We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$96
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com
US$97
View deal
Agoda.com
US$85
View deal
TravelocityUS$97
Hotels.comUS$97
TraveluroUS$116
View all 16 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,578)
Filter reviews
1,578 results
Traveller rating
481
629
276
132
60
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
481
629
276
132
60
Show reviews that mention
All reviews old town perfect location bars and restaurants excellent breakfast city guggenheim kettle
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 1,578 reviews
Reviewed 22 October 2019

When we got there soon after 6 pm we we told that the room had been freed as we did not arrive by 4 pm. We had already paid for 4 nights but the Receptionist insisted it was the hotel policy. I am afraid that this has never been written on any of the paperwork that we have received.
We were told that it was our problem to sort it as it was nothing to do with them. They put us up in a crummy room for one night but said that there will be no room for the next 2 nights.
We had an awful night where noise was constant from the traffic and light was streaming in as the blackout curtain was broken. Although I paid for a room for 3 people, there was hardly any room for two.
I would warn others from staying here from our experience.

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank choo w
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karmele A, Gerente at Petit Palace Arana, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2019

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at the Petit Palace Arana and for taking the time to share your valuable feedback with us.
Our main aim being guest satisfaction and quality delivery, we do take our guests’ and their well being very seriously and always hope to meet the guests’ expectations.

I am truly saddened to read your feedback regarding your time wiht us and I have shared your comments with our Front of House Manager.

We have also noted your comment with regards of the condition of our facility, I am indeed very sorry we have not been able to meet your expectation during your recent stay with us. Please allow me to confirm that we have an ongoing refurbishment plans to different areas of the hotel which will bring new and exciting things to the hotel.


Thank you once again for your comments, as it is only through such feedback that we are able to constantly improve our products and services. I do hope you have a change of heart and decide to return to our hotel in the not too distant future.

Sincerely,

Karmele Abarrategui
Host
Petit Palace Arana



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2019 via mobile

We had a lovely short break, location is perfect for exploring the old town and transport links excellent for travelling further afield. The hotel reception staff are really helpful, room clean and simple. Sympathetic restoration of a historic building.

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank africasue
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karmele A, Gerente at Petit Palace Arana, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2019

Dear Guest,

I would firstly like to thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review, and thank you for choosing Petit Palace Arana.

I am delighted to read that you enjoyed the service provided and please be assured that I will share your kind words with all the team.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to share your nice comment toward the TripAdvisor community, I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back at `Petit Palace Arana!


Best Regards,

Karmele Abarrategui
Host
Petit Palace Arana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2019

We enjoyed this friendly and extremely well-located hotel for 3 nights. It's just on edge of old part of city. We had a room overlooking a narrow street, first floor. Yes, it was a bit noisy but the windows are well soundproofed and we had earplugs. If people-noise bothers you, then stay away from medieval old city hotels. The building is old, big wooden beams. The staff were all friendly and helpful, especially the delightful young woman when we checked in. She gave us a map and lots of advice about things to do and where to eat. A really great location, right in the old town, close to all the narrow streets. Only negs: no kettle in room and washbasin a little tatty. But a lovely room and bathroom otherwise. Enjoyed our stay here.

Room tip: We enjoyed first floor
Date of stay: October 2019
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karmele A, Gerente at Petit Palace Arana, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2019

Dear Chris,

I would firstly like to thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review, and thank you for choosing Petit Palace Arana.

It a great pleasure to read that you appreciated our property with its l atmosphere. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed the service provided.
Besides, We highly appreciate your valuable comments as this will go along way to improve our standards and service delivery to our guests.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to share your nice comment toward the TripAdvisor community, I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back at Petit Palace Arana

Best Regards,

Karmele Abarrategui
Host
Petit Palace Arana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2019

Although you could hardly find a better location and helpful staff, the room was just so noisy and tired looking. The bathroom was bad. Large, empty space but nowhere to put your toiletries or towels. It made no sense. There's a metal knob sticking up out of the ground that was begging for you to stub your toe on, which we did twice. Ouch! There were windows in the BR and bath but they opened up to an ugly, dark, kinda creepy space with machines on the roof. The room was at the top of the stairs and you could hear everyone who came in to reception. Also, when the people above used their bathroom, they sounded like they were literally in our bathroom. It was odd.
The breakfast included was very good. Lots of options. Definitely helped make up for the room. And the man working there was so attentive to everyone's needs. Honestly, the place could be amazing with some insulation and a major facelift given the potential charm of the building and the location!

Date of stay: October 2019
1  Thank kristinjstephen
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karmele A, Gerente at Petit Palace Arana, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2019

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Petit Palace Arana and for taking the time to write to us.
We greatly appreciate we your honest feedback and this will go a long way to improve our standards and service delivery to our guests’.

We have noted your comment with regards of the condition of our facility, I am indeed very sorry we have not been able to meet your expectation during your recent stay with us.
I am pleased to advise that we are in the process of a master plan renovation.

On the other hand,we appreciate the fine compliments you make about our team members hospitality and our breakfast. Believe me, it is comments such as yours that make all efforts truly worthwhile.

Once again thank you for your valuable feedback and we certainly do hope that you are able to stay with us again in the future to encounter a more positive stay.


Sincerely,

Karmele Abarrategui
Host
Petit Palace Arana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2019

I stayed in this hotel for 1 night.
Very well situated near the old town area.
Tram line outside front door.
Public car park 100 metres away.
Old 6 story hotel, can be noisy.
Do not book breakfast as breakfast room is in the attic & is far too small with 30 minute queues forming. Lots of good alternatives within 3 minutes of hotel.

Date of stay: September 2019
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Pat M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karmele A, Gerente at Petit Palace Arana, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2019


Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your insights from your recent stay at Petit Palace Arana, we always appreciate receiving all feedback from our guests.

Whilst we are glad that you were comfortable and enjoyed the prime location, we are sorry that our facilities fell below your expectations.
We do have a rolling refurbishment programme in place whereby our rooms will be completed by the end of the year.

We thank you for the comment about our breakfast as we will be sure to pass this along to our F&B department for further review as we are always looking to improve our services.

We truly appreciate your feedback, and as we constantly work on improving our standards and service delivery to our guests, I do hope to have another opportunity of welcoming you back to Petit Palace Arana and re - establish your faith in our hotel.

Kind regards,

Karmele Abarrategui
Host
Petit Palace Arana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews