We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
4 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
US$156
View deal
Free cancellation until 14/07/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com
US$156
View deal
Free cancellation until 15/07/22
Trip.com
US$139
View deal
Free cancellation until 15/07/22
Hotels.comUS$156
TravelocityUS$156
ZenHotels.comUS$148
View all 10 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (129)
Filter reviews
130 results
Traveller rating
107
15
6
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
107
15
6
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews airport stops beautiful room excellent breakfast would definitely stay here again walking distance the bus lovely hotel comfortable bed old town guggenheim museum pool spa facilities gran shower reception city
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 130 reviews
Reviewed 20 September 2021

The hotel is in the center of the city. Close to Gugenheim but rather distant from the old town (of course you can not be close to everything). Two days in a row the fire alarm falsely went off while showering and nobody who tried to prevent this from happening again. The breakroom was not cleaned properly . The service of the staff in the breakfastroom is below average.

Date of stay: September 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Vaderzoonopstap
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CATALONIA GRAN VIA BILBAO, Director General at Catalonia Gran Via Bilbao, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2021

Dear Guest,
We arre sorry to know that your experience with us was not like you expected. We would like if you come back to Bilbao, that you give us a second chance to make your stay a wonderfull souvenir.
Regards,
Hotel Catalonia Gran Vía Bilbao

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2021 via mobile

We stayed two days in Bilbao instead of San Sebastián as we couldn't get rooms in San Sebastián. We are so glad we stayed at this hotel. The hotel is new and very well appointed. Beautiful room and a very nice and modern bathroom. But that is not why I gave them a five star, the five star is because of the staff.
We needed help with Covid testing and Pablo and Maria went way out of their way to help us. My wife's test results were lost as the clerk at the hospital made an error. I had no idea how to get this issue fixed and we were already on our way to Madrid. So I called Maria and asked her to help. Mind you we had checked out. She called them for us and kept me informed by sending me emas. Maria you are awesome! Thank you!

Date of stay: September 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Dennis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CATALONIA GRAN VIA BILBAO, Director General at Catalonia Gran Via Bilbao, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2021

Dear Dennis,
First of all, thank you for trusting on us. We are glad to know that you liked the hotel and we take good note of your comments. We will forward your comments to Pablo and Maria.
For all the team that compose the Catalonia Gran Vía Bilbao, it was a real pleasure to had with us and we hope to welcome you again soon.
Kind regards,
Catalonia Gran Vía Bilbao Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2021 via mobile

We stayed one night here and had a lovely time. The hotel looks great and is really nicely finished. It’s very near the Guggenheim and the bus to/from the airport stops just outside but a bit of a walk to the old town. Staff were very friendly and accommodated a late checkout. A/C was a bit tricky to use but the shower was amazing!

Room tip: Bus 3247 to/from the airport stops just outside the hotel and is €3. Good room perks are available with the hotel’s rewards program.
Date of stay: September 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank efay
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CATALONIA GRAN VIA BILBAO, Director General at Catalonia Gran Via Bilbao, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2021

Dear Efay,
First of all, thank you for trusting on us. We are glad to know that you liked the hotel and we take good note of your comments. For all the team that compose the Catalonia Gran Vía Bilbao, it was a real pleasure to had with us and we hope to welcome you again soon.
Kind regards,
Catalonia Gran Vía Bilbao Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2021 via mobile

The hotel is very well located , at walking distance of the Guggenheim and several bars. The room is modern, clean and comfortable, with a lovely terrace to sit outside. Very comfortable bathroom. The breakfast buffet was very impressive , even with show cooking. Staff always friendly and helpful. Minor point of improvement: we booked a double room but received two beds pushed together, which isn’t quite the same comfort for a couple.

Date of stay: September 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank bvanmaele
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CATALONIA GRAN VIA BILBAO, Director General at Catalonia Gran Via Bilbao, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2021

Dear Bvanmaele,
First of all, thank you for trusting on us. We are glad to know that you liked the hotel and we take good note of your comments. For all the team that compose the Catalonia Gran Vía Bilbao, it was a real pleasure to had with us and we hope to welcome you again soon.
Kind regards,
Catalonia Gran Vía Bilbao Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2021

This was a beautiful hotel, very new but it was the staff that made it! Extremely friendly, nothing was too much trouble and spoke good English too. Bar staff we great in particular Yass and also the lady on my first night. I plan to do a Spain road trip and will definitely have a night here. The pool was perfect, small but perfect.

Room tip: Always go for a night floor and with a balcony. It’s quite pricey on your own but think if there are two of you it would be good.
Date of stay: August 2021
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank BridieOhalloran
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CATALONIA GRAN VIA BILBAO, Director General at Catalonia Gran Via Bilbao, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2021

Dear Bridie,
First of all, thank you for trusting on us. We are glad to know that you liked the hotel and we take good note of your comments. We will forward your comments to Yass specially.
For all the team that compose the Catalonia Gran Vía Bilbao, it was a real pleasure to had with us and we hope to welcome you again soon.
Kind regards,
Catalonia Gran Vía Bilbao Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews