We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not great service”
Review of El Cordobes

El Cordobes
Ranked #1,314 of 3,127 Restaurants in Seville
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Casco Antiguo
Description: El Cordobés Restaurant is a Andalusian gastronomic restaurant with a patio and natural lighting that serves as an ideal setting to enjoy flavors of the land. This traditional sevillana kitchen has specials such as: oxtail, paella, and fried fish. The delicious food will make you want to stay and spend time enjoying the flavors and atmosphere. With such a great menu it will make you want to pause and stay. A restaurant filled with enchantment perfect for visiting friends and family with the spirit of Andalucía represented in its entirety. El Cordobés Restaurant has an interior with traditional decorations which creates an special intangible atmosphere full of nostalgia.
Reviewed 11 July 2018

we had white bait which was ordinary to say the least, and the swordfish which was pretty tasty, bread, 2 cokes and 2 espresso for 27 euro, not too bad i thought.
The service was not great, it appeared they just wanted us to eat up and move along, they were not very friendly at all.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Neil F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juan Domingo S, Propietario at El Cordobes, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2018
Google Translation

Buenas tardes.
Gracias por su opinión y lamentamos el incidente que estamos seguros de que sería fruto del estrés del momento, en cualquier caso le pedimos disculpas y le animamos a volver para que pueda comprobar de primera mano que fue un caso aislado.
Un saludo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (217)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 217 reviews

Reviewed 5 July 2018

This was our go-to place as we were staying in Las Casas de la Juderia across the road. We loved it, the staff were great; we watched all the World Cup matches here - sorry "E-Span-ia" ! The food was delicious and tasty and Tony was very impressed by the bull's tail stew...I loved the paella and potato brava...the drinks were great too - brought the bottles out each time when serving us. Great local atmosphere here. We wish the owners the best of luck and thank you for a home from home on our recent trip - from the 50th birthday girl!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DublinAoife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juan Domingo S, Propietario at El Cordobes, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2018
Google Translation

Buenas tardes.
En primer lugar queremos darte las gracias por tomarte tu tiempo en contar tu experiencia en nuestro restaurante, nos alegramos enormemente de que haya sido tan satisfactoria y te invitamos a volver siempre que quieras. Con el objetivo de mejorar continuamente, ¿podrías decirnos qué podemos hacer para conseguir las 5 estrellas?
Esperamos verte pronto.
Un abrazo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2018

I don't know what to rate this restaurant, because we went twice, and had two contrasting experiences. The first time was lovely. The gazpacho was good, and the fish we had for mains was also very tasty. I had to return one dish as I didn't know it contained seafood, which I can't eat, and they didn't charge me which I thought was nice. That said, we returned on another night, had very similar food, and it was much worse. The gazpacho was still good, but the fish was not as fresh, it was more rubbery and chewy and the vegetables seemed to be pre-prepared from much earlier on in the day. I'll give it a 4/5 as the first night was enjoyable, but be prepared for a possibly poor meal.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jmdwek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juan Domingo S, Propietario at El Cordobes, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2018
Google Translation

Buenas tardes, gracias por tomarte tu tiempo para dejar tu opinión sobre nuestro restaurante. Nos alegramos mucho que tuvieras una experiencia tan agradable en tu primera visita a nuestro establecimiento, valoramos muco tus cuatro estrellas y es muy importante para nosotros. Por otro lado, sentimos que tu segunda noche no fuera tan satisfactoria como la primera pero como bien sabrás, la cocina es un arte y hay días de mayor inspiración, aun así, tenemos una cocinera fantástica que siempre está a la altura. Esperamos que vuelvas pronto y puedas comprobarlo por ti mismo.
Un saludo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2018 via mobile

Very disappointing meal.we should have known when it was nearly empty (but it was early..8pm) mushroom starter was very basic and undercooked but the steaks were even worse. Served with tinned veg and plain boiled potatoes...doesnt even go with steak! The staff were pleasant but didn't seem to speak much eEnglish but with the help of google we got across that we weren't happy to pay for the steaks.
As we are only here for 3 days it's disappointing that we have missed out on a good experience elsewhere.

Thank Jacqui020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juan Domingo S, Propietario at El Cordobes, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2018
Google Translation

Buenas tardes. Ante todo lamentamos que no tuviera la experiencia deseada en su visita a nuestro establecimiento y si alguna vez vuelve a visitar Sevilla, estaremos encantados de recibirles de nuevo para demostrarles que su disconformidad fue debida a un momento puntual.
Un saludo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2018 via mobile

If there were zero stars I would award that, we should have known when we walked into the restaurant and it was empty, food was absolutely awful!!!!!! Raw mushrooms for starters followed by tinned vegetables and tinned potatoes and an inedible steak. Seriously pricey for what you get, we left the lot. If this was the only restaurant on earth I would choose to starve, not happy and very hungry

2  Thank Edward15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juan Domingo S, Propietario at El Cordobes, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2018
Google Translation

Buenas tardes Edward.
Lamentamos que su visita no fuera satisfactoria, pero debemos decir que nuestras cocineras son profesionales con años de experiencia demostrable, sin embargo, todos somos humanos y alguna vez surgen cosas que no nos permiten dar todo lo que tenemos. Por ello, si alguna vez vuelve a visitarnos, estaremos encantados de demostrarle que todo esto que comenta no fue más que un desafortunado incidente aislado.
Un saludo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Cordobes also viewed

Seville, Province of Seville
Seville, Province of Seville
 
Seville, Province of Seville
Seville, Province of Seville
 
Seville, Province of Seville
Seville, Province of Seville
 

Been to El Cordobes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing