We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (307)
Filter reviews
307 results
Traveller rating
203
86
13
4
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
203
86
13
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews washing machine around the corner el pilar building site next door the tourist information centre free wifi sized fridge apartment building fully equipped kitchen noisy at night top floor great apartment fantastic value dining table roman wall location is excellent building work
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 307 reviews
Reviewed 6 October 2018 via mobile

I stayed in a Don Jaim apartment a block away from the main Sabinas apartments. The marble clad entrance hall is very smart with a lift up to all floors. The apartment itself was very clean and well equipped - these are halfway between a hotel and a holiday let. It was nicely if basically furnished (think Ikea) and I was very pleased with it.

Keys are collected from friendly and helpful staff at Hotel Sauce which is 2 minutes away. I ate a good breakfast here (quite reasonable at 9 euros) - coffee/tea, juice, cold meats, cheese, pastries and the speciality toast and delicious award winning homemade jams that are available to buy in the hotel shop.

The only negative is that the street outside is full of bars and gets very very noisy with shouting revellers through to the early hours. It did not disturb me too much but it would if you are a light sleeper.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled solo
1  Thank KZeppo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelsauce, Owner at Apartamentos Sabinas El Pilar, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2018

Dear guest,

Thank you for your feedback and sharing your opinion with other travelers!

We need to inform other travelers that may be reading these lines that we run Hotel Sauce and different blocks of apartments in Zaragoza.

You review refers to APARTAMENTOS SABINAS DON JAIME, but this section in TripAdvisor belongs to reviews about APARTAMENTOS SABINAS EL PILAR. So you made mistake when publishing your comments.

APARTAMENTOS SABINAS EL PILAR is super quiet. We have changed all the windows of the building and now they are all double glaze windows.

And in APARTAMENTOS SABINAS DON JAIME is also calm, but not double glaze. You stayed with us the day that the Festivals of the city started. We are located just in the heart of the historical part of the city so sometimes we cannot avoid the noise coming from the street specially when the city is celebrating the festivals and is fiesta time in the streets. We feel sorry for the inconvenience that the noise from the street may have caused you.

Thank you for the positive comments that encourage us to keep working hard and with passion in our daily life. We are grateful for your collaboration, and thank you for recommending APARTAMENTOS SABINAS DON JAIME (not APARTAMENTOS SABINAS EL PILAR) to other travellers. .

Best regards from all the Sauce and Sabinas Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2017

The apartment appears to be recently renovated. Everything is fresh, new and clean. The location is excellent. Just a couple minutes walk and you are in the centre of the Basilica and the hub of activities. The staff are very pleasant and helpful. Highly recommended.

Room tip: the room with a view of the Basillica
Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Paula P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2017 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay in Sabinas El Pilar which is truly in the heart of lovely Zaragoza. You are reminded of this every time you look out the window as there is a stunning view of the Cathedral which we never stopped being wowed by. The apartment is also really comfortable and attractively furnished and decorated. It has a full sized fridge and a washing machine. The windows are also of great quality and there are mechanised shutters which manages the light and noise that you would expect to get from being in such a central location. We had a car when we stayed which you could park outside the Hotel Sauce (where you check-in) for luggage unloading, then they helped us park it in their garage. (You will need help as it is very tight!) The parking lot is very close to the apartment and parking costs €15/day. The same very helpful woman then walked us around the corner to the apartment; the whole check-in procedure was very smooth.

In so many ways this is a 5 star experience but two issues made us rate it 4 instead. There is a building site next door to the apartment and while we were there it went into overdrive - pavement was being jackhammered, the building was being clad, railings were being attached and the lane way that provides access to the hotel was closed. It did not disturb our sleep as it got light quite late while we were there but breakfast every morning was accompanied by this bone rattling noise. This is not the hotel’s fault but we were there for 5 nights and it might have been nice if at some stage they had just asked if everything was okay and been a bit apologetic. Hopefully by next summer the building will be finished and people can enjoy a more peaceful stay. Our other issue was that the apartment was randomly provisioned; there were basic things ‘missing’ such as a toaster, wine glasses and detergent for the clothes washer. Also absolutely no basic foodstuffs were provided and I think that oil & vinegar, salt & pepper and sugar should be provided in holiday apartments - so many of our apartments have left so much more but this is something we appreciate rather than expect. The policy of the hotel is ‘ask for it’, but while this sounds good and reasonable it doesn’t work for the guest. For example, I didn’t realise a toaster was not there until I went to make toast for breakfast and I did not think that if I ‘asked for it’ one would be immediately produced so I could make my toast. A guest does not know something is not there until they go to get it and this guest did not want to be constantly at Hotel Sauce asking for things that should be there and that on most occasions I needed now not later.

Zaragoza is a wonderful town and the apartment is very reasonably priced for its location. When the building site next door no longer exists this is accommodation that I could recommend without hesitation.

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank mini_d51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2017

Perhaps I shouldn't write this review as management may decide to increase their prices but my wife and I paid £90 for 2 nights in one of their 'deluxe' rooms and it was brilliant!

We were checked in with a very friendly guy from the nearby 'sauce' hotel where you pickup your key since there's no onsite staff here. We found the main living area to be a decent size with nice furnishings and a fantastic view of the basilica just across the plaza from the hotel. Bathroom was spacious - shower was as hot as you could want with great pressure. The AC was also excellent. Despite being early October, it was 30C so it was great to enjoy a day out but return to a well air conditioned apartment to relax in after walking the charming streets of Zaragossa. There was also a handy fridge. I should add that currently, there is construction work going on next to the hotel
(a new office/apartment block being built) but it didn't bother us too much.

A really excellent place which I can only but recommend. I must also highlight Zaragossa which really is a beautiful city with plenty to do with many fantastic (tapa) bars and restaurants. Fantastic value-for-money apartment!

Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank duckvader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2017

We had a top floor apartment which had plenty of windows and fabulous views of the basilica. The apartment itself was spacious and comfortable with a separate fully equipped kitchen and washing machine. We had a dining table and two sofas to relax on.
The location is central to all the major tourist sites.
There are no staff on site but the reception desk around the corner at the Hotel Sauce is available 24 hours by means of intercoms located in the apartment building.
The wi-fi service was unacceptably slow at times and the hot water wasn’t hot enough (there was plenty available but the temperature was set too low). Toiletries were poor quality and not replaced daily.
Noise from the building site next door was a major issue, every morning between 7 and 7:30 building work would start and wake us up. If you want to sleep-in then this is definitely not the place for you. The basilica and plaza below were also noisy later in the day but this wasn't an issue for us.

Room tip: Check status of building works first
Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rob091
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews