We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, comfortable not so good VFM”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Bahia Santander
Ranked #3 of 32 Hotels in Santander
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 September 2016

Located opposite Brittany Ferries berth but it will take 30 mins or more to find the entrance (at the rear of the hotel) unless you successfully navigate the one way system at the first pass.

Good location for city centre and main tourist areas. Modern comfortable rooms. Good choice and quality of food at breakfast. Garage parking below hotel (reservation needed) accessed by car lift 15 Euros/night (good value). Helpful staff who got us booked into 'full' restaurants.

At 190 Euros/night for city facing room the hotel is not good VFM and was the most expensive we stayed in during our visit to northern Spain - the rest being 5 star hotels in city centre locations.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oxonboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTEL BAHIA S, Director de Recepción at Hotel Bahia Santander, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2016

Thank you very much for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,301)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

135 - 139 of 1,301 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2016

This is the best 4* hotel I have ever stayed in. I have stayed here many times and the quality never wavers. The hotel underwent a massive upgrade a few years ago and the result is more than impressive. Even though it has had a facelift it has retained its air of old respectability, and many well-heeled locals take afternoon tea there.
In short, room 10/10, breakfast 10/10, cleanliness 10/10.
Parking under the hotel (extra, but worth it)

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank TelIitAsitis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTEL BAHIA S, Director General at Hotel Bahia Santander, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2016

Thank you, thank you very much. Your comments are fabulous, we are really happy to know you enjoy the room, breakfast, cleanliness and the new decoration.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2016

Just superb, our third visit to this hotel and will keep going back. I love Santander as a city as it has all the things I like, nice people nice weather, good wine , good food and good views.
Hotel Bahia just makes it with its spotless rooms, professional staff and high standards.
We have recommended to 3 sets of friends who have also been awed by this place.
Well done to all management and staff and a big thanks.

Room Tip: All rooms are good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Greig A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTEL BAHIA S, Director de Recepción at Hotel Bahia Santander, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2016

We send you a big thanks for your opinion, it´s a pleasure for us to read your nice opinion about Santander (people, wine, food an weather) and the Hotel. Thank you very much again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2016 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for a couple of nights after having arrived by ferry from Portsmouth. This worked out very well as the hotel is right next to the ferry and has an underground car park accessed by car lift which the children loved. The family rooms are very spacious with two separate rooms for parents and children with a well appointed if ever so slightly tired marble bathroom. The reception staff were without exception very pleasant and friendly and gave us great advice in terms of the local sights and restaurants which were all close by. The breakfast buffet is superb with a lovely view over the harbour. The only amenity missing from this hotel is a swimming pool.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
Thank Christopher B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTEL BAHIA S, Director de Recepción at Hotel Bahia Santander, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2016

Thank you very much for your decription, it´s really a pleasure to read your opinion about the Hotel and the staff. We are very sorry we don´t have swimming pool in the Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2016 via mobile

It wasn't the cheapest place to stay but it's a lovely hotel right opposite the ferry terminal. Car parking is right in front underground and not expensive. Very happy with the location and quality and the walk along the front from there makes for a lovely evening. Last stop at the hotel for coffee and brandy and while not cheap, the measures are generous. Would definitely go back again. The 24 hours in Santander before going back to Uk was a nice ending to our Spanish hols.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank RufusStone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTEL BAHIA S, Director de Recepción at Hotel Bahia Santander, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2016

Thank you very much for your opinion. We enjoy if we know your are happy with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santander hotels
2.3 km away
Gran Hotel Sardinero
Gran Hotel Sardinero
#4 of 32 in Santander
705 reviews
2.2 km away
Le Petit Boutique Hotel
Le Petit Boutique Hotel
#1 of 32 in Santander
446 reviews
0.3 km away
Silken Coliseum Hotel
Silken Coliseum Hotel
#9 of 32 in Santander
674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Nh Ciudad De Santander
Nh Ciudad De Santander
#5 of 32 in Santander
276 reviews
2.8 km away
Hotel Chiqui
Hotel Chiqui
#6 of 32 in Santander
961 reviews
2.2 km away
Santemar Hotel
Santemar Hotel
#15 of 32 in Santander
1,031 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bahia Santander? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bahia Santander

Address: Calle Cadiz 22, 39002 Santander, Spain
Region: Spain > Cantabria > Santander
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 32 Hotels in Santander
Price Range: €68 - €160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Bahia Santander 4*
Number of rooms: 188
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Bahia Santander reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing