We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (681)
Filter reviews
681 results
Traveller rating
456
167
47
6
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
456
167
47
6
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews half board thomson platinum separate shower gala dinner pool area duplex suite soul singer plenty of sunbeds bottle of cava lovely hotel reception staff terrace bar garden view cala'n bosch minute walk to the harbour lifeguard on duty emailed the hotel
Filter
Updating list...
55 - 60 of 681 reviews
Reviewed 3 June 2018 via mobile

We have just returned from the Macarella today and it has been outstanding. I cannot praise the staff enough for their friendliness, helpfulness and the overall cleanliness of the resort. The food is varied and of an extremely high quality. I especially want to thank the kind female lifeguard for helping our daughter when she hurt her chin,Martina at the bar who is wonderful and Lucia in the restaurant for making our son and daughter feel welcome and special, and all of the staff who work as a team to make the Macarella run like a well-oiled machine. We don't like to return to the same hotel but we might make an exception! Just fabulous!

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
5  Thank nicolacapstick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
José R, Director General at Grupotel Macarella Suites & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2018

Dear Capstick family,

Thank you for your visit and thank you for your lovely review!
We are very glad to hear you have enjoyed your stay with us!
Hopefully you will make an exception and we will see you again soon in Menorca,

Kind regards from all the staff of Macarella Suites and Spa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2018

Another excellant holiday at Macarella Suites Hotel. Service at hotel from reception , restaurant, pool bar, cleaning staff in fact everyone was first class. Our room was spacious with good clean bathroom and spacious bedroom. Short walk to marina and beach and lovely coast walk to the lighthouse.

Room Tip: High room, pool view
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank Des_210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
José R, Director General at Grupotel Macarella Suites & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2018

Dear guests,

Thank you very much for your visit, and thanks as well for taking your time to write that great review on tripadvisor.
We appreciate your kind comments and would be happy to welcome you again in Menorca.

Kind regards from all the staff of Macarella Suites and Spa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2018 via mobile

We stayed in mid May. Our first time in Menorca, which is thoroughly laid back and with beautiful bays to visit. Cala n'Bosch has a pleasant marina with bars and restaurants but it is nothing like the livelier resorts in Mallorca and Ibiza.
The Macarella Suites are impressive. A substantial living area, with well equipped kitchen, a balcony and a bathroom with walk-in shower and bath. Two TVs with main UK channels.
The food in the restaurant is good on the whole. One or two items we found disappointing, but overall up to 4 star standard. Bar prices are expensive.
A couple of comments re early season arrival. Tui UK certainly weren't ready for us. And it was clear the hotel hadn't quite got up to speed for the season. Rooms not quite right, limited choices in the restaurant for example. This had improved by the end of our stay. Staff were very friendly and helpful.
Overall an enjoyable stay.
Tips: Visit the old towns of Ciutadella and Mahon. And take the 4 hour boat trip around the south coast via Cala Galdana from the marina in Cala'n Bosch.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
9  Thank L J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
José R, Director General at Grupotel Macarella Suites & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2018

Dear guests,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, your feedback helps us to improve our services and facilities.
We will forward your kind words to our staff and would be happy to see you again!

Kind regards from all the staff of Macarella Suites and Spa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2018

This is the 3rd time we have stayed here,It is the best place we have stayed in menorca
Rooms lovely,Food fabulous,staff are good.Monika is so lovely & helpful as all the people who work there
I REALLY RECOMMEND IT

Room Tip: We loved room 302.202 or a Any at that end,never here a sound
Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
5  Thank PRUDENCELEEDS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
José R, Director General at Grupotel Macarella Suites & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2018

Dear Prudenceleeds,

Thank you so much for visiting us agan and for your lovely review!
We are very glad you have enjoyed your stay with us and hope to seeing you again!

Kind regards from all the staff of Macarella Suites and Spa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2018

Date of travel: 14-21 May 2018 Room 119.
This was our first visit to this hotel, although we have stayed at three other hotels within the Grupotel chain. If you like spacious, elegant accommodation that allows you the option of preparing your own lunch, then this is the place for you.

Suites are very well appointed and are of a similar size to a retirement apartment, consisting of kitchen/living room, bathroom and bedroom. There are two wardrobes, one in the bedroom and the other just inside the entrance.
The kitchen area contains a full size fridge, microwave, two-ring hob, stainless steel sink, kettle, an array of cutlery and crockery, as well as wall and floor cupboards and worktop. There is also a dining room table and four chairs and the maid provides a clean tea towel each day. The lounge area has a large TV, sofa and coffee table.

Our room was quietly located opposite a field where it was pleasant to watch the hares and various species of birds, early morning and late afternoons.Do note that this is the best side of the hotel to be situated as rooms facing the pool are subject to road traffic noise.

Food in the hotel restaurant is generally of a high standard, with a few choice delicacies rarely thrown in by other hotel chains nowadays. My only gripes about the food would be the hot breakfasts were very samey and for evening meal there was only one evening when oily fish was on offer. It was the most revolting my husband and I had ever tasted. A choice of tuna and sardines would have made evening meals perfect.

Entertainment in the hotel is very low key and doesn't take place every evening. The bar is very quiet and somewhat bland, so unless you are going to wander down to the bars around the marina, there is little to do. There is also no space in the entertainment area for dancing, which may prove a problem to some.

There are lovely coastal walks you can take in either direction, but beware the Cami Vells coastal path can be very rugged in places and with tree roots to contend with as well, ideally you need good footwear and hiking sticks.

We had a hire car for our entire stay, which we collected at the airport. One of my recommendations would be to visit Cuitadella, the old capital. Located about 12 kilometres from the hotel, the old buildings and the harbour front are quite spectacular.

Fornells and the Es Grau Nature Reserve are particularly worth seeing. Driving isn't too difficult around the island as there aren't that many roads on the island. Road widening is taking place on many stretches, but it didn't cause us any hold-ups or delays.

To sum up, I would recommend this hotel and the island. There are some stunning white sand beaches to explore, Arenal den Castell is probably the biggest. If we return to Menorca we would definitely stay at Grupotel Macarella Suites again.

If you have found my review helpful, please could you leave me a helpful vote.

Room Tip: Garden view is better than pool view to avoid traffic noise
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
18  Thank Victrory_EM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
José R, Director General at Grupotel Macarella Suites & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2018

Dear Victrory,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review!
We appreciate your comments and would be happy to welcome you again in Menorca.

Kind regards from all the staff of Macarella Suites and Spa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews