We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
3 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
US$154
View deal
Free cancellation until 14/07/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com
US$153
View deal
Free cancellation until 15/07/22
Trip.com
US$138
View deal
Free cancellation until 15/07/22
Hotels.comUS$153
TravelocityUS$153
Agoda.comUS$155
View all 10 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (130)
Filter reviews
130 results
Traveller rating
107
15
6
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
107
15
6
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews airport stops beautiful room excellent breakfast would definitely stay here again walking distance the bus lovely hotel comfortable bed old town guggenheim museum pool spa facilities gran shower reception city
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 130 reviews
Reviewed 25 October 2021

The hotel is great. The staff is friendly and super helpful in providing directions and suggestions. The room was attractive, clean, well-appinted, and reasonably priced. My only concerns is the cost of the buffet breakfast -- 18 Euros.

The 3 Euro bus ride from the airport stops across the street from the hotel. Once in the city, exit at the third stop. Cross the street and then walk about 50 meters to the left. The bus departs from the airport every 30 minutes on the hour and half hour.

The hotel is about a 10 minute walk from a metro station.

Room tip: If a quiet room is desired, ask for one facing the pool.
Date of stay: October 2021
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank RichT529
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CATALONIA GRAN VIA BILBAO, Director General at Catalonia Gran Via Bilbao, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2021

Dear Rich T529, First of all, thank you for trusting on us. We are glad to know that you liked the hotel and you found our staff friendly. We take good note of your comments that help us to improve our service. For all the team that compose the Catalonia Gran Vía Bilbao hotel , it was a real pleasure to had with us and we hope to welcome you again soon.
Kind regards,
Catalonia Gran Vía Bilbao Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2021

Be careful to inspect your bathroom for evidence of mold. Black mold encountered on the ceiling of the shower.

Condition reported to front desk with no remediation or change of room. Situation also reported to corporate with no follow-up.

Date of stay: October 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Mitchell G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 25 September 2021 via mobile

Service: +++
Rooms: +++
Cleanliness:+++
Breakfast: too expensive did not try
Location: +++
Price: -/+
Wifi: good

Perfect location, especially if you would like to visit a soccer game. Just a five minute stroll. Old town also not too far as well the Guggenheim. Private place to park your car (additional cost), could it even leave it for the morning that we left. The gym and pool are a little bit too small. Staff is very friendly.

Date of stay: September 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Travelglows
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CATALONIA GRAN VIA BILBAO, Director General at Catalonia Gran Via Bilbao, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2021

Dear Guest,
Thank you for take part of your time to comment and for your score. We are glad to know that everything was fine during your stay.
If you come back to bilbao, do not hesitate to book us again.
Regards,
Catalonia Gran Vía Bilbao

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2021

The hotel is in the center of the city. Close to Gugenheim but rather distant from the old town (of course you can not be close to everything). Two days in a row the fire alarm falsely went off while showering and nobody who tried to prevent this from happening again. The breakroom was not cleaned properly . The service of the staff in the breakfastroom is below average.

Date of stay: September 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Vaderzoonopstap
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CATALONIA GRAN VIA BILBAO, Director General at Catalonia Gran Via Bilbao, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2021

Dear Guest,
We arre sorry to know that your experience with us was not like you expected. We would like if you come back to Bilbao, that you give us a second chance to make your stay a wonderfull souvenir.
Regards,
Hotel Catalonia Gran Vía Bilbao

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2021 via mobile

We stayed two days in Bilbao instead of San Sebastián as we couldn't get rooms in San Sebastián. We are so glad we stayed at this hotel. The hotel is new and very well appointed. Beautiful room and a very nice and modern bathroom. But that is not why I gave them a five star, the five star is because of the staff.
We needed help with Covid testing and Pablo and Maria went way out of their way to help us. My wife's test results were lost as the clerk at the hospital made an error. I had no idea how to get this issue fixed and we were already on our way to Madrid. So I called Maria and asked her to help. Mind you we had checked out. She called them for us and kept me informed by sending me emas. Maria you are awesome! Thank you!

Date of stay: September 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Dennis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CATALONIA GRAN VIA BILBAO, Director General at Catalonia Gran Via Bilbao, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2021

Dear Dennis,
First of all, thank you for trusting on us. We are glad to know that you liked the hotel and we take good note of your comments. We will forward your comments to Pablo and Maria.
For all the team that compose the Catalonia Gran Vía Bilbao, it was a real pleasure to had with us and we hope to welcome you again soon.
Kind regards,
Catalonia Gran Vía Bilbao Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews