We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mercure Bilbao Jardines de Albia
Ranked #12 of 42 Hotels in Bilbao
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 August 2017 via mobile

This is "The" place to stay in Bilbao! Centrally located, a short walk across from the White Bridge --10 minutes from the Abando Train Station-- just around the corner from a beautiful square that leads to a vibrant area with tapas bars and Cafes. We were very impressed with every aspect of this Hotel, 5 star for cleanliness, staff friendliness and efficiency, for our very spacious room and bathroom, price and marvellous breakfast (including freshly squeezed orange juice...!). Wow!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Christina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sito P, Director of Sales at Mercure Bilbao Jardines de Albia, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2017

Thank you Christina, we're glad that you enjoyed your stay!
Isabelle G.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (454)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

26 - 30 of 454 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2017

All of the staff at the desk and the ground-floor café are knowledgeable, professional, and friendly, with excellent English and French. The hotel is centrally located: a 15-minute walk to the old town and to the museums, 10 minutes to the new town, and 5 minutes to the river boats.
Unfortunately, the chambermaids make a big racket starting early in the morning. Also, the closets are so small that it's impossible to hang a knee-length dress, as if only men stayed in the hotel.
One evening we wanted to see the news and noticed that the television had channels from Algeria, Cambodia, Cuba, and Thailand, but no CNN. Does the hotel really have more Algerian, Cambodian, Cuban, and Thai guests than English-speaking ones?
Overall, this hotel is a gem and we look forward to a future visit.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank 20,007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sito P, Director of Sales at Mercure Bilbao Jardines de Albia, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2017

Thank you for your comments. Being a woman I do share your feelings for the dress... and you're right for the TV channels. I'll talk to the GM and see what can be done.
All the best,
Isabelle G.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2017

We were positively surprised at the charm of this quite small hotel, especially by its staff. Check-in was hassle-free and our Accor status was recognized by the friendly and helpful receptionists although a room upgrade was not available at the time. Clean and spacious room, with well-functioning A/C and wifi. Did not try the breakfast as there are plenty of good bars in the immediate neighborhood that serve tasty pintxos. Walking distance to the Guggenheim museum (that also has an excellent restaurant) and the main shopping streets. As we stayed for more than 3 nights we got a discount on the parking fee. The garage is VERY small so entering with a large car or SUV would be quite a challenge! When exiting, be sure not to forget to open the garage door by pressing the button which is located one level beneath. Overall a good and fairly priced hotel which deserves to be recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank surfdude39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sito P, Director of Sales at Mercure Bilbao Jardines de Albia, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2017

Thank you for your kind comments.
In regards to the breakfast, for your future stay, we also offer a discount if you book it at check-in and for every morning. It then becomes really interesting!
All the best,
isabelle G.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2017

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Mercure Hotels
Thank 325stanleyg
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 24 July 2017

Decided on a long weekend break away to visit northern Spain. Arrived by bus easily into Bilbao (just buy ticket near exit of terminal) got off bus at "nearest" stop for hotel, it then took over hour to find hotel! However once found, was very impressed. Lovely clean and modern, helpful staff, gave us maps and tips for our stay. Breakfast was good too, had dinner onc, which was also quick service and lovely! Visited the spa downstairs on a rainy day, and was amazingly relaxing and only £10 ish, each for hotel guests, so is well worth a visit. Jumped on the metro to the bus terminal and on hour every hour there's a coach to San Sebastián, which is a must when visiting, about hour journey but a picturesque view, and well worth it as San Sebastián is stunning. Lots to see and do, as well as many bars and beach.
Rooms clean and tidy, cleaned daily to a high standard, only downside is they didn't restock the tea coffee and milk much. Bar staff lovely, make the best sangrias! Outside seating with a waiter call button too. Staff very helpful and friendly!

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Danielle180818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sito P, Director of Sales at Mercure Bilbao Jardines de Albia, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2017

Hi Danielle,
So glad you long break away was a success. please do come back and visit some more!
Kind regards,
Isabelle G.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bilbao hotels
Abando
Gran Hotel Domine Bilbao
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Abando
NH Collection Villa de Bilbao
Occidental Bilbao
#14 of 42 in Bilbao
250 reviews
Abando
Sercotel Coliseo
Sercotel Coliseo
#9 of 42 in Bilbao
1,137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Bilbao Jardines de Albia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Bilbao Jardines de Albia

Address: San Vicente 6, 48001 Bilbao, Spain (Formerly Hotel Spa Husa Jardines de Albia)
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Vizcaya > Bilbao > Abando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Bilbao
Price Range: €67 - €140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Bilbao Jardines de Albia 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The location of the Mercure Bilbao Jardines de Albia is extremely central: only 500m away from the Guggenheim, the main shopping street, el Corte Ingles, the restaurants and tapas bars. It is for real the best located hotel downtown Bilbao. We are currently under refurbishment, and we are careful not to discomfort our guests and never work early morning, late nights. We hope to be finished by March 2016. However we already have our newly refurbished rooms at the guest's disposal. Please feel free to contact us for any information. Best regards, The team ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ebookers, ACCOR, TravelUp, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Bilbao Jardines de Albia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spa Husa Jardines De Albia Hotel Bilbao
Husa Jardines De Albia Bilbao
Husa Jardines De Albia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing