stayed two nights at this hotel.

The hotel has an immediate wow factor but has short comings.

The location is both good and bad. Good for being directly beneath the Alcazar (amazing at night) and by the picturesque river. Bad for being hard to access from the town centre (despite being relatively close) for attractions, restaurants and shops. We had to drive into the town to eat and to see the sights which involved negotiating the very dangerous access from the hotel onto the main road, followed by the frustrating and hairy drive around the narrow streets of Segovia looking for the elusive parking space which was no fun at all (but between 1.30pm and 4.30pm parking was free and easier to find as it was 'siesta time' but then everything was closed!)

You can walk two ways into the town, both the lesser of two evils. One route (up hill) gets you to the aqueduct end of town, the other, via a very steep and potentially lethal flight of steps about 5 minutes walk from the hotel deposits you almost at the entrance to the Alcazar. Neither is fun to do!

Over the two nights we were there, we had the hotel (8 rooms) to ourselves. Our room was a suite that had two balconies with the fabulous views of the Alcazar. The majority of the other rooms face the opposite direction, overlooking the busy road. It was furnished with a mixture of genuine and reproduction 19c. furniture (like the public areas), so looked impressive but was not 'comfortable' nor 'cosy'. The bed was huge and had a lavish headboard and the room had sumptuous fabrics. However, the bed was not particularly comfortable and the fitted sheet did not fit properly which was annoying - don't like ending up sleeping on a bare mattress! The lighting in the room was poor. There was a/c but no individual controls that we could find and it was not working but it was pleasantly cool without the need of it. The bathroom was very smart, clad in grey green polished granite with excellent towels and premium toiletries. There were complimentary slippers but no robes - they usually go hand in hand in a property advertising to be de-luxe. What spoiled the bathroom was the cheap plastic shower head that had a mind of its own and looked so out of place with everything else. There was a mini bar and TV in the room.

The staff were minimal but very welcoming and helpful (they found an Italian restaurant for us to go to in the town). Breakfast was not included in the room rate and was quite expensive but beautifully presented and of a high quality. The coffee was excellent. We did feel like we were in somes house though and never felt comfortable about helping ourselves from the small buffet despite being told do have whatever we wanted.

I think the hotel is not as good as it likes to think it is and it is expensive. The wow factor wears off once you have 'lived' there for a day or so and in the end was some what of a disappointment . However, Segovia is lovely, with lots to see and do.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Whinbrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews