We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Central for sightseeing” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Funky Granada

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Funky Granada
Ranked #71 of 136 Speciality Lodging in Granada
Tours, France
Level Contributor
187 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Central for sightseeing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2012

I stayed here in a twin room with private bathroom and kitchen a couple of years ago when I arrived in Granada on an Erasmus Trip. Price compared to some other prices I´ve stayed in was fair considering the facilities in the room, although the kitchen had no equipment (plates, pans, cutlery) so unless bringing your own stuff it's pretty useless. Staff was helpful and recommended a free tour which was brilliant. Strange layout for a hostel though kitchen was downstairs and common room a few floors up, which kind of made it hard to interact and meet people. Was clean and in a great location close to the cathedral, albaycin and also the center for bars and restaurants.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mel1637
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    18
    8
    3
    8
See reviews for
Families
0
11
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
melbourne
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2012

we stayed here a few years ago, but i thought it deserved a review as we had such a great time there. we started off in a private room that had a bunk bed (not ideal for a couple) but it was only for two nights and then we could move into a self contained apartment with another couple just across the street.

it's not the rooms that makes this place special, it's the people and the rooftop.
we spent hours on the rooftop organising holiday plans, socialising, drinking and eating paella. they did a big cook up each night and i think you could pay about 5euros to get a bowl. only downside is at night they open a bar up there and you can't drink your own alcohol.

terrific location, we had a car on our trip but we found a car park and left it there for a week as we didnt need to drive anywhere.

highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank emmakate01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Binghamton, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2011

The location of this hostel was excellent and the staff although slow at times was very helpful. The rooms are extremely cold, as the hostel is mainly outdoors, I slept in a hat and mittens and still was unable to fall asleep. The walls are so thin you can hear every conversation around you as well as from the streets below. The showers and sinks did not have hot water during my entire stay. I was disgusted to wake up and go to breakfast in the morning in a dingy basement, where the plates, and silverware were filthy. I would not recommend staying at this hostel, and found that it really put a damper on my visit to Granada.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2011

The staff was accommodating and helped us out with any questions. We were provided with our own room, which was great, and the hostel also held some events while we were there. Location was dead in the city centre, 5 minute walk from the cathedral.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JustinYee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2011

Well priced, city centre, nice place to eat breakfast on the rooftop. Great place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank YorkshireMatt_17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
Puerta de Las Granadas
#14 of 125 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 902 reviews
Centro - Sagrario
Alhambra Zoom
Alhambra Zoom
#67 of 136 in Granada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Abadia Hotel Granada
#61 of 125 in Granada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Albaicín
White Nest Hostel Granada
White Nest Hostel Granada
#10 of 136 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
Centro - Sagrario
El Granado
El Granado
#2 of 96 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 606 reviews
Camino de Ronda
Sercotel Gran Hotel Luna de Granada
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Funky Granada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Funky Granada

Property: Funky Granada
Address: Calle Conde de las Infantas, 15 - 17, Granada, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada > Centro - Sagrario
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 136 Speciality Lodging in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Number of rooms: 16
Also Known As:
Funky Backpackers Hostel (Hostal Funky) Hotel Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing