We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.comUS$105
Barcelo.comUS$105
TripadvisorUS$105
travelup.com
Hotels.comUS$105
TraveluroUS$124
View all 20 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,030)
Filter reviews
1,030 results
Traveller rating
544
319
105
40
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
544
319
105
40
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviews outdoor pool old town shampoo and shower gel comfortable beds pleasant stay wonderful hotel per day hotel restaurant gym metro city tariff euros spain kettle guggenheim
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 1,030 reviews
Reviewed 6 September 2021 via mobile

We had rooms on the 7th floor and these had the most comfortable beds I’ve ever experienced at an hotel. House keeping was unpredictable and disappointing. Rooms not cleaned and when they were the door was left open. They did eventually supply an ironing board and kettle. The breakfast is comprehensive and good although the hot food is not very hot. The hotel is well located about 15 mins walk to the Old Town and 30mins walk to Guggenheim. The metro is 5 mins from the hotel and Guggenheim is 3 stops away. Parking is 20€ per day.

Date of stay: September 2021
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 September 2021 via mobile

Beds were not solid furniture. More like mobile platforms. Had 4 feet and 2 wheels. Felt like im sleeping in an extra bed i ordered despite i was expecting a room with a proper queen size bed. Everytime you move it moves under you and you fee like you have to be careful not to slide down. Sleeping at a hotel that i pay 100€ per night?? it was like a joke. Says hotel has parking but here is the tariff: if you stay full duration you pay 20€. if you come to your room for a shower and refreshment and decide the leave for dinner by car, you pay around 10€ AND 20€ the next morning. Good way to make money. i ordered the room including breakfast. But guess what? it starts at 8.00. when ur visiting for business, waiting till 8.00 for breakfast is usually too late. Starting should be 7.00 latest. When i wanted to exclude the breakfast front desk said they can prepare a take-away for me and i said that would be great. They didnt deduct the amount and take-away never came during my whole stay. i paid for the breakfast i could never eat. on the comments it says hotel is pretty close to the center, in walking distance. it is pretty close but no one mentions the hundereds of stairs you need to climb on the way back. dont think that you can walk to center and back if you are not ready for a good climb. last and not least, i choose the hotel because it has a pool and i was thinking maybe icwould enjoy it if i had the chance. But you are limited to a maximum of 1,5h at the pool and you need to book in advance. Never seen such thing in my life, i felt like i was scammed by whats told here about the hotel.

Date of stay: September 2021
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank burcangan
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 31 August 2021

We have an unforseen circumstances and required last minute urgen accommodation. The booking was quick and check in was very efficient. By the time we were paying for the room we went from 2 single beds to a luxury double one, perfect for our needs.

Date of stay: August 2021
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
Thank esla702
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 29 August 2021

I would never go back in this hotel. The staff is not helpful at all. There is a super long queue when checkin in. The double room with a dou le bed comes with two single beds. Well errors can happen. But what happened at the pool side is ubelievable. There is 8 sun chairs for all the hotel guests which are occupied all the time. The hotel provides a slot of one hour for every hotel guest to relax on the sun. But even with a reserved time slot, there will be no sun chair guaranteed. So people have to lie down on the grass. All the rest of the sun chairs are empty because they belong to the hotel gym. As there is 8 euros to pay for the gym, there could be a chance to get a chair. It is as well possible to pay 20 euro for the spa and the gym. I‘ve never been in a hotel where it is not possible to use the gym for free.
The staff over all is very rough and does not speak english well. There are many nicer hotels for the same price - stay away of this hotel which is even not in the city center.

Date of stay: August 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank sventrachsel
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel- cmanager, Propriétaire at Occidental Bilbao, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2021

Dear Sven, Thank you for sharing your review.

We were concerned to read your remarks on the service you experienced during your stay, especially because your comments do not reflect the usual standard of service we strive to deliver to our guests. Please rest assured that your review will be shared with our heads of department for their information and so that it can be addressed. Moreover, all our team members speak English although some may have a higher level than others. Nevertheless, they will always make the best effort they can to understand all our guests and respond promptly to their requirements. We have taken good note of your remarks concerning your check-in experience and apologize for any delay. We appreciate your insight and will do our utmost to improve this aspect of our services; we again extend our sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused.

We hope that you will allow us the opportunity of providing you with an improved stay in future. Best regards,


Guest Relations Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2021

The hotel is very clean and beds are super comfortable; I appreciated the sustainable choices for shampoo and shower gel. The view from the lobby was great as well you could see the mountains And enjoy a drink. The only thing is that the location is not so much of a walking distance unless you enjoy going up and down the stairs / hills

Date of stay: August 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
Thank agu289471690
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel- cmanager, Propriétaire at Occidental Bilbao, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2021

Dear Agu,

Thank you very much for leaving these wonderful comments on Tripadvisor, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay among us.

We are glad to know that during your stay you were able to enjoy our lobby bar, and also enjoy the views. After the total renovation of the hotel, our huge windows were created with views of the city. It is the fact of being on the Begoña hill that allows us to have these views, but we also need to get to the hotel. For this we can use the comfortable Bilbao metro, made by the famous architect Norman Foster.

Thank you again for this heartwarming review of your stay with us, we look forward to your next visit.

Best regards,


Guests Relations Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews