We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (756)
Filter reviews
756 results
Traveller rating
418
217
73
19
29
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
418
217
73
19
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviews supreme room bistro bar star hotel steep hill heated indoor pool salt water tennis courts porto pi steam room lovely hotel the bus taxi rank our room was not ready great facilities sea view pool side palma bay
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 756 reviews
Reviewed 18 September 2018

I will start with the positives and compliment the hotel on its cleanliness, fabulous pools and amazing breakfasts. The fact it was out of town and up a steep hill did not bother us at all as we had researched the location before we arrived. We booked this break through Luxury Escapes as we were looking for a last minute get away to unwind and we booked their VIP package which was certainly not VIP and myself and my husband were definately treated differently because of the type of booking we had made. Our package included a welcome drink when we arrived - we arrived at 1.30am completely shattered after a lengthy delay at Bristol and there was no offer of a welcome drink. There was no warmth whatsoever from the gentleman behind reception and when I was asked for my credit card to take a 60 euro per night deposit I explained that I do not have a credit card and he was adamant I had to provide one. Feeling very embarrassed my husband had to provide his business credit card to get the process done. After a long check in as we were walking away the gentleman shouted "would you like something to drink" and provided us with a champagne glass less than a third full with Cava. First impressions were underwhelming to say the least. The second part of our package was a selection of tapas during our stay - nothing was ever offered and we were too embarrassed to ask. Simillary we should have received a 10% discount on our food at the hotel - this was never taken off and we paid full price for everything. The final straw came when we asked the morning we were leaving if we could have a later checkout as we had a late flight. Of course came the reply what is your room number. When we gave it without even looking at the computer we were told sorry we are full. We accepted this and duly checked out at 12pm. We went for a walk and then decided to use the indoor pool as we had not used this during our eight night stay and it was a rainy day. I asked if we could change downstairs and was told you have checked out so have to pay 20 euros each if you want to use the pool. I questioned this and was told yes 20 euros each. I was speechless and then the final insult was the party of girls checking out at 5pm and thanking staff for their late checkout! The girls on reception are very dismissive of you and hardly ever look up to acknowledge you as you walk past. They should take lessons from the wonderful young man who works during the day on reception he was delightful. Be very wary of deals as this hotel will definately treat you differently!

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Joanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natascha E, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at GPRO Valparaiso Palace & SPA, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2018

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for taking the time to review GPRO Valparaíso Hotel & SPA .
We constantly work on improving our guests’ satisfaction; therefore, your feedback, positive or negative, helps us to see our product through the eyes of our guests and is highly valuable to us.

First of all we would like to say thank you for your kind comment and special mentions about our cleanliness, pool area, breakfast and friendly receptionist who worked in the morning (which is highly appreciated and will be shared with him).

It's very disappointing to hear the service you received on your arrival day didn't meet your expectations.
Providing our guests with a comfortable environment and exceptional service at all times is something we take seriously and we will make sure that this will not happen again.

As is standard in most hotels, we require upon check in a credit card pre-authorization or cash security deposit of 60€ per day for possible incidental charges. This will be returned to the guest on the day of departure.

The Deposit Policy information is stated on our hotel website.

We would like to apologize that we forgot to apply the 10% discount on food. Please contact me on guestservice@gprovalparaiso.com and I will make sure to refund subsequently the 10%.

Unfortunately on your departure day our hotel was going to be fully booked and your room was already assigned for other guests. That’s why we couldn’t provide you with a late check-out.

For late departures we offer to our guests to store their luggage and the possibility to freshen up, take a shower or get changed in the SPA, free of charge.

Please know your feedback will be addressed with the appropriate members of our team so we may improve for the future.

We hope you'll give us another opportunity to provide you with the quality experience we're known for.

We fully understand your feedback and we hope that you can accept our sincere apology for all the inconvenience caused.

Please, contact me in advance for anything that you might need prior your next arrival, I will be more than happy to manage your booking personally.

Best regards,

Your Valparaiso Team and N.Eschke (GEX Manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2018

This is a lovely hotel for a girls' weekend break. We had booked three nights in a triple room to celebrate our 50th birthdays but were fortunate on arrival to be upgraded to a junior suite! The hotel is spotlessly clean, very nicely decorated and well maintained. Our bathroom in particular was really beautiful. We had two balconies where we could sit outside, with pool and sea views. There are two salt water outdoor pools, with lovely sun loungers and canopy beds. Complimentary zumba, yoga, and aquafit classes were offered, and there are a number of tennis and paddle tennis courts in the gardens. The spa looked lovely but entrance was not included in our package. The location of the hotel is a little outside the centre but taxis came quickly when ordered at reception, and journey time approx 10 minutes to the centre of Palma, 20 minutes from the airport. Porto Pi shopping mall is 10 minutes walk away. Breakfast was fabulous and the hotel offered good deals if we availed every day of our stay, which we did happily. Staff were very friendly and courteous. All in all a lovely luxurious place to spend a few days with friends and I would highly recommend it .

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deirdre C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natascha E, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at GPRO Valparaiso Palace & SPA, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2018

Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your kind words. We are very delighted to read that you had a pleasant stay at our hotel and we are looking forward to welcome you back very soon.

Please do not hesitate to let us know if we can do anything to make your next stay even more enjoyable.

Best regards,

Your Valparaiso Team and N.Eschke (GEX Manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2018

A week ago my husband and I visited this hotel. We got this hotel as a surprise gift by our friends and family. The first thing we had to do according to the hotel staff was to pay for the entire hotel again, even though the trip was already paid for by our friends. This communicated the staff to us in a very strange and unprofessional way, i.e before they informed us about the situation they had us leave a deposit. THEN they told us they needed the actual card used when booking. This forced us to call our friends trying to find out whose card was used for the booking so the hotel could do a refund to that card. After the refund was made our friends had to transfer the money to our account so we could do the payment from one of our credit cards. Knowing what our friends had paid for our surprise gift kind of ruined the surprise. I do not recommend anyone to visit this hotel. I have traveled all over the world to multi-star hotels and have never experienced such unprofessional treatment. The hotel facilities are nice but the reception staff could handle the situation much better. Overall, we are very dissatisfied with our stay.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Miriam V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natascha E, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at GPRO Valparaiso Palace & SPA, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2018

Dear Guest,

thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback with us.

It is very disappointing to hear that the service you received on your arrival day didn't meet your expectations and we apologize for any inconvenience caused.

Providing our guests with a comfortable environment and exceptional service at all times is something we take seriously.

In the booking confirmation it clearly states that for security reasons the guest will be required to present his own valid credit/debit card upon check-in along with a valid form of identification, especially if you have already prepaid by a credit card your reservation before your arrival.

If the payment is done with a credit card belonging to another person who won’t be present at the hotel, we will need a written authorization send by the credit card holder with a copy of his credit card and a copy of his ID.

If the original booking credit card is not provided, automatically we’ll refund the deposit and we’ll ask for a new credit/debit card for payment.

It was not our intention to ruin the present of your friends and your holidays through the data privacy policy and we hope for your understanding.

Best regards,

Your Valparaiso Team and N.Eschke (GEX Manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2018 via mobile

My partner and I stayed at this hotel for a get away from it all long weekend. The hotel is up a steep hill but is walkable from the harbour (look for the hidden stair ways up the hill!). Our room was incredible, the most amazing view over Palma and a large balcony. The beds were comfortable and the bathroom large and clean. The pool areas are lovely. The food and drink is very expensive but there is a small shop at the bottom of the road that sells water and crisps. Be aware though, the opening times on the door are not necessarily when the shop will be open! There is a large spa here which we didn’t use but the facilities looked beautiful. Breakfast was wonderful, everything you could want. An amazing chef cooking your eggs however you wanted them, what a multi tasker that lady was!! The food was super fresh and the dining area very relaxed. I would recommend this hotel for a long weekend away as a real treat x

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank lucyg444726
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natascha E, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at GPRO Valparaiso Palace & SPA, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2018

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for leaving your feedback after staying at our GPRO Valparaiso Palace & SPA. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and had a wonderful time in Palma. Your helpful comments are much appreciated, and will help us to continually improve the standard of facilities and services offered to all our guests.
It was a pleasure to have you as our guests and we certainly look forward to welcoming you back and ensuring your expectations are exceeded once more.

Warm regards,

Your Valparaiso Team and N.Eschke (GEX Manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2018 via mobile

The photos do not do this hotel justice. The pools and spa are beautiful. It seems recently renovated with a stylish bar and cafe. The breakfast buffet offers a lot if variety and healthy options with a fresh fruit counter. We had a supreme room facing the harbor. The rooms are large and clean with balconies. Not beautiful, but nice, comfortable and clean. Perhaps these will be upgraded soon. I would recommend this hotel to friends.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Herrliberger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natascha E, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at GPRO Valparaiso Palace & SPA, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2018

Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your kind words. We are very delighted to read that you had a pleasant stay at our hotel and we are looking forward to welcome you back very soon. Please do not hesitate to let us know if we can do anything to make your next stay even more enjoyable.

Best regards,

Your Valparaíso Team and N.Eschke GEX Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews