We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
4 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
US$137
View deal
Free cancellation until 26/05/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com
US$137
View deal
Free cancellation until 27/05/22
Trip.com
US$126
View deal
Free cancellation until 27/05/22
Hotels.comUS$137
TravelocityUS$137
ZenHotels.comUS$134
View all 10 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (120)
Filter reviews
120 results
Traveller rating
97
15
6
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
97
15
6
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews airport stops beautiful room the bus walking distance old town pool spa gran facilities shower city reception location guggenheim
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 120 reviews
Reviewed 10 December 2021

The hotel is almost brand new, the rooms had a modern and well designed interior, the bathroom was perfect with luxury fittings and the staff were friendly and attentive catering to your every need. I'll definitely stay here again on my next visit to Bilbao.

Date of stay: December 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank mikeeehym
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CATALONIA GRAN VIA BILBAO, Director General at Catalonia Gran Via Bilbao, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2021

Dear Mike,
Thank you for your review and many thanks for your kind words. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you again. Kindest regards.
Catalonia Gran Vía Bilbao Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2021 via mobile

We stayed a total of four nights in this hotel and we couldn’t of been more pleased. On arrival the hotel staff at reception were very helpful and actually upgraded me to a better room, totally to my surprise. The room was immaculately clean and very spacious. The bathroom was superb and the showering facilities were amazing! The bedroom has a nice mini bar and a nice coffee machine etc. the cleaners do a great job also. The hotel bar is a nice place to go for a few drinks before you leave the hotel for the evening.

However, the best thing about this hotel is the location. I had a selection of three hotels in my mind and I am so glad I chose Catalonia Gran Via Bilbao. In our opinion the best part of the city is Casco Viejo, The Old Town, and this hotel is a nice 20 minute walk from there. There’s also many lovely areas/neighbourhoods that this hotel is near, everything within a walking distance from the hotel’s front door. Your not too centred in Bilbao’s hussle and bussle, but also not too far out!

We never had breakfast in the morning but can only imagine it would of been good. The spa looked nice and the pool would be lovely to unwind in the summer during the hotter days.

Overall I would most definitely recommend this hotel, especially if your a couple!

Gracias Catalonia Gran Via, por un tiempo perfecto!

Date of stay: November 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank thomasclark_21
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 25 October 2021

The hotel is great. The staff is friendly and super helpful in providing directions and suggestions. The room was attractive, clean, well-appinted, and reasonably priced. My only concerns is the cost of the buffet breakfast -- 18 Euros.

The 3 Euro bus ride from the airport stops across the street from the hotel. Once in the city, exit at the third stop. Cross the street and then walk about 50 meters to the left. The bus departs from the airport every 30 minutes on the hour and half hour.

The hotel is about a 10 minute walk from a metro station.

Room tip: If a quiet room is desired, ask for one facing the pool.
Date of stay: October 2021
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank RichT529
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CATALONIA GRAN VIA BILBAO, Director General at Catalonia Gran Via Bilbao, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2021

Dear Rich T529, First of all, thank you for trusting on us. We are glad to know that you liked the hotel and you found our staff friendly. We take good note of your comments that help us to improve our service. For all the team that compose the Catalonia Gran Vía Bilbao hotel , it was a real pleasure to had with us and we hope to welcome you again soon.
Kind regards,
Catalonia Gran Vía Bilbao Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2021

Be careful to inspect your bathroom for evidence of mold. Black mold encountered on the ceiling of the shower.

Condition reported to front desk with no remediation or change of room. Situation also reported to corporate with no follow-up.

Date of stay: October 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Mitchell G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 25 September 2021 via mobile

Service: +++
Rooms: +++
Cleanliness:+++
Breakfast: too expensive did not try
Location: +++
Price: -/+
Wifi: good

Perfect location, especially if you would like to visit a soccer game. Just a five minute stroll. Old town also not too far as well the Guggenheim. Private place to park your car (additional cost), could it even leave it for the morning that we left. The gym and pool are a little bit too small. Staff is very friendly.

Date of stay: September 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Travelglows
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CATALONIA GRAN VIA BILBAO, Director General at Catalonia Gran Via Bilbao, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2021

Dear Guest,
Thank you for take part of your time to comment and for your score. We are glad to know that everything was fine during your stay.
If you come back to bilbao, do not hesitate to book us again.
Regards,
Catalonia Gran Vía Bilbao

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews