We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Guided tour to El Julan cultural park & visitors centre”

Centro de Interpretacion del Parque Cultural de El Julan
Ranked #8 of 37 things to do in El Hierro
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Reviewed 6 July 2016

A guided tour started 8 o'clock from the visitors centre parking lot and took us down the slope to the historic village of the indigenous people of El Hierro.

It was a truly interesting tour through the ancient pastures where unique rock carvings, altars, caves and shell-heaps are being preserved.

Our tour guide made this hike a memorable experience.

When we returned to the visitors centre we could taste the local wine, cheese, dried figs and lemon-cheese cake. Everything was absolutely delicious.

After snacks and refreshments we watched a short movie about El Julan and had a tour in the visitors centre where a lot of fascinating information about this special place and about the people that once lived there can be found.

I sincerely recommend to visit El Julan when you are in El Hierro.

NB! Tour in English is available when you book in advance. At any case check the opening times before going.

Thank Kaupo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (67)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"guided tour"
in 2 reviews
"local wine"
in 3 reviews
"cake"
in 3 reviews
"book in advance"
in 2 reviews
"short movie"
in 2 reviews
"rock carvings"
in 2 reviews
"julan"
in 3 reviews
"signs"
in 2 reviews
"cheese"
in 4 reviews
"caves"
in 2 reviews
"el"
in 5 reviews
"centre"
in 4 reviews
"life"
in 2 reviews
Filter

3 - 7 of 67 reviews

Reviewed 18 March 2016

I read about this place and was interested in visiting the archaeological site and to learn more about the Bimbaches, I had a problem getting there as I did not drive and it was not on any of the bus routes. I telephoned the centre and spoke to Marita, she arranged for Ruben, one of the guides to give me a lift and we arranged a convenient pick up point for the next day. I was supposed to go on the tour with another family, walking down to the site and coming back up by 4 x 4 Jeep but the other participants cancelled as the weather was really bad on the day (it was raining quite heavily and wind was particularly strong). Ruben decided to do the whole tour by Jeep due to the adverse weather, it was really interesting to see the numerous petroglyphs, remains of the Tagoror (old meeting place) and to listen to the history of the Bimbaches, not to mention the spectacular scenery and rainbows. After the tour, wine was served with a Canarian snack, consisting of cheese, figs and cake. When I was ready to leave, Ruben very kindly arranged for his colleague to give me a lift back to El Pinar. It was such excellent service, thank you very, very much for making the day so memorable and I wish you all the very best in making this new attraction a success.

Thank Jly48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meridiano C, Guide at Centro de Interpretacion del Parque Cultural de El Julan, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2016

Thank you very much for your request.
If it is in our hand and possibilities, we try to help people who are interesting in our tours. Specially in el Julan.
The worst was the wind,... but we could make and enjoy it.
Regards from el Hierro island.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2016

After a very winding mountain drive arrived at this purpose built museum with displays providing insight into the origins and lifestyle of the Bimbaches. Were fortunate enough to descend in a 4x4 with excellent guide to see the Bimbache drawings in lava. Extremely interesting visit - and were given tasters of local wine, dried figs and cheese. Highly recommended visit.

1  Thank Jerseylolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2016

There is a lot of material here - but mostly in Spanish. That said, versions in English
and German ARE available and an audio-visual presentation is available in several
languages (but one at a time as selected by the staff) taking about ten minutes each.

The non-Spanish versions are on laminated cards attached to fixed points but in
many cases the cards are collated at a distance from the individual panels. It would
be helpful if visitors could have a set of the interpretation cards (for say 20€ deposit)
for the duration of their visit - allowing direct association of the image with relevant
text as occurs with the Spanish.

That aside, the material is insightful as to how little is known (or can be known) of
the early inhabitants. It is not even known when they arrived from North Africa or
how they used the sites still evident today. These sites are well-preserved as the
area of El Julan has been almost totally free of development through the ages,
although some plundering has occurred. Twenty years ago one needed special
permission to visit the whole area but now there are guided tours most mornings
at 09.00 (early start to get there!) separate from the visit to the centre (which is
open from 10.00-18.00 each day).

Prospective visitors should be aware that there is no public transport anywhere
near the centre and that the access road is single track - meaning that meeting
oncoming traffic can involve reversing quite near a cliff edge! There is a small
bar/cafe with limited refreshments but splendid views of the Las Calmas coast
including the Cala de Tacaron peninsula as well as of El Julan itself. There is
a play area provided for young children - sadly a rare feature at other venues.

The audio-visual presentation is an excellent introduction and visitors should
certainly ask to engage with it - preferably before visiting the majority of the
centre as the AV provides context for the other material. However the sound
quality left something to be desired and visitor understanding would certainly
be enhanced with some soft furnishings in the AV room to reduce subtle echoes.
With that undertaken and easier access to the translation card material this
centre would have its visitor value significantly enhanced.

Thank AlanR555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meridiano C, guía at Centro de Interpretacion del Parque Cultural de El Julan, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2016

Hello Mr. Alan R555
Thank you very much for your opinion.
We are working on some changes in the center. One of them, it is to translate the interpretation plastic cards into English, German and French, at the same time, to make a dossier. We hope people will be able to make use of them during the visit without any deposit.
We are very proud that you liked the visit and the little corner for kids.
We hope next time it will be better.
Thank you very much for your visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 9 October 2015

Really beautiful island. So varied. Views are stunning. Very quiet but well worth a visit. We had two nights at Parador Hotel which is fairly isolated and a car is essential for seeing the island. North is more populated but South is equally worth seeing.

Thank Louise R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meridiano C, Guía at Centro de Interpretacion del Parque Cultural de El Julan, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2016

Hello Mrs. Louise R.
We are glad that you have enjoyed the island.
Next time bring more time for some trekking, relax and snorkelling in one of our many natural pools and just taking part in our tour to the archeological site.
We hope to see you again.
Thank you very much for your visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Centro de Interpretacion del Parque Cultural de El Julan also viewed

 
El Hierro, Canary Islands
 

Been to Centro de Interpretacion del Parque Cultural de El Julan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing