We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay in Bilbao”
Review of Melia Bilbao

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Melia Bilbao
Ranked #11 of 42 Hotels in Bilbao
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 November 2017

We spent two nights in Bilbao. The hotel is centrally located near the shopping area and has a nice park close by. There is a direct bus from the airport to a stop about 5 minutes away from the hotel. The rooms are ok and breakfast has a good variety of food.

We had no complaints and would stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Meliá Hotels International
Thank COSu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GEXBilbao, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Melia Bilbao, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear COSu,

Many thanks for sending us your impressions about our hotel, for us is very important to know the opinions of our guest, with it we can improve our services.

We are so glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay in Melia Bilbao, and for knwo that you would like comeback.

We hope see you soon between us.

Kind Regards,

Juan López Dafonte
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,660)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5 - 9 of 2,660 reviews

Reviewed 25 November 2017

The hotel has a great location from which you can walk to most of the city or take the tram less than 1 block away. Our room was modern, roomy and clean. The breakfast was a good buffet. The casual restaurant was fine after a long day of touring. The staff was helpful in making reservations and with providing directions. There is a nice park behind the hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dorothy Louise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GEXBilbao, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Melia Bilbao, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Dorothy Louise S,

All the team of Melia Bilbao thanks you that you senging us your opinions about our hotel and services, with them we can improve day by day.

We are pleassed to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope see you soon for give you another great experience.

Yours Sicerely,

Juan López Dafonte
Guest Experience Manager



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2017

The Melia Bilbao is a beautiful hotel, and best of all, an easy walk to the Guggenheim. We walked over after dark for some photos; a safe and pleasurable walk. We stayed two nights of a 14 day tour, and I wish all of the hotels had been as nice as this. Our room faced the park in the back. It was lovely and we took a stroll around the park early. Don't be afraid to book a stay here!

Room Tip: The park on the back side makes an excellent view, especially with the huge windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Meems316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GEXBilbao, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Melia Bilbao, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Meems316

Thank you for having taken some of your valuable time to send us your positive feedback about some points of our Hotel.

We are so glod to know that you have enjoyed your stay in Melia Bilbao.

We hope see you soon between us , for geive you another wonderfoul experince.

Kind Regards,

Juan López Dafonte
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2017 via mobile

Wonderful hotel, friendly staff, excellent breakfast. It is the second time we stay here and if we were to travel to Bilbao a third time, we would stay here as well.

First time we stayed with two small children, 5 years ago, this time as a couple ( kids are in school). The experience was equally superb!

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Mattias R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GEXBilbao, Guest Relations Manager at Melia Bilbao, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2017

Dear Mattias R,

It is a pleasure for us to know that our customers feel comfortable and glad with our facilities and services because this is the main goal of our Hotel and our Company, Meliá Hotels International, and we all thank you for appreciate the hard work that all our team do every day.

We hope see you another time.

Kind regards,

Juan dafonte
Guest Experience

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2017 via mobile

This hotel is in a great location and is well presented throughout. Breakfast is expensive and is best avoided as you can get a better selection nearby but the restaurant is great for dinner. Rooms are spacious and well equipped

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Matt C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GEXBilbao, Guest Relations Manager at Melia Bilbao, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2017

Dear Matt C,

Thank you for having taken some of your valuable time to send us your comments.

We believe it is only through listening carefully to the comments and suggestions of our guests that we will be able to achieve the constant improvement, guest satisfaction and quality service that we strive for

We hope see you soon.

Kind regards

Juan Dafonte
Guest Expereince

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bilbao hotels
Abando
Gran Hotel Domine Bilbao
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Abando
NH Collection Villa de Bilbao
Hotel Miro
#4 of 42 in Bilbao
1,325 reviews
Occidental Bilbao
#12 of 42 in Bilbao
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Bilbao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Bilbao

Address: Lehendakari Leizaola 29, 48001 Bilbao, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Vizcaya > Bilbao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bilbao
#5 Business Hotel in Bilbao
#10 Luxury Hotel in Bilbao
Price Range: €77 - €194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Melia Bilbao 5*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Heart of bussines and cultural area, on banks of Nervion River-Contemporary, sophisticated guestrooms - 4 blocks to Guggenheim. The wellness center (swimming pool, sauna and Gym) will be closed for maintenance and cleaning from next October 30 and for a period of approximately one month. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TravelUp, Booking.com, Ebookers, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Melia Bilbao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Bilbao Hotel Bilbao
Sheraton Bilbao
Bilbao Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing