We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

““ONE OF THE BEST HOTELS IN SPAIN””
Review of Sol Don Marco

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sol Don Marco
Ranked #9 of 71 Hotels in Torremolinos
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
““ONE OF THE BEST HOTELS IN SPAIN””
Reviewed 18 December 2013

Stayed for a short break 19 November to 23 November Weather wonderful, 5th time at this hotel complex, room spotless clean with bath and separate shower, stayed bed breakfast and evening meal food selection and quality superb as always, We are fussy but we cannot fault in any way staff very friendly, when checking in receptionist spotted trip advisor badge on case and gave us best room in hotel room 5007 top floor with 30 ft wide private balcony with table and chairs and 2 sun lounges ! I fell asleep on sun lounges within minutes of arriving so relaxing, perfect location across from beach, This was are wedding anniversary after arriving at our room within 10 minutes the door knocked and they had sent a bottle of bubbly in ice bucket and glasses with complements of the hotel Manager WOW what can I say Fantastic thank you This bargain break cost £400 inc flights from Birmingham and hotel with half board included try www.onthebeach.co.uk I have no hesitation in recommending this group of hotels (don Pablo/don pedro/don marco). See you soon in January/febuary cannot wait !

Room Tip: best room in hotel don marco room 5007
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LoughboroughAerials
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jaimefloyer, Manager at Sol Don Marco, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Dear Loughboro, etc.,
How wonderful that you enjoyed your wedding anniversary so much. Thank you for letting us know. It is a privilege to be able to partuicipate in your good times.
We really look forward to seeing you back soon.
Kind regards,
Jaime Floyer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

912 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    405
    358
    106
    29
    14
See reviews for
177
526
35
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fife, Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

This was our sixth visit to the complex. I was hoping to review the Don Marco as this was the only hotel in the complex my sister and myself had not had the pleasure of staying in. We were seduced this time to try the Don Marco by the 'stunning sea views' advertised on the Sol Melia site. We knew what we were paying extra for as we know the complex so well, and also read the brilliant reviews where the reviewer was given the 'best rooms in the hotel' However, on arrival, we were bitterly disappointed to be told on checkin that we were to be placed in the Don Pablo, with no valid explanation of why we were being placed in lower priced rooms where the choice was side sea view or sunny (which directly overlooked the bowling green and also the private apartments opposite) - somewhat different from the stunning sea views we had thought we were getting, but enough of this negativity, we are writing to hotel management separately regarding our experience so will continue this review in a positive manner.

As mentioned above this was our sixth visit, we had stayed previously three times in the Don Pedro and twice in the Don Pablo. Both hotels have their own individual styles. The Don Pedro has an old world spanish feel which is warm and welcoming, which we enjoyed. The Don Pablo is more modern and businesslike.

The rooms in the don pablo are very well furnished and decorated, with new walk in showers with a choice of handheld shower and 'drench' shower at your disposal. The rooms are spacious and kept clean and tidy by the hard working chambermaids. Lovely large soft towels changed every day and no shortage of liquid soap and shower gel provided.

The reception staff and waiters are mostly very helpful and friendly. The public areas are furnished to a high standard.

The restaurant which had a full kitchen refurbishment within the last year is of a high standard. There is always an extensive buffet menu which caters for all tastes, with show cooking of fish, steaks, pork etc where your choice of meat will be cooked to your preference. The salads are fresh and colourful. The desserts are plentiful and tempting.

The entertainment staff work hard to provide a variety of shows etc even in the quiet season so caters well for some of the clientele who perhaps cannot get out and about so much.

The gardens and pool areas are well kept and a joy to wander around. The indoor pool is a boon in the cooler weather when only the very brave (or fool hardy) venture into the outdoor pools. Guests can take advantage of the hotels beach towel service where a deposit of 10 euros is taken and returned when towels are taken back, we always use this service as we travel with travel with limited luggage.

So despite our disappointment with not getting room in Don Marco, we still enjoyed the facilites of the complex once again.

Perhaps some of the lucky people who have actually been accommodated in the Don Marco would let us have the secret password used to guarantee entry?

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gonefishin55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jaimefloyer, Manager at Sol Don Marco, responded to this review, 15 December 2013
Dear Gonefishin55,
I am terribly to sorry to hear of your dissappointment and am none the wiser myself as to why you would have been given a room in the Don Pablo and, furthermore, without a frontal sea view. As yet I have not received any correspondance from you and urge you to contact me directly at my personal e-mail: jaime.floyer@melia.com so that I can attend to you.
Of course it is very satisfying to see that you enjoy the Sol Don Hotels so much but I am most concerned to discover what has gone wrong and make sure that it is rectified. Please contact me and let us ensure that you are properly looked after on a future visit.
We all wish you a Merry Christmas and a Happy and Healthy 2014 (with a sea view).
Kind regards,
Jaime Floyer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Our travel agent found this hotel for us after we had been told the hotel that we booked couldn't accommodate us. The sol don Marco was good hotel and we certainly would return. Excellent location, nice room, great food and excellent entertainment . I have no hesitation in recommending this group of hotels.

Room Tip: The restaurant in the Pablo was very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AngelaRich31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jaimefloyer, Manager at Sol Don Marco, responded to this review, 15 December 2013
Dear AngelaRich31,
Thank you for your very positive review of the Don Marco. I am glad to see that your booking problem had a silver lining and that we managed to help you save your holiday. Perhaps we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again in the future.
Merry Christmas and best wishes for 2014.
Jaime Floyer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Stayed October 2013, weather wonderful. Reception tended to all our needs, couldn't be more helpful. Breakfast had a good choice, from eggs and bacon to continental. Supper always had something if slightly limited. Happy hour worth a go with half price drinks. Rooms fine but if on wrong side of resort very noisey. All staff very helpful and playful with our 2 year old. Overall my family & I had a lovely break. Thank you

Room Tip: Ask for quieter side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank timbO5552013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jaimefloyer, Manager at Sol Don Marco, responded to this review, 15 December 2013
Dear timbO5552013 ,
Thank you for choosing the Don Marco for your holidays and for taking the time to let us know about your experience. I am so glad that you enjoyed the holiday and that you felt well-looked after. I hope that we may see you again in the future.
Kind regards,
Jaime Floyer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southampton
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Decided to try the Don Marco for an out of season break as its position looked ideal, but not the usual type of resort hotel that we would normally book. Booked an airport transfer for 12 euros return p.p. with the hotel which was fine and only a 10 minute journey.
Room:
Booked a direct sea view room and we were allocated the best room in the hotel which had a wrap around balcony. View was amazing and the room was very comfortable traditional style with separate shower as well as bath, refrigerator and TV with BBC 1 , Sky news etc.
Dining:
Booked half board as is good value if booked with room rate. Yes, the restaurants are large and very busy but we were always seated quickly. The food is typical buffet style with lots of choice and there is always salad, pizza, fresh fruit and cheeses if nothing else to your taste. We also ate out a couple of evenings for a change.
Facilities:
There are many pools and sun terraces including a covered and heated pool. There are also different bars and evening entertainment in the two other hotels on the complex.
The Don Marco is the smaller hotel and attracts a mostly mature client base.
We were able to take advantage of some of the facilities of this complex and its excellent position but also have our usual independent holiday enjoying the local area, bars, restaurants etc.
Overall:
Found staff to be efficient and helpful and everywhere is very clean. The clientele were mostly a mixture of British, German and American during our stay.
We really enjoyed our stay and will definitely return. Don Marco delivers on location, service and facilities, if you don't like large busy restaurants then bed and breakfast or room only would be an option as there are many cafes, restaurants nearby and up in the town.
Thank you to the Don Marco for a great stay! See you again soon.

Room Tip: Book a direct sea view room for a fabulous view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank southstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jaimefloyer, Manager at Sol Don Marco, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Dear southstone ,
Thank you for choosing the Sol Don Marco. Don't worry, you won't be let down if you have a different sea-front room next time. I hope that you will be back.
I appreciate the time taken writing up your experience.
Best regards,
Jaime Floyer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torremolinos hotels
0.1 km away
Sol Don Pablo
Sol Don Pablo
#10 of 71 in Torremolinos
2,284 reviews
0.6 km away
Melia Costa del Sol
Melia Costa del Sol
#5 of 71 in Torremolinos
3,731 reviews
0.1 km away
Sol Don Pedro
Sol Don Pedro
#13 of 71 in Torremolinos
1,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Sol Principe
Sol Principe
#14 of 71 in Torremolinos
3,292 reviews
3.2 km away
Sol House Costa del Sol mixed by Ibiza Rocks
0.3 km away
Hotel Isabel
Hotel Isabel
#7 of 71 in Torremolinos
768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol Don Marco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Don Marco

Property: Sol Don Marco
Address: Paseo Maritimo s/n, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Torremolinos
#3 Spa Hotel in Torremolinos
#6 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Torremolinos
#8 Family Hotel in Torremolinos
#10 Romantic Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:4 star — Sol Don Marco 4*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sol by Melia present Sol Don Marco, has a privileged location, right on the Bajondillo beach promenade, in Torremolinos (Malaga), part of the Sol Don Hotels complex together with Sol Don Pedro and Sol Don Marco. Is the perfect choice for relaxing with your partner and having fun on the Costa del Sol. Magnificent rooms decorated in a modern style, with a balcony and views of the sea, the pools or to the hotel gardens. 22 inch LCD TV satellite, desk, telephone, terrace / balcony, mini bar (*), safe (*) and full equipped bathroom with bath and separate shower or with a shower, hairdryer, magnifying mirror. All the rooms are for non-smokers except those on the second floor. Wide and varied day and night entertainment program, in Sol Don Pablo y Sol Don Pedro. Sol Don Hotels Complex has 6 outdoor swimming pools for adults, 2 children's outdoor pools, 1 indoor heated pool in winter (in Sol Don Pablo) and 2 hot tubs, surrounded by gardens and overlooking the sea. Different dining areas (Restaurant Casares, Cordoba Restaurant, Bar Bangkok, Bar Andalucia, Bar Patio, Bar Romano and pool bar); free internet connection (WIFI) throughout the hotel; Internet corner (E - point) (*); Public and Private parking (*); Spa and Hairdresser (*); Convention Center with 10 meeting rooms and can accommodate up to 500 people (*). A few minutes from the center of Torremolinos and close to the airport, Malaga and Puerto Marina. (*) With charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Melia, TravelUp, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sol Don Marco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Don Marco Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain
Sol Melia Torremolinos
Hotel Don Marco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing