We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Evening meal”
Review of The Island Spirit

The Island Spirit
Ranked #19 of 5,996 Restaurants in Tenerife
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Fast food
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed 15 July 2018 via mobile

Well worth the visit, friendly atmosphere. Food was excellent and priced very reasonably. Calzone, Pizza, Spaghetti Carbonara & Scampi was our order. Generous portion and very tasty. €40 including soft drinks.

Thank duckie71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicola A, Owner at The Island Spirit, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2018

Thank you so much for your great review, it definitely lifted my spirits. So glad that you enjoyed your experience with us and hope to see you again in the future.
Kind regards
Nicola

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (160)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 37 of 160 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2018 via mobile

Had 2 fillet steaks and a bottle of wine for €32, what an absolute bargain.

I ordered my steak bleu and it was cooked to perfection, so tender you didn’t need a steak knife.

Ian and Nicola the perfect hosts, great atmosphere and tips on local places to visit.

Do not miss out on this restaurant!!!

1  Thank Gill L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicola A, Owner at The Island Spirit, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2018

Thanks very much for this review. I must admit that I prefer to cook a rare steak than a well done one, so very pleased that you enjoyed your meal. Hopefully you will visit us again. Kind regards Nicola and Ian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2018

It’s real pleasure to be able to review The Island Spirit at Sunset View Club, San Blas, Tenerife. We have been visiting this resort annually for the past 14 years and have seen many prospective restaurateurs try and fail to make a success of this hidden gem. Tasca Macos provided excellent (if somewhat ‘exotic’) food and regular entertainment but, in our opinion, priced themselves out of the market and, over a number of years, the clientele dwindled.
We then had a succession of ‘1 year stands’ including 1 year when the restaurant was boarded up and replaced by a Coke machine!
5 years ago Nicola and Ian took over and have never looked back. They celebrated their 5th anniversary while we were there in June with a rolling programme of afternoon and evening entertainment with, of course, food and drink available.
The menu is varied and keenly priced from English breakfast, toasted sandwiches, pasta or kid’s menu to their à la carte menu. Each week there are a number of ‘themed’ menus which it is wise (but not essential) to book in advance: Sunday Lunch (available all day), (fillet) Steak Night, Curry Night, Meat Platter and traditional Fish and Chips (cod, sourced specially). Alongside these the normal menu is still available. On one night each week there is a pop quiz (questions to suit the age group), a brief ‘game show’ and then live entertainment. On such evenings there is a set menu with choices for starters, main course and desserts.
A true master stroke this year has been the installation of 2 pizza ovens together with an Italian Chef, Alfredo. He makes his own dough (which needs 64 hours to ‘prove’) and he may be seen in the restaurant spinning individual pizza bases. We cannot praise highly enough the quality of these. They are even better than those served by Lorenzo at Pizzeria Golf Park (our previous long-term favourite), a couple of miles away.
Nicola is usually slaving away in the kitchen but does make time to chat to clients.
Ian, far from being an ‘idiot’ (as suggested, possibly libellously, in one of these posts by a G.O.M.) is bonhomie itself. He delivers drinks and takeaways around the pool and pizzas (and any other item from the menu) to the surrounding areas. Nothing is too much trouble. Other staff members who reinforce this most client-friendly ethos include Sally, Pauline and Liam.
Whether you are staying at Sunset View or elsewhere do make an effort to find this ‘little gem’.
(At one point I felt it was unfair that really petulant reviews don’t get ‘knocked off the bottom’ by the sheer weight of positive comments but, on reflection I think that maybe he will realise that he alone is ‘driving in the wrong direction down the motorway’!)

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
4  Thank anthonylee2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicola A, Owner at The Island Spirit, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2018

Wow. Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a detailed review of our restaurant. It did come as somewhat of a breath of fresh air as just when we might feel that we are not performing at out best we are truely lifted. So we do hope that you will continue to enjoy our company for years to come. Thanks once again kind regards Nicola and Ian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2018

We have just returned home from two weeks in teneriffe and visited the Island Spirit on several occassions. Once again Ian and Nicola were the perfect hosts and the food is very very good. I think the Island Spirit is my favourite place when visiting Teneriffe. We were there when Ian and Nicola had there five year party and it was really great. Thanks once again for making our holiday one to remember and we will be back to see you again in September. Also a mention for the staff Sally, Pauline and Julie who are all very welcoming.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank piratehuddersfie2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicola A, Owner at The Island Spirit, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2018

Thank you so much for this review. Its really nice to know that you enjoy coming to see us. September is not that far away so we will see you then. I will be sure to let the girls know that they are appreciated. Kind regards Nicola and Ian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2018 via mobile

Staredcwith a tasty plate of pate followed by a spicy meatball and rice dish. Together with a jug or 2 of sangria, some fun entertainment, a quiz, play your cards then live music. A great way to end another holiday so thanks Ian and Nicola but in particularly Julie for great sangria x

Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicola A, Owner at The Island Spirit, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2018

Ah thank you so much. I will tell Julie that you loved the Sangria. Hope its not too long before you visit again. Kind regards Nicola and Ian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Island Spirit also viewed

Granadilla de Abona, Tenerife
Los Cristianos, Arona
 
San Cristobal de La Laguna, Tenerife
Golf del Sur, San Miguel de Abona
 
Golf del Sur, San Miguel de Abona
Los Abrigos, Tenerife
 

Been to The Island Spirit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing