We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disastrous organisation”
Review of The Alhambra

The Alhambra
Book In Advance
More Info
US$51.25*
and up
Alhambra Ticket with Audio Guide including Nasrid...
Ranked #1 of 186 things to do in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: The second most visited site in Europe: this breathtaking palace-city is a sophisticated blend of medieval Islamic, Renaissance Christian and modern architectural styles..
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

The palace is of course 5 star, however, the organisation around tickets, what they are for & how you enter the grounds/palace are woefully lacking. If you persevere, you can get sensible priced tickets via the web ie €15 without having to commit to a tour (a familiar trick to up sell the price). Signage is also tremendously poor. We bought our tickets online & didn’t understand where to go. We asked at our hotel, a local tourist guide( who we had paid for a different tour) + 2 other officials at the palace before we got the actual answer! If you have timed tickets, allow plenty of time to sort this out!

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank 893jasons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (37,052)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"in advance"
in 1,904 reviews
"nasrid palaces"
in 630 reviews
"credit card"
in 341 reviews
"guided tour"
in 916 reviews
"buy your tickets"
in 253 reviews
"time slot"
in 354 reviews
"ticket office"
in 333 reviews
"main entrance"
in 293 reviews
"on line"
in 361 reviews
"bucket list"
in 229 reviews
"moorish architecture"
in 261 reviews
"pre book"
in 148 reviews
"palacios nazaries"
in 151 reviews
"take your time"
in 229 reviews
"wear comfortable shoes"
in 184 reviews
"carlos v"
in 187 reviews
"southern spain"
in 145 reviews
Filter

1,513 - 1,517 of 37,054 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

We went to the Nasrid palace, Generalife, and Alcazaba. Those seem like the core must see places for any visit. Doing a guided tour was nice as we could go right in and they took care of the timing for the Nasrid palace. Our tour provider was granavision and they were just ok. I would suggest trying another.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank StrembrulieC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018

My husband and I have been entranced by the Alhambra for many years. It wasn't until we started to plan our trip to Spain that we really understood the Alhambra Complex - Nasrid Palace, Carlos V, Alcazaba and Generalife. Words cannot describe the beauty and majesty of the place. We did a nighttime visit to the Nasrid Palace, and then daytime visits to Nasrid Palace, Charles V, Alcazaba and Generalife. You may have to get creative to find tickets (even further than 30 days in advance). Check the Doble de Oro and Granada Card options if it looks like tickets are sold out. Much of the area and the Carlos V Palace is free. The museum inside Carlos V, and the special exhibits are quite nice and the acoustics from the center of Carlos V are perfect. Would highly recommend that if you have time, spend more than a few hours to explore - there is much to see and its easy to miss if you are in a hurry. We did not use a guide, but had no problem figuring out where we were nor did we have to hurry along. Once you are in the ticketed areas you can stay as long as you want, but make sure you are in line for your time window. We stayed just down the hill from the complex, but it is quite a hill. Save your legs for exploring and take a taxi or the bus up/down the hill. I am sure we will return.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank PLMcDowell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018

The tour was slightly rushed as the place was very busy and the tour guide kept us moving along. The ear phones to hear the guide were not always very receptive especially when in the vicinity of another tour guide. The site is very impressive and worth a visit, but it would be nice to wander about in your own time.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 5 April 2018

Wasn't really expecting the visual over-load and quite the magnificence of the geometric carving and Islamic design. Absolutely breath-taking. You go to somewhere like the Taj Mahal where you expect this brilliance and you get it in a controlled dose. At Alhambra it keeps on coming' it's an assault on the senses. The Plaza de Nazaríes is one of the most amazing places I've been to. Unexpected in it's awe and wonder.

Anyway, of the practicalities... Book online, and if you get a random error message about exceeding the number of visits, it's probably because you've written "passport" in the "ID" field rather than your passport number. Do that and it's all good :)

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank meanderingmango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Alhambra also viewed

Granada, Province of Granada
Granada, Province of Granada
 
Granada, Province of Granada
Granada, Province of Granada
 

Been to The Alhambra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing