We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (651)
Filter reviews
651 results
Traveller rating
239
246
106
32
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
239
246
106
32
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wide corridors spectacular scenery walls are thin restaurant menu one night room rate hear everything tapas monastery grottos striking spain convenience furniture
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 651 reviews
Reviewed 9 May 2018 via mobile

At first I had my reservation about this place; how far it is from civilization, parking area was messy, hotel front desk area, a long walk from parking, BUT once inside.... astonishing. Supper clean, beautifully decorated with antiques, quiet and spacious. We also got an excellent discount to enter the park. Once in the room, everything in it place.

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank AlexF939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017

The hotel, build in the old monastery is breathtakingly beautiful, and definitely worthy of your stay. Unfortunately, this cannot be said of the rooms. We asked for a quiet room with a double bed, but received notification that only rooms with 2 single beds were available. Ok. Upon arrival we received a room at the end of the hall, and thought great, that will be a quiet room. Unfortunately, it wasn't and I've been told that all rooms aren't, because the walls are thin, and the monastery was not build for acoustic convenience. True, in the halls sings are posted "please be quiet" but unfortunately, not all guests respect that. Add to that that you can hear everything in the rooms beside and above you, and one can only hope that your night sleep isn't too important for you.

Date of stay: October 2017
1  Thank ChrisDH65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2017

Stayed here for one night whilst touring around northern Spain. Fabulous setting next to the country park - admission included with the room rate. We spent a couple of hours following the trails and discovering waterfalls, caves, woodland and spectacular scenery - it really was the highlight of our stay here and such a bonus as it was free!
The hotel itself was quite striking inside with wide corridors and decorative staircases. There was a lovely lounge area where you could have a drink before dining. We had a good sized room with a balcony overlooking the park. Furniture and bedding was quite basic but adequate for one night.
We ate dinner in the restaurant and the meal was good - but not memorable. Staff were very friendly but service was a little haphazard possibly due to being busy.
Overall as a package with the park entrance it was excellent value for money.

Room tip: Allow a couple of hours to walk around the park, it is well worth it!
Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SusieStaffordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2017

A beautiful old monastery, converted to a hotel. Magnificent wide corridors and staircases, decorative lounges. Our double room was comfortable, with a/c and a lovely balcony overlooking the grounds. The room was rather small but adequate, though lacking a chair and table mirror. Spotlessly clean bathroom.
A small part of the original monastery building is an interesting ruin and garden.
The other striking attraction of the hotel is the park which featured waterfalls, caves, tunnels, ponds, woodland and spectacular scenery - wow! This is open to the public and obviously quite popular with school groups and families; but it quietens down in mid to late afternoon and makes a wonderful adventure for a couple of hours - and residents have free access....

The disappointing part of the visit was the food. The restaurant menu sounded interesting but the reality was poor - overcooked lamb and beef, soggy vegetables and tasteless salad. Sadly the waiting staff were as uninspired as the chefs with barely a smile or a word to communicate with our table.
Breakfast buffet was good as you would expect but hot food was limited to overcooked scrambled eggs and bacon.
The outdoor cafe served tapas but closed around 6pm so no chance of a cool drink and snack when we finished our visit to the park at 5.45pm. We were directed to the lounge downstairs in the main hotel where we settled for a pizza between us - a poor decision.

Fine setting, wonderful building, great surrounds but let down by the catering.

Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank corriefister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2017

We stayed here overnight for a friend's wedding - the location in a natural reserve is stunning, the views breathtaking! The staff are friendly, the rooms are comfortable and the food is outstanding - the added bonus is that entrance to the park is included in the room rate: the beautifully maintained park is a great way to spend a few hours hiking along and admiring the waterfalls - very much worth the visit.

Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lukas P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews