We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
3 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
US$188
View deal
Free cancellation until 27/05/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com
US$191
View deal
Free cancellation until 28/05/22
Trip.com
US$166
View deal
Free cancellation until 28/05/22
PricelineUS$183
Hotels.comUS$191
HurbUS$197
View all 20 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,259)
Filter reviews
1,259 results
Traveller rating
547
477
161
51
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
547
477
161
51
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviews overlooking the square beautiful hotel guggenheim museum excellent location mini bar plaza dame city spain stylish pintxos
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 1,259 reviews
Reviewed 20 October 2021

Excellent parking with direct hotel access. Staff very friendly and helpful, especially Endika who helped print all the documentation for returning to the UK. Bar service was a little slow. Room excellent, luxury and spacious bathroom. Would stay again en route through Bilbao.

Date of stay: September 2021
Thank EmandDee
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Passenger47573885865, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Carlton, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2021

Dear guest, we would to thank you for staying at the Carlton Hotel and for telling us your experience on it. We are very pleased to know that you have enjoyed your accomodation and we hope to see you again very soon. Best regards.

Yolanda DH
Aránzazu Hoteles PR Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2021

Excellent location, the best is comfy and the room is spacious. The staff was smiling and seemed happy to have us as guests. There is no mini-bar to speak of, and if you are English, only 4 channels with English on the tv. Those things may not mean much to the average guest, but sometimes a 5-star location will have more amenities. BUT, we thought it was great. The bar served us some really good cocktails and we felt the price was worth the location.

Date of stay: September 2021
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joricm2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YOLANDA D H, Marketing at Hotel Carlton, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2021

Dear guest, we would to thank you for staying at the Carlton and for telling us your experience. We are forwarding your feedback to the departments involved to improve the quality of each and on of them. We hope to see you again very soon. Best regards.

Yolanda DH
Aránzazu Hoteles PR Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2021 via mobile

Quite a few basic 5-star amenities and qualifiers are missing.
1. There is no concierge to help with luggage
2. The mini bar is not stocked
3. A king-size bed is just two smaller beds shifted together
4. I am not sure how much of the other missing qualifiers are genuinely due to COVID precautions, but it seems like COVID is just used as an excuse for not providing some other basic 5-star services
5. The hotel and its amenities need a refresh, it looks and feels like the owners are just banking on the name to keep their 5 stars. Much of the furniture is old and looks quite used

Essentially, the biggest issue is that the expectation of a 5-star service is not met. If the hotel advertised itself as a 3-star one then it would have met expectations.

Room tip: Parking is difficult as the hotel only has limited spaces. So if you make a reservation you need to request a parking space as well
Date of stay: September 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Julia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YOLANDA D H, Marketing at Hotel Carlton, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2021
Google Translation

Estimado cliente, agradecerle su estancia en el hotel Carlton y también por hacernos llegar sus comentarios sobre su experiencia en el mismo. Lamentamos profundamente que nuestro alojamiento no haya cumplido con sus expectativas. Nuestro hotel está certificado con la " Q " de calidad, que se renueva anualmente mediante auditorías externas e internas, en cumplimiento de los estándares de calidad. Nuestro edificio data de 1926, y es uno de los más emblemáticos de Bilbao, declarado Monumento Arquitectónico, Artístico y Cultural, con un estilo clásico en su decoración, aunque también disponemos de algunas habitaciones con aires más innovadores, que le sugerimos conozca en su próxima visita. Tendremos en cuenta todas sus observaciones y se las trasladamos a los departamentos correspondientes, para mejorar la calidad de todos nuestros servicios. Reciba un cordial saludo.

Yolanda DH
Aránzazu Hoteles PR Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2021

We have been traveling through Spain and the hotel in Bilbao was a disappointment. The service is not that of a five star hotel. We arrived and there was no one that could help us with our suitcases. The hotel does not have Parking. Only one person in the reception are that clearly was overwhelmed. Other hotels that I have been staying have good COVID 19 protocols while giving a great service. This hotel uses the COVID 19 emergency to give poor service.

Date of stay: September 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Ccanalesu
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Passenger47573885865, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Carlton, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2021
Google Translation

Estimado cliente, queremos agradecerle su estancia en el hotel Carlton. Lamentamos profundamente que nuestro alojamiento no haya cumplido con sus expectativas. El hotel dispone de parking, pero nuestro número de plazas es limitado, y está sujeto a disponibilidad. Nuestro edificio está catalogado como edificio histórico y artístico y no podemos ampliar el espacio. Existen otros parking muy cerca, y disponemos de plazas en otro de nuestros hoteles, que está a 5 minutos. Confiamos en volver a verle pronto y pueda disfrutar de un alojamiento pleno. Reciba un cordial saludo.

Yolanda DH
Directora RRPP Aránzazu Hoteles

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2021 via mobile

5 stars, didn’t feel welcome, had to go to the room alone with all the suitcases. Bar is closed because of COVID, outside there are bars open so tell me why? Mini bar is empty. Parking is full so this was not a good stay. I wouldn’t recommend this hotel. Beautiful building, nice room but that’s all unfortunately.
It’s good to be careful ( COVID) but this is too much. It’s never going away in our life’s so deal with it.

Room tip: Don’t go here
Date of stay: August 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank quicklyCharly
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YOLANDA D H, Marketing at Hotel Carlton, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2021
Google Translation

Estimado cliente, queremos agradecerle su estancia en el hotel Carlton y sus comentarios, que nos ayudan a mejorar cada día. Lamentablemente tenemos servicios cerrados por " La Covid," para que nuestros clientes se sientan más protegidos con respecto a la pandemia, lamentamos que usted, no lo haya percibido de esta manera. Confiamos en volver a verle pronto. Reciba un cordial saludo.

Yolanda DH
Aránzazu Hoteles PR Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews