We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (431)
Filter reviews
431 results
Traveller rating
223
143
49
13
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
223
143
49
13
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews main road family run hotel montemar alto boiled eggs stayed room only lovely hotel bus stop air con road noise small hotel la carihuela small pool minute walk triple room large balcony bars and restaurants dressing table
Filter
Updating list...
76 - 81 of 431 reviews
Reviewed 9 October 2017

We stayed in this lovely hotel for 9 days and would wholeheartedly recommend it to anyone. It is a short walk to the beach where sunbeds and umbrellas can be rented for 4 or 5 euros per day. The pool and gardens are also delightful, and the breakfast was wonderful. We particularly enjoyed the coffee machine which served cafe con leche, cappuccino or chocolate among other offerings. The staff was universally friendly and helpful - they gave us directions to the laundromat and grocery store both of which are only a short walk away.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cangran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2017

We stayed here for a week at the beginning of October. The hotel is on the main road from Torremolinos to Benalmedina and although we got a transfer, other members of our group got the train from the airport and walked the twenty minutes from the station. The hotel is also ten minutes walk from the beach and twenty minutes walk from the marina, so it's very central, an excellent location.

We were on the second floor and had a room facing towards Benalmedina so we got the evening sun. We had no problems with any noise and in fact found the hotel very quiet. Also, the rooms on the second floor look like they have been updated and are newer than those on the third floor.

Our room was really nice, it was basic, but had two single beds which were quite hard but not overly so. The room had a wardrobe with hangers, a dressing table and a fridge. The bathroom was clean and modern with a shower cubicle.

Breakfast was served from 8.00am each morning and was quite basic but there was enough to satisfy us for a week. There was omelette, fried eggs, bacon, fruit, yoghurt, cereal and ham and cheese. There was also sliced bread and a toasting machine. Tea and coffee was via a machine and was very good. We didn't ask but boiled eggs would have been a nice addition. There weren't many tables in the breakfast room, but we had no problem getting a table even though the hotel was full whilst we were there.

The hotel has very nice gardens that are quite relaxing and well looked after. The pool is a the back of the hotel and doesn't seem to get much sun so we didn't use it at all deciding to head to the beach.

The staff were very friendly, always saying hello. There is also a 24hr bar and they did their best to make anything the guests wanted.

Whilst it is a basic hotel, for the money we paid I thought the hotel was excellent value. Given its proximity to Torremolinos and Benalmedina, but being in a quieter area, and the excellent rooms I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank mirfie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2017

Just a short 4 day visit to Spain, this hotel the Carmen Teresa gave great value for such a short stay. Located on the main road between Terremolinos and Benemadna about 3 miles outside Torremolinos, taxi ride from airport about 20 Euro. great value breakfast 5 Euro, and a vast selection of hot and cold food, my room and balcony all great, but top tip get a room at back of hotel less traffic noise, its the guys on their high powered motorcycles who late at night, give their very fast motorbikes the beans, on this long straight stretch of road, the only place I had seen motorcycles travelling this fast before was at the Isle of Mann T.T. races, another top tip a bottle of house red at the hotel bar only 4 Euro, my final thought , a great hotel that gives great value. Derek a true Dub.

Room Tip: a room at the back.
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Derek K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017

I stayed here for 3 nights after doing a little research into the area for accommodation. The hotel is in a really great location, 5 minutes walk down the road is the seafront - La Carihuela with plenty of Authentic bars and restaurants as well as some small supermarkets, you can also walk along the promenade into Benalmadena.
There is a bus stop by the hotel, which is only 1.50 Euros into Torremolinos, just a couple of stops.
The reception was manned 24/7 which was great as we arrived early, the room was simple, but had a little balcony with seating, a kettle, Air Con and they didn't look it but the beds were really comfy, Most importantly absolutely spotlessly clean. A really simple functional room but everything you needed. We used the bar downstairs a couple of times and you could take your drinks back to your room, there was a pool also and the staff were friendly and helpful. Will definitely be coming back!

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank katyk10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel 26 Sep until2 oct great hotel beautiful gardens and staff,just a basic hotel very clean and well maintained breakfast 5 euros would stay again had a room overlooking the pool and gardens big balcony only800 yards from beach and fabulous restaurants

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank 961Tom_J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews