We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (607)
Filter reviews
607 results
Traveller rating
329
202
58
11
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
329
202
58
11
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews shopping centre star hotel great hotel spa pool fantastic rain shower stayed here for a week old town tram stop modern hotel great room reception staff underground parking irina bedroom cafe city comfort
Filter
Updating list...
42 - 47 of 607 reviews
Reviewed 16 August 2015

The downside is Zaragosa's weird road layout - which confused the Sat-Nav no end! However, once you have overcome that problem you arrive at the hotel from door and find that the car park entrance is NOT the one you would suspect, the one next to the hotel entrance. So - if you're driving, go to reception before trying to park, they will give you specific, easy to follow instructions or even park the car for you.

The upside is that the hotel is an excellent place to stay over in this large bustling city.

The people on reception, which is wonderfully cool, speak excellent English (a boon because my Spanish rudimentary just now) and are as helpful as can be. The room we had was on the 7th floor, which is serviced by three lifts, so not much waiting to go up and down. The room was immaculately clean, the bed comfortable and the internet worked well. So all was well.

The breakfast buffet is one of the biggest we've ever seen, with a large range of produce - there's even wine for you to have with your boiled egg should you wish! However, the coffee was a disappointment; quite bitter.

The nearby tram-line can take you into the city for very few €s - just ask at reception.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2015

The hotel is truly 5 star, spotless clean ultra modern layout of rooms. Large rooms with plenty of bag and storage space even after coming off a 22 day cruise with both formal and casual clothing.

The hotel is integral with up market shopping and restaurants next door.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank dave w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palafox-Hoteles, Dirección hotel at Hotel Reina Petronila, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2015

Dear guest,
Thank you for your great opinion
Best regards

Elena Auría
Dpto. Operaciones
Palafox Hoteles

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2015 via mobile

Whilst on the surface the Reina Petronila looks like a posh hotel, and I will take you through the positives first, there are some critical details and services that fall way short of 5 star standards.

To start with the good - clean rooms with the full list of expected items - towels, robes and lots of nice products to use. The room itself was nice with a glass bath and shower room and central bathroom design. The minibar wasn't too expensive and was fairly well stocked (missing chocolate bar or something according to my husband!). And the bed - super comfortable.

Unfortunately that's where the good stuff ends as far as I'm concerned if we're talking about 5 star. To start with the room - the towels and robes were very stiff and scrubby, the supplied hairdryer was a horrible cheap travel one where you burn your hair before you dry it. The TV was absolutely awful. Terrible picture, a remote that was intermittent at best and the worst picture quality. Also, I think this might have been part of the design, but the floor in the shower wasn't fixed which made for a rather wobbly shower which was unnerving.

Part of the 'luxury' experience is provided in their top floor spa. It has a lovely pool and jacuzzi, but the actual spa is essentially a greenhouse and utterly unusable in anything over 20 degrees! And there weren't any towels available either. Odd.

Also, as part of your visit you get a complimentary glass of wine in their 'restaurant'. I say it like this as it looks more like a local ice cream parlour in design - really rather tacky. And unsurprisingly the free wine was revolting. You just can't do this on a 5 star experience! Needless to say we didn't decide to stay and instead headed back to our room preferring comfort, a mini bar and room service.

And here comes my final nail in the coffin in terms of coming well short of 5 stars... Room service is exactly the same menu as the restaurant so we thought we were in for a treat. Not so. The food was bland, cheap and cold. And trying to order in the first place was an utter nightmare.

So all in all, if you need somewhere to sleep in Zaragoza then this is your spot. If you want luxury, however, and indeed value foroney, run. Run a mile and use Airbnb!

Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Pricetta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palafox-Hoteles, Dirección hotel at Hotel Reina Petronila, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2015

Dear guest,
We regret that you couldn´t find attractive our restaurant, which was designed by Rafael Moneo who was “Premio Principe de Asturias” in 2012.
All our clients can taste a complimentary cup of wine Borsao tinto Selección during their stay, in Cafe de la Reina.This wine is, "possibly the single greatest dry red wine value in the world", according to Robert Parker.
Room Service is the same menu as the restaurant because our clients love it .
Thank you for your opinion. Regards,

Elena Auría
Dpto. Operaciones
Palafox Hoteles

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2015

We liked the good-sized room in restful grey tones and nice wooden floor. There was an adequate desk area, two easy chairs and a little coffee table. Plenty of mirrors. A useful drop-down shelf for luggage. Very good bedside table with lighting underneath - only on one side of the bed though, I had to make do with a little cube on my side. Very comfortable bed with excellent bedding. It was quiet and we had two good nights' sleep. Very stylish bathroom (but see below) with separate toilet, two washbasins and sweet-smelling toiletries.

We didn't like...

The faint smell of sewage around the front door and the bar area on both days.

The separate shower alongside the bath which had large, loose floor tiles that lifted up for cleaning. These were wobbly to stand on and very, I would say dangerously, slippery when wet. No safety rail.

The lack of lighting, fairly dark.

Little things like only one glass in the bathroom, a pen that didn't work, bathrobes but no slippers - could have been rectified perhaps if we had asked but this is a 5 star!

Air conditioning which turned off each morning at 8.30 making the room uncomfortably hot. On the first morning, reception said there was nothing wrong and half an hour later it was working again. On the second morning, two engineers were sent along to repair it.

It is quite off-putting to walk into a breakfast room and see tables littered with dirty dishes. We could see the sole staff member was working hard but, in our view, needed some help. There was not much food on display and we had to ask for fruit, orange juice etc.

Check out staff who didn't ask us about our stay and didn't even wish us 'Buen Viaje'.

A disappointing and expensive 5 star experience, we have stayed in better 4 star hotels in Zaragoza for half the price we paid here.

Stayed: May 2015, travelled with family
2  Thank MillyMollyMandy01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palafox-Hoteles, Dirección hotel at Hotel Reina Petronila, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2015

Dear guest,

Thank you for your opinion and we regret the inconveniences caused during your stay.
Regards,

Elena Auría
Dpto. Operaciones
Palafox Hoteles

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2015 via mobile

Initially we got the tipycal welcome "please tell your kid to don' t skate in the lobby because the marble is really expensive..." Not the best welcome greetings, but after that i have to say that location is really good for a peaceful weekend. The rooms are quite big, noiseless and SPA is awesome with a convenient panoramic view.

Staff is a little unexperienced if you compare ir with Alfonso, very much familiar and customer oriented.

Definitely inqould recommend this hotel as one of the best in Aragon.

Manu

Stayed: May 2015, travelled with family
1  Thank Manuel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palafox-Hoteles, Dirección hotel at Hotel Reina Petronila, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2015
Google Translation

Thank you for your opinión.
Regards,

Elena Auría
Dpto. Operaciones
Palafox Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews