We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$121
View deal
Free cancellation until 03/06/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com
US$120
View deal
Free cancellation until 04/06/22
Agoda.com
US$114
View deal
PricelineUS$120
Hotels.comUS$120
TraveluroUS$137
View all 19 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (846)
Filter reviews
846 results
Traveller rating
184
418
173
52
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
184
418
173
52
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviews old town hotel is located minutes walking casco viejo guggenheim
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 846 reviews
Reviewed 29 August 2021 via mobile

It is difficult to be close to everything as important sites are spread out. This hotel is centrally located to the old town and the Guggenheim. It is also 10 minutes walking from the tram and train station.
Rooms are clean, very adequate, beds comfortable. Breakfast is adequate.

Date of stay: August 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YOLANDA D H, Marketing at Hotel Abando, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2021

Dear guest, we would to thank you for staying at the Carlton hotel and for telling us your experience in it. We are very pleased to know that you have enjoyed your accomodation and we hope to see you again very soon. Best regards.

Yolanda DH
Aránzazu Hoteles PR Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2020 via mobile

Hotel Abando is set in a fantastic location, within walking distance of pretty much all the sights in Bilbao. The hotel is really comfortable and staff are great. We loved the design of the bedrooms which were really comfortable. The hotel is situated right beside a really lively street which seems to be the centre of the night life, yet you hear no noise in the hotel itself. We really enjoyed our stay here and would highly recommend it. Breakfast is a bit of a rip off but there are plenty of places nearby to grab something to eat.

Date of stay: March 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank jessicafarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 March 2020 via mobile

Perfect location. Near many Tapas bars. Walking distance to the river. Can use hotel parking or public parking 300m away from hotel. The room was lovely but you could hear when the room used the bathroom or walked in shoes.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3  Thank kylliana2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 25 December 2019

In this very walkable city Hotel Abando is in easy reach of most tourist destinations like the Guggenheim about 15 minutes away as well as a ton of places to eat and shopping venues. The modest bar serves coffee and pastries in the morning (we did not get the breakfast), and the rooms are spacious and certainly clean and well-maintained. There can be a lot of street noise (and some short-term daytime construction in the hotel while we were staying there), so light sleepers might try to find a room that is not on streetside.

Date of stay: December 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank paulmull
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 December 2019

we stayed here recently and had no complaints . the hotel is centrally locacted just off the main shopping district and the old time .bars and restaurants are all within easy reach . the hotel is modern and well kept with well equipt rooms . we stayed bed and breakfast and there was plenty of all types of cereal , pastries , breads and hot food . bar is small but with all the city has to offer its not a big deal .

Date of stay: December 2019
2  Thank dazza69Tipperary
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YOLANDA D H, Atención al cliente/recepción at Hotel Abando, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2020

Dear guest, we want to thank you for staying at the Abando hotel and for telling us your experience in it. We are very pleased to know that you have enjoyed your accomodation and we hope to see you again very soon. Best regards.

Yolanda DH
Aránzazu Hoteles PR Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews