We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very good hotel all round”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sol Don Marco by Melia
Ranked #11 of 71 Hotels in Torremolinos
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 11 December 2017

My wife and I have stayed at this hotel many times now. There was a blip in service last year (2016) primarily due to building work, but the hotel redeemed itself when we stayed at the end of September this year (2017) and was once again very good.

The hotel is part of a large, well run and managed complex with two sister hotels. The Don Marco is aimed at "grown ups" and we escape here for a few nights once a year away from our kids.

The complex has numerous pools, but the Don Marco has a small adults only pool and jacuzzi - which are fab. We usually go during May / June or Sept / Oct and have never had an issue getting sun loungers, nor have we felt the need to reserve beds during the early morning - though sadly some do.

The breakfast is exceptionally varied and of good quality, with my only moan being the lack of a decent sausage, which seems to be standard in Spain. The restaurant can get very busy in the morning. We've never taken an evening meal at the hotel, as we prefer to go out and explore, but other guests have told us its fine.

We have always found the rooms to be spotlessly clean and well appointed. There is aircon in the rooms, wifi and a safe. Plenty of lifts dotted around the place, although the complex is fairly low rise anyway.

Slightly out of the centre, with a fair old walk up into the town, but definitely one of the best hotels in the resort and highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank ukretro1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacobo D, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sol Don Marco by Melia, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2017

Dear ukretro1,

First of all, we would like to thank you for giving us another opportunity to visit us and be able to offer the best of the stays, regretting the inconveniences in your last visit.

We are delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us and specially breakfast, service and facilities of the hotel. We want to make sure to create a lasting and meaningful memory of your experience with us and is a total pleasure to read that we achieved our purpose.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

Jacobo D.
Assistant Guest Experience
Sol Don Hoteles

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (996)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 996 reviews

Reviewed 20 November 2017

Lovely hotel very convenient to the beach and only 10 minutes from the airport. Staff are friendly and efficent and the overall ambience is nice. We have stayed here on numerous occasions and would recommend.

Room Tip: We always like the rooms overlooking the pool with a side sea view on the 2nd 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Meliá Hotels International
1  Thank fw9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacobo D, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sol Don Marco by Melia, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2017

Dear fw9,

Thank you for posting such a positive TripAdvisor review and thank you for choosing to stay with us, again, on your recent visit to Sol Don Marco.
It was a pleasure to have you with us and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Torremolinos.

Yours Sincerely,

Jacobo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2017

We stayed at the Don Marco for 10 nights from 23rd October 2017
We had a late check in (11pm) NO meal as agreed NO service available after10pm
Found the night reception very rude and un helpfull
The room was OK 3rd floor, had a seperate shower which was a plus
The hotel overall is quite shabby, and well over due a refurb,
The 4 star rating must be on the back of the other 2 hotels?
NO way is the Don Marco a 4 star rating
The gardens were very pleasant, The hotel, it is near the beach
Food was very samey, and of avarage quality, if you expect fine dining, not for your, you dont even get a table cloth, and usually only paper napkins, instead of expected linen
Dress code is as you like, shorts etc are OK it appears
Overall we were not overally impressed with the Don Marco, less so by the screaming harpy attempting water fitness training each morning, mainly too a few ladies, the music was about a million decibels, the entertainment can be very noisey, a private party went on until 0030am!
Would we go again, well thats a big NO
The Don Marco seems too have a repeat following, however though the hotel was full? there was never anyboby in the hotel,the bars were closed, you had too go too one of the other 2 hotels for a drink, which was double the priceof the local bars

Room Tip: go too another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bobcarol15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacobo D, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sol Don Marco by Melia, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2017

Dear bobcarol15,

First of all we would like to thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent stay at the Sol Don Marco. I am deeply sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Sol Don Marco, we continuously strive to meet your needs and expectations; therefore your feedback is very important to us. For this reason we have taken the appropriate measures to ensure that this unusual situation with the recepcionist and dress code will never happen again.
I really much appreciate if you may give us the opportunity to host you again in the near future in order to provide you with the best of our attention.

Looking forward to welcome you back, I remain at your complete disposal for any further assistance you may require.

Best regards,

Jacobo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2017

Just returned yesterday after a weeks holiday in this hotel. Was our first time to stay at this hotel we enjoyed our stay felt we got value for our money. We like the idea that you could eat at the other sol don Pedro hotel it was more modern and food here was more varied. The marco is part of a hotel complex So you could acess the two other hotels the pablo and pedro this gave you acess to a number of pools and also the important sun beds which there were plenty off. The staff at the hotel were friendly and very helpful all three hotels were kept spotless our room was cleaned every day with clean towels provided. I would diffently recommend this hotel. Husband and I would book here again.

Stayed: November 2017
2  Thank Phyllis50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacobo D, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sol Don Marco by Melia, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2017

Greetings from Sol Don Marco.
First of all we would like to thank you for spending a bit of your time giving us your feedback about your experience during your stay.

We are thrilled by your amazing feedback about our staff, and the hotel. We work daily in order to make your stay unforgettable and we are more than happy because we have reached your expectations, especially with our system of "Stay in One, Play in Three".

Wishing to welcome you back, we send you a cordial greeting.

Jacobo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2017

I stayed at this hotel this time last year, prior to the refurbishment. I returned to the Costa del SOL this year but stayed at another hotel
I paid the Don Pancho a visit to see what had been done and was pleasantly surprised. The entire elevated area by the pool had been decked, a new pool bar which was part of a new large glass building,looked lovely. Didn't get to the upper level though to see what was up there.
The reception area looked great, had been repainted, the old dark brown wooded areas had gone and was painted in a lighter shade, yet the columns with the tiles inset and showing the brickwork remained thereby retaining some of the original charm and features. Worked extremely well
The bar area had been transformed from dark wood surroundings with lighter but fresh colours complemented with similar coloured furnishings which gave out a homely feel.
The corridor from reception to the pool area had again been transformed using similar light shades which created a warm impression, and there were numerous quiet areas as well as a dedicated television lounge.
My only concern would be for any guest who would be on the right hand side of the hotel overlooking the green bowls area from floors 1 to 4. Their sea view would most likely be impaired by the new pool bar building.
We stayed for a drink but baulked at the prices of drinks. 4.90 euros for a beer, 2.20 euros for a white coffee. Our hotel, also a 4 star 2.70 and 1.70 respectively. This would make me want to consider an all inclusive package if I ever return to this hotel.
Didn't get to see any more of hotel but overall impression was very very good.
Have seen other reviews regarding dining room and cold plates, no improvement there then because it was the same in Nov 2016

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
4  Thank Ken J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacobo D, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sol Don Marco by Melia, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2017

Dear Ken J
Thank you for your kind review and for being a regular Sol Don Marco guest.

We are delighted to read that you felt highly satisfied with your experience at Sol Don Marco and found our refurbishment in Sol Don Pablo to be very good. At Sol Don Marco we aim to provide our guests with high-standards of customer service and make them feel at home.

It is a pleasure for us to know that you would most likely come back should your plans bring you back to Torremolinos and we look forward to it.

Kindest regards,

Jacobo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torremolinos hotels
0.1 km away
Sol Don Pablo by Melia
Sol Don Pablo by Melia
#8 of 71 in Torremolinos
2,571 reviews
0 km away
Sol Don Pedro by Melia
Sol Don Pedro by Melia
#15 of 71 in Torremolinos
1,088 reviews
0.7 km away
Sol Principe by Melia
Sol Principe by Melia
#17 of 71 in Torremolinos
3,596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Melia Costa del Sol
Melia Costa del Sol
#3 of 71 in Torremolinos
4,236 reviews
3.2 km away
Sol House Costa del Sol by Melia
3.2 km away
Sol Timor by Melia - Apartamentos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol Don Marco by Melia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Don Marco by Melia

Address: Paseo Maritimo s/n, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Torremolinos
#4 Spa Hotel in Torremolinos
#7 Family Hotel in Torremolinos
#8 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Torremolinos
#10 Romantic Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range: €66 - €167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sol Don Marco by Melia 4*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sol by Melia present Sol Don Marco, has a privileged location, right on the Bajondillo beach promenade, in Torremolinos (Malaga), part of the Sol Don Hotels complex together with Sol Don Pedro and Sol Don Marco. Is the perfect choice for relaxing with your partner and having fun on the Costa del Sol. Magnificent rooms decorated in a modern style, with a balcony and views of the sea, the pools or to the hotel gardens. 22 inch LCD TV satellite, desk, telephone, terrace / balcony, mini bar (*), safe (*) and full equipped bathroom with bath and separate shower or with a shower, hairdryer, magnifying mirror. All the rooms are for non-smokers except those on the second floor. Wide and varied day and night entertainment program, in Sol Don Pablo y Sol Don Pedro. Sol Don Hotels Complex has 6 outdoor swimming pools for adults, 2 children's outdoor pools, 1 indoor heated pool in winter (in Sol Don Pablo) and 2 hot tubs, surrounded by gardens and overlooking the sea. Different dining areas (Restaurant Casares, Cordoba Restaurant, Bar Bangkok, Bar Andalucia, Bar Patio, Bar Romano and pool bar); free internet connection (WIFI) throughout the hotel; Internet corner (E - point) (*); Public and Private parking (*); Spa and Hairdresser (*); Convention Center with 10 meeting rooms and can accommodate up to 500 people (*). A few minutes from the center of Torremolinos and close to the airport, Malaga and Puerto Marina. (*) With charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Melia, Alpha Holidays Limited, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sol Don Marco by Melia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Don Marco Torremolinos
Sol Melia Torremolinos
Hotel Don Marco
Sol Don Marco By Melia Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing