We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (437)
Filter reviews
437 results
Traveller rating
249
143
33
8
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
249
143
33
8
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews terrace overlooking hotel terrace small pool ceiling fan including breakfast boiled eggs mins walk from the old town clear blue water the breakfast area passeig maritim scenic route large supermarket perfect location bus stop nice room stayed here for nights bread rolls
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 437 reviews
Reviewed 2 May 2018 via mobile

The sea never stops talking to you from below the terrace at Cala Mar. this is a secret hang out for the person who wishes quiet comfort while enjoying beautiful water. The hosts are warm and caring. The rooms sparkle and the breakfast is typical of Spain.
No better place to stay on the planet and a 10 minutes walk to Ciutadella.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled solo
Thank barbara a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2018 via mobile

Super Deal. Excellent hosts.

In Florida pink the Hotel is spreading a happy mood already. It proves to me another time that the attitude of the hosts is coloring the experience. It is located just across the hotel port ciudadella that costed around 80€ at that time. Beginning of April -low season- i got a single room for 31€ (queen size bed)including breakfast. I did not miss the view, being on tour all day. A great deal. Breakfast is really offering good quality and variety. Delicious croissants. Can be heated. See pictures attached. The staff is fantastic. Circulating with three persons ( the hosts themselves!) around the buffet to keep it clean and filled and the tables fresh for the following guests.A nice view out of the sliding open windows. Sunshine in. In summer it should be great to sit outside with the view to the cliffs and the small beach below, that you access walking down a path. Super friendly and warm welcoming staff from the first to the last moments. Doing their utmost to assist at any subject! that is what i experienced. The room is clean and white and pastel colors. Full of light. The bed comfortable and dry. A real comfort plus +++ because humidity (rain) was a problem in local homes where i resided the days before. The common plastic bed protection was covered by another bed sheet so the uncomfortable feeling of cold and the noise of the plastic was NOT there. A real comfortable neck pillow assortment helped sleeping well. The extra fleece blanket was clean , nice thick quality and warm enough. Only used it one night. The heating was sufficient. Entering the hotel it was already cosy warm in the corridors. The room was cleaned and towels changed every day. The water hot. The wall attached hairdryer has low power. The shower is coming from a typical wall faucet , no handheld device. All tidy. The soap and shampoo come in small packs. Parking is in front of the hotel along the road.
Walking to the old center is a stretch, at this season better take a car. Parking at the placa is available for sure and costs cents. After 8pm no charge. Restaurant open usually at 8 pm. Access to the old port over the stairs on the left with a great view (foto!)around sunset. Due to low season at eyvenings not much people in most restaurant. I liked the fishmarket a lot and all the beautiful architectural details.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled solo
Thank Petra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2018 via mobile

I went with my friends and our children and we loved it lots of restaurants and shopping to be done also had entertainers passing giving a show. Everyone is friendly and not many cars about, however the bike lane was a bit annoying at times even though they have there own lane not everyone stays in it. The weather was lovely but the beach did get overcrowded and it hurt your feet on the sand due to lots of stones.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank Stacey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2017 via mobile

I was there just one night to save money before going to a fancier place and it's a good deal. 60€ via Expedia for a double bed end of September. Breakfast is pretty poor though, it would be great to up it a little bit with proper jam for example. Last but not least, you guys calculate VAT in a sneaky way. Not a big deal but only place ever I say you add VAT on top of city tax lol.. See receipt attached.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank GuyBest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Director-Propietario, Propietario at Cala Bona & Mar Blava Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2017

Hey!
That is right (and is not sneaky). The law is clear: it says that (for a 2 star Hotel) the tourist tax is 1 euro per person/night + 10% VAT.
Although we do not like this regulation, as you know, we are obliged to comply with it and collect the tourist tax.
Most hotels include VAT in the tourist rate, that is, 1.1 euros total.
The only thing we do is tell you clearly what you are paying to the government (1 euro of tourist tax + 10% VAT)
If you look at the fancier hotel bill, you will probably see that the total is added as a tourist tax. That is why you did not know that you were paying VAT on top of the city tax. For that reason we like to break it down, people know at all times what they are paying which is exactly the opposite of being sneaky.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2017

Hi - first time to Menorca, an early autumn visit, and it was excellent. Good weather, Ciutadella was a really pleasant city, and all helped by being in a great little hotel, Cala Bona & Mar Blava Hotels. The double room was very clean, as was the whole hotel, breakfast very good, the staff very courteous, friendly and helpful, and the access to and use of the sea water inlet perfect. About a 15 minute walk to the City Centre, with the very pleasant scenic route taking you via a walk by the sea to the harbour area. Recommend the hotels, the city and Menorca!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Neil407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews