We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$145
US$129
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Gran Bilbao(Bilbao)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$91
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 49% below average rates

The price you found is 49% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$177/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$124
US$115
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 30% below average rates

The price you found is 30% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$164/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$103
US$92
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$112/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$149
US$140
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$120
NH Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$186
US$148
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 31% below average rates

The price you found is 31% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$215/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 28/07
US$135
US$126
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$157/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Melia Bilbao(Bilbao)(Great Value!)
US$194
US$110
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$130/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Ibis Bilbao Centro(Bilbao)(Great Value!)
US$83
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (575)
Filter reviews
575 results
Traveller rating
228
250
60
24
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
228
250
60
24
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat locationprivilege roomwalking distancelong breakfresh orange juice machinebathroom designenjoyed staying at this hotelmajor sightsold townspa facilitiesdefinitely stay here againquieter roomnice hotelhotel room isrooms are bigexcellent englishopening the window
Filter
Updating list...
75 - 80 of 575 reviews
Reviewed 16 August 2017

All of the staff at the desk and the ground-floor café are knowledgeable, professional, and friendly, with excellent English and French. The hotel is centrally located: a 15-minute walk to the old town and to the museums, 10 minutes to the new town, and 5 minutes to the river boats.
Unfortunately, the chambermaids make a big racket starting early in the morning. Also, the closets are so small that it's impossible to hang a knee-length dress, as if only men stayed in the hotel.
One evening we wanted to see the news and noticed that the television had channels from Algeria, Cambodia, Cuba, and Thailand, but no CNN. Does the hotel really have more Algerian, Cambodian, Cuban, and Thai guests than English-speaking ones?
Overall, this hotel is a gem and we look forward to a future visit.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank 20,007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sito P, Director of Sales at Mercure Bilbao Jardines de Albia, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2017

Thank you for your comments. Being a woman I do share your feelings for the dress... and you're right for the TV channels. I'll talk to the GM and see what can be done.
All the best,
Isabelle G.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2017

We were positively surprised at the charm of this quite small hotel, especially by its staff. Check-in was hassle-free and our Accor status was recognized by the friendly and helpful receptionists although a room upgrade was not available at the time. Clean and spacious room, with well-functioning A/C and wifi. Did not try the breakfast as there are plenty of good bars in the immediate neighborhood that serve tasty pintxos. Walking distance to the Guggenheim museum (that also has an excellent restaurant) and the main shopping streets. As we stayed for more than 3 nights we got a discount on the parking fee. The garage is VERY small so entering with a large car or SUV would be quite a challenge! When exiting, be sure not to forget to open the garage door by pressing the button which is located one level beneath. Overall a good and fairly priced hotel which deserves to be recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank surfdude39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sito P, Director of Sales at Mercure Bilbao Jardines de Albia, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2017

Thank you for your kind comments.
In regards to the breakfast, for your future stay, we also offer a discount if you book it at check-in and for every morning. It then becomes really interesting!
All the best,
isabelle G.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2017

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Mercure Hotels
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 24 July 2017

Decided on a long weekend break away to visit northern Spain. Arrived by bus easily into Bilbao (just buy ticket near exit of terminal) got off bus at "nearest" stop for hotel, it then took over hour to find hotel! However once found, was very impressed. Lovely clean and modern, helpful staff, gave us maps and tips for our stay. Breakfast was good too, had dinner onc, which was also quick service and lovely! Visited the spa downstairs on a rainy day, and was amazingly relaxing and only £10 ish, each for hotel guests, so is well worth a visit. Jumped on the metro to the bus terminal and on hour every hour there's a coach to San Sebastián, which is a must when visiting, about hour journey but a picturesque view, and well worth it as San Sebastián is stunning. Lots to see and do, as well as many bars and beach.
Rooms clean and tidy, cleaned daily to a high standard, only downside is they didn't restock the tea coffee and milk much. Bar staff lovely, make the best sangrias! Outside seating with a waiter call button too. Staff very helpful and friendly!

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Danielle180818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sito P, Director of Sales at Mercure Bilbao Jardines de Albia, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2017

Hi Danielle,
So glad you long break away was a success. please do come back and visit some more!
Kind regards,
Isabelle G.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2017

This is a really nice hotel in a lovely location. They've got little buttons on the tables outside to notify staff when you want to order something or request the bill. That's just a touch of genius in my book. We found the floor numbering & lift a little bit confusing (to the point I actually never figured it out). The rooms are very nice and clean, the beds and pillows are very comfortable. The showers are top of the range, and they provide plenty of toiletries. My only criticism of the rooms would be that they are a little bit on the dark side, both naturally and electronically. The cleaning staff were very friendly and always said hello, as were all of the staff - bar one (details to follow).
We went to inquire about using the spa facilities and the lady there was a little bit rude. Initially she said it was 5 Euro's to use the facilities so we gladly reached to our pockets and got fivers out. Then, for no apparent reason she seemed to bump it up to 10 Euros. We tried to find out why but she spoke no English and our Spanish wasn't good enough to establish what happened with the price hike. Then, she informed us we'd all need to buy swimming caps for 2.50 Euros each if we wanted to go in! We only wanted to use the Jacuzzi and steam room! So in the space of literally 30 seconds the price more than doubled. We asked if we could just look at the facilities and she said no. So we walked off clearly disillusioned at what happened and she made no effort to resolve the situation. There were pictures all round the hotel of people using the spa without swimming caps, and as my friend politely pointed out....I've got no hair!.......very strange. Like i said though, the rest of the staff were marvelous and couldn't do enough. There are also charging points in the lobby (USB & Standard Plug) which came in useful when we were checking out.
I'd definitely stay here again. But i'd also like to know what the score is with the spa facilities.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Benzito C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sito P, Director of Sales at Mercure Bilbao Jardines de Albia, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2017

Hi Benzito,

Apologies about the confusion at the Spa. There is no simple access to the steam room and the jaccuzzi. It's part of a water circuit, which takes 1h30 to do. The normal price is 25€, however hotel client's do have the special price of 10€ to enter (which is so special that it's gone go up!). Also, for hygienic reasons, swimming caps are compulsory, as well as flip flops. However, you having no hair is definitely hygienic! So yes, I must have a conversation with our Spa manager. Really sorry about that.

Also, the Spa used to be managed by another company, and their clientele was local. It's now managed by the hotel, for the past year or so. However we've inherited the team, and obviously not coming from the hospitality industry, their English level is limited. It's a long process to get them to speak English. We're aware of this issue and are working on it. However that one is a long process.

We look forward to your return and being given the chance to correct our mistake.

Best regards,

Isabele G.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews