We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect flamenco experience”
Review of Casa de la Memoria

Casa de la Memoria
Book In Advance
More Info
US$21.54*
and up
Flamenco Show at Casa de la Memoria Admission...
Ranked #6 of 43 Concerts & Shows in Seville
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Elegant and classy. Alcohol-free. Room for a maximum of 80 spectators sitting in two rows of chairs circling a small stage in a cute small theater-courtyard. Limited room. Better make reservations in advance. All acoustic (no microphones). Performances everyday at 19,30 and 21,00h for one hour with singing, dancing and playing guitar. First class flamenco performers, different everyday. No children under 6.
Reviewed 6 April 2018

Go here! Book in advance, it's very popular and rightly so - they speak perfect English so we were able to book with a card by phone. If you want front row seats, arrive 45mins early, but we turned up 20 mins in advance, had raised seats to the side and still had an amazing view. We avoided the larger flamenco tablaos with dinner etc, aimed at tourists, as we felt flamenco, by its very nature needed to be experienced in a smaller, more intimate setting. This was perfect! A small and simple room, seating laid out perfectly, just 2, max. 3 rows deep, so that everyone had a great view of the performers - no amps needed for the music, singing, clapping, stamping. Authentic and passionate performance from talented musicians and dancers - my husband is a musician himself and was blown away by the guitarist and the intricate rhythmic clapping and stamping, while I loved the dancing. The show at 1 hr is the perfect length - good for children. Our ears were ringing when we left but our smiles were huge!

Thank EstherPoole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,689)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"male dancer"
in 58 reviews
"flamenco show"
in 115 reviews
"front row"
in 51 reviews
"traditional flamenco"
in 41 reviews
"intimate setting"
in 34 reviews
"guitar player"
in 38 reviews
"guitar solo"
in 15 reviews
"second row"
in 13 reviews
"small room"
in 14 reviews
"bought tickets"
in 14 reviews
"great performance"
in 14 reviews
"art form"
in 12 reviews
"singing and dancing"
in 11 reviews
"amazing flamenco"
in 10 reviews
"take photos"
in 15 reviews
"book in advance"
in 14 reviews
"tapas"
in 18 reviews
Filter

7 - 11 of 1,689 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

We attended a flamenco show at casa de la memoria. It was magnificent! The dancers' passion and elegance was superb. Thoroughly recommended. Arrive at least 45 minutes early to get a front seat.

Thank Travelscot1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

We spent the first 3 days of our honeymoon in Seville and most of that time was spent at Casa de la Memoria. We saw two amazing shows of the highest quality. The dancers, singers, and guitarists were so talented and so passionate. It was hard to sit still. I wanted to jump up and applaud at each pause. At the end of the performance last night, they were so sweet and actually dedicated their final piece to us.

This morning I took my first flamenco lesson there with the tiniest, most adorable teacher, Lole. Watching flamenco and dancing flamenco are two entirely different things, but this week has ignited a fire within me. I bought the shoes, the skirt, now to find a teacher!!!

Gracias!!!

1  Thank Lori B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2018

What an eyecatching experience and an evening well spent! They say, if you go to Spain, be sure to experience the flamenco dance. And what better place to see it than at Casa de la Memoria in the beautiful city of Seville! It's an experience one never forgets. Aza!

Thank NJain101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 28 March 2018 via mobile

For the sake of selling tickets, they made us seat at the stairs which has very restricted views. After finding out about the horrible position of the seats, we asked if we could refund the ticket, the ticket counter replied rudely. Huge turn off.

Thank Gong Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casa de la Memo... C, Director Comercial at Casa de la Memoria, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Dear Gong Y,

We feel very sorry for your disappointment and we are very overwhelmed to see this review bearing in mind that the show was sold out and we did our best to offer you the possibility to enjoy our performance although you got mistaken and reserved for another date. Even if you asked for the refund, we thought that offering you that opportunity will be much more worthy and valued than leaving without seeing the show. We always remind our visitors that our seats are not numbered and that we recommend coming in advance so you can choose the seats freely. Either way, our theatre is intimate and small so our visitors can enjoy an intimate flamenco experience. Not like in other places where you need to pay an excessive amount of money to barely see the show behind the heads. Being the Cultural Centre of Flamenco, our theatre only has two rows of seats and we do not offer food or drink service so our visitors can enjoy this experience without being disturbed by the noise of forks and glasses. Most importantly, we make our visitors feel comfortable and valued because every seat has a good view.

We offered you the possibility to see the show from the stairs because even we, members of the staff, sometimes see the show from there as the stage is barely 2m away.

So once again, we apologize for making you feel deceived. We reiterate that we did, as we always do to make our visitors happy, our best. And besides, you made a mistake with the dates and we tried hard in offering an option to watch our show. We feel very sorry that although we gave you a solution, you preferred to write a negative review during our show (as your review was posted in the middle of it), instead of enjoying and valuing our effort. Please, remember that we recommended to sit on the stairs one behind the other and you chose to sit two on one step blocking the way for one another.

We will still work hard to offer the best flamenco show in Seville, as we have been doing since 1998.

Thank you very much for your review.

Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Casa de la Memoria also viewed

Seville, Province of Seville
Seville, Province of Seville
 
Seville, Province of Seville
Seville, Province of Seville
 

Been to Casa de la Memoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing