We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Hesperia Bilbao” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hesperia Bilbao

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hesperia Bilbao
Ranked #8 of 43 Hotels in Bilbao
Certificate of Excellence
Milton keynes
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Hesperia Bilbao”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2011

Went to Bilbao for 3 days with the family Had a great time .We had a superior room with a coloured glass balcony area and the children a normal room. Both rooms were clean,modern and well appointed with the same facilities but it was worth paying a bit more for the extra space in the superior room and the view of the river.
The children (teenagers) weren't too keen on the glass doors to the bathroom as they could hear each other on the loo but did like that they had separate wash basins; mini bars are always a plus when travelling with teenagers!
I liked the hotel, the service was good and the staff friendly. I would recomend to friends and would actively choose to stay there again as the hotel was centrally located and very close to the Guggenheim . We ate in the restaurant and the food was good but chose not to have breakfast as we thought it expensive although the food in the bar was a good price for this quality of hotel.

Room Tip: Up grade to the superior room worth the extra money for the additional space around the beds
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank megamum35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,526 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    624
    657
    179
    48
    18
See reviews for
211
664
87
289
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2011

A good and nice place to stay. Parking underneath and good service.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hoferman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2011

Located right by the river, booked a superior room at a reasonable rate, but unfortunately the 5th floor is just not quite high enough to see over the pesky trees to be able to see anything but the very top of the the Guggenhiem.

Thats said though, the room was large, the bed very comfortable, and a nice view otherwise of the river and the trees from the chaise longe in the window/balcony area.

I warn those that like to complain about bathroom privacy....the setup here won't be to everyones taste with two sinks in a recess of the hallway and its frosted glass doors that don't give 100% privacy, but there's always the option to book separate rooms!

€20 by taxi from the airport was a quick and pleasant introduction to the city and there's a welcoming look about the hotel exterior and lobby when you get there. Service at checkin and checkout with just one person on the front desk was not fast, but it was polite and efficient when my turn came. I took the option for the breakfast at €10 by prebooking at checkin, it was a nice looking spread, but the scrambled eggs were barely warm and I was probably in too much of a rush to enjoy it.

Overall, nice stay, nice area, and good clean modern hotel. Make sure you bring your running gear (if you liek that kind of thing), there's a great 5km circuit along the promenade of the river from the Guggenhiem down to the old city.

Room Tip: If you want to be able to see the Guggenhiem (and if you've paid for a room with a river view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robberbobbles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Caldwell, NJ
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2011

My husband and I stayed one night in a superior room. The room was normal in size and very dark. We had the colored window seating area which opened up with a view to the river. We spent the extra few dollars for this room so that we would have the best view and most spacious room . The bed (king) was comfortable, nothing special. The bath area was nice, with double sinks outside of the private bath and toilet area. A nice closet and safe were also in the room. We did not look at the mini bar. The front desk was friendly and somewhat helpful. They also held our luggage after checkout. I was surprised that we could not order a pot of coffee to be delivered to our room in the morning. We were able to obtain a free cup of coffee in the breakfast buffet area, which was not overally impressive. The bar area was a nice place for a cocktail. Overall, a little pricey for what we got, but it was clean and modern. The location was very nice as we had a view of the river, pedistrian bridge and Guggenheim. We walked over the bridge to the tram to the old section and the Guggenheim was a short walk.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank crizzolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2011

For our first time to Bilbao, we booked Hesperia off the internet and travelled up from Madrid on the train. The hotel was not far from the train station, just an inexpensive taxi ride away. Located just across the road from the river and only 100 metres or so from an impressive footbridge across the river, the hotel was an ideal base to explore the city on foot. We had intended to spend a day in San Sebastian, but we found so much to do in Bilbao that we had to put that plan away for next time.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 255068Paul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bilbao hotels
Abando
NH Collection Villa de Bilbao
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Abando
Gran Hotel Domine Bilbao
Hotel Miro
#6 of 43 in Bilbao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,121 reviews
Indautxu
Hesperia Zubialde
Hesperia Zubialde
#9 of 43 in Bilbao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hesperia Bilbao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hesperia Bilbao

Property: Hesperia Bilbao
Address: Campo Volantin, 28 | Castanos, 48007 Bilbao, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Vizcaya > Bilbao > Castaños
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Bilbao
#6 Romantic Hotel in Bilbao
#7 Luxury Hotel in Bilbao
#11 Family Hotel in Bilbao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:4 star — Hesperia Bilbao 4*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Combining avant-garde design with a superb location across from the Guggenheim, the newly-built Hesperia Bilbao is a luxury hotel just 200 meters from the main shopping area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, NHHotels, Ebookers, Booking.com, Agoda, LateRooms and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Hesperia Bilbao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hesperia Bilbao Hotel Bilbao
Hesperia Hotel Bilbao
Bilbao Hesperia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing