We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great find...authentic Tapas”
Review of El Chamo

El Chamo
Ranked #205 of 6,144 Restaurants in Tenerife
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Spanish
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 6 November 2017 via mobile

5 of us dined when heading back from Mount Teide.
The place was packed with Diners & the atmosphere was lively.

We shared platters of Cheeses, hams, Olives, Croquettes, Tomatoes & some fabulous fresh warm bread.
The helpings were large and we quickly regretted ordering mains!

The Garlic Chicken & Steaks were both large and plentiful.

A few pints of Stella (iced glasses)...a great touch on a warm day.

Fantastic value.

Date of visit: November 2017
Thank Yoshipup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (260)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 18 of 260 reviews

Reviewed 26 October 2017

Probably the best restaurant in Tenerife. The service is friendly, yet highly professional. The meal I had was excellent.

Date of visit: October 2017
Thank Howard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2017

Avoid this place! The food here is abolutely terrible! We ordered some starters, soup, salad and french fries. The starters were ok, but soup was completely without a taste - we didn't eat it. The salad was just a few slices of tomato and a few slices of avocado with some sprouts on top. And that's it. But french fries were the worst. Old potatos deep fried in old oil - the smell was so repelling I immediately asked them to take it away. We didn't even touch it. After this we asked for the check, and they still added those fries to the check! They removed it only after I protested. The service was ok overall, but the food was one of the worst experiences I had in restaurants. I honestly have no idea why this place has 4.5/5 stars.

Date of visit: May 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mateusz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2017 via mobile

We were coming down from Teide looking for a place to have lunch. Stumbled upon "El Chamo" by chance and were most pleasantly surprised. Most friendly staff and service and amazing food using local produce. The wine from local vineyard is excellent. Must tries include canary potatoes and wild mushrooms with garlic.

Date of visit: March 2017
Thank 322sigridt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2017

If you are up in La Escalona, you must try this restaurant.
Fantastic outdoor seating with fabulous view, large interior with very friendly staff, and food is absolutely top notch!

Loved their trumpet mushrooms, razor fish, grilled meats, homemade cheese, and house wine as they are excellent. Their croquettes are one of the best on the island. Real nice array of dessert and exceptional staff made this one of our favorite finds this year.

I also love that they are open 7 days a week!

Date of visit: February 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank NomNomGnome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Chamo also viewed

 
Granadilla de Abona, Tenerife
 
Vilaflor, Tenerife
 

Been to El Chamo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing