We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2nd visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sol Don Marco by Melia
Ranked #11 of 71 Hotels in Torremolinos
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 3 August 2012

2nd trip to the Don Marco for our anniversary, just as fab this time as it was the last time. Only downside for us was that its not all-inclusive... that said if it was, it'd probably be fully booked all the time.. Location faultless, food faultless, room faultless, pool areas faultless.

Room Tip: Request a sea view, you have to pay a supplement, but to wake up every day with that view - well wor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank MrsO40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jaimefloyer, Manager at Sol Don Marco by Melia, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2012

Thank you MrsO40. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay again even if we don't offer All Inclusive. At this time we are not considering AI as an option because one of the things that makes Torremolinos so much fun is that there is a wealth of little bars and restaurants one the front and up in town and it would seem a shame to miss out on all that.
We hope that you won't need an anniversary to come back and visit but if is is a special occasion make sure you let us know.
Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (996)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

506 - 510 of 996 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2012

Just come back from a week at the Don Marco. Stayed at the Don Pablo last year and enjoyed it so much wanted to go back to the same hotel complex but decided to try one of the other hotels. We had a lovelytime, room was lovely ( they kindly let us swap our room on the first day as we didn't like our view!!).High quality room. Staff at all hotels are friendly, efficient and we think the hotels are run to a very high standard. V clean and traditional spanish decor in the receptions. We ended up having our breakfast at the Marco each day which is very nice with lots to choose from and having evening meal at the Pablo as there is just a little bit more choice and the food is just a little better. Don't get me wrong the food at the Marco is still lovely! Anyway recommend this hotel complex to anyone. Why? There are lots of facilities the beach is across the road and gorgeous, plenty of shops, nice promenade and 15 mins from the airport and its clean and not raucous at night. We didn't watch the entertainment in the hotel which is more for families. Only gripe is shop on the corner called ' el paseo'. Its a very good shop with rude staff though. There is a woman, could be the owner? She is in her 50's and she is miserable and rude and sure is adds extra cents on your bill if she can get away with it. There are always other shops though.

Room Tip: Just try to get a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amyjames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jaimefloyer, Manager at Sol Don Marco by Melia, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2012

We are delighted that you had such a nice time at the Sol Don Marco. As you know, you have all the same facilities as the Sol Don Pablo and Sol Don Pedro, but the Marco is a little more elegant and a little quieter as we tend to have very few children. In fact within the Marco building we don't put on entertainment, leaving the guests the option of going either to the Don Pedro or Don Pablo areas for their choice of entertainment during the day or in the evening.
I am sorry to hear about the shop on the corner. Although it does not belong to the hotel, we will be sure to pass your comments on.
Thanks for the review. Be sure to come back and visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2012

Stayed at the Sol Don Marco for 4 nights at the begining of July.
Rooms are not huge but large enough, well decorated with good quality furnishings and a small balcony big enough for a table and 2 chairs. The bathroom was modern and very clean with bath and seperate shower cubicle,
The pool area was quite small but we always managed to get sunbeds however late we arrived. There was also a balcony area with sunbeds overlooking the beach which always seemed quite empty. Our balcony overlooked the pool area and we could see some people, (sorry - usually us British), putting towels on sunloungers to bag the best places - but it really was not necessary. You could also use the facilities of the other 2 Sol hotels on the complex but although the pools were larger the areas were busier and noisey and we prefered the quiet area in the San Marco. If you have children you may prefer the Sol Don Pablo as this has a children's club, the pool has a shallow section and there were generally more children around that area.
The food was very good. We had breakfast and dinner in the San Marco restaurant which was aslo the restaurant for the San Pedro. Breakfast was the normal buffett style with eggs, bacon sausage etc plus a good selection of cakes, cheeses and cold meats etc should you prefer. Dinner was also buffett style but there was a grill where the chef would cook meat and fish which varied each evening, a roast of some kind, (whilst we were there it was a whole slamon one night, turkey, beef and pork on others). In addition to this there is an Italian area with freshly cooked pizzas and pasta, a good selection of differnt salads and the normal Spainish style puddings consisting mainly of cakes and ice cream. Lunch was taken in the San Pablo restaurant, again buffett style with a similar but slightly smaller selection as dinner. We were very impressed with the quality and selection of the food. The hotel had lots of Spainish staying and this was reflected in some of the choices not being what we would choose - but you are in Spain so why not try something a little different. The wine and drinks were of a good quality and resonably priced.
There was a show in the San Pablo area each evening. These varied between outside acts, (the drag show was very good), and the entertainers miming and dancing to music. Some shows we enjoyed more than others but really it is personal taste. There was also live music in the San Pedro hotel for dancing if you prefer quieter entertainment. All stopped at midnight on the dot - so never any trouble with noise when sleeping.
The location of the hotel was perfect. Right on the front with a few shops scattered around.
You could walk to the centre of town if you needed more shopping but it was all uphill with steps
which was too much for my mother-in-law so we took a taxi up, (about 6 Euros), and walked back stopping in shops and cafes.
A very enjoyable small holiday and we would not hesitate to return.

Room Tip: If you are a smoker ask for a room on the 2nd floor as all other rooms are non-smoking
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Sally H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jaimefloyer, Manager at Sol Don Marco by Melia, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write your extensive report. I am very glad that you enjoyed your holiday so much and we will be delighted to welcome you back again soon.
Kind regards,
Jaime Floyer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2012

Very nice hotel, together with two other Sol hotels very near the beach at the paseo Maritimo
Rooms are somewhat small, but ok. Only disadvantage is that the airco only works if the key card is in the holder in the room, so after a hot sunny day, it can be very hot in your room.
The staff at check inn is superb, helpfull in anyway,

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dutchietraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jaimefloyer, Manager at Sol Don Marco by Melia, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2012

Thanks for your response to TA. I am particularly pleased that you appreciate the staff in the complex as we pride ourselves in a healthy working atmosphere which we hope is transmitted to our guests.
It is true that when you remove the key card upon leaving your room all appliences except the minibar are disconnected. Although people do not tend to see the hotel business as a polluting industry, we have to do everthing we can to be responsible with energy use.
Kind regards,
Jaime Floyer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2012

Just returned from a 2 week stay with my spouse and 11 yr old daughter. This was our firt trip to Europe.

Transportation and check-in: The transport service from the airport to the hotel as well as the check-in were fast and courteous. The hotel is only 15 min. away.

Room: We were located in one of ancient Don Pedro rooms now part of the Don Marco hotel. We were in a standard room where a cot was added. It was tight, but we had everything we needed and it was very clean. Maid service was good. The standard size bathroom had a double glass door shower making it appear larger. The balcony was 1/2 of a standard size one with a tiny patio table and 2 chairs. We had a small fridge and a 12 inch flat screen tv where 2 english station were available. Pillows and bed were very comfortable. Room was quiet except for the occasionnal individuals talking too loudly in the hallway at night when returning to their room.

Food: Many things come in 1/2 sizes (beer, wine, soda bottles and cans...) in the convenient stores. We seem to eat and drink less this way. There are 2 buffet restaurants serving breakfast and lunch/dinner that are equally very tasty. Many salads, soups, tapas (condiments, serrano ham, provolone and brie cheezes), fresh baked bread, lots of porc and fish (but little beef and chicken), pizza, paella and pasta (cheeze, meat or tomato sauce). On one occasion, shrimp was served, however they where in their shell and quite small. No lobster or crab were served, but then again, they hard to find in any other restaurant as well (we found one restaurant serving frozen lobster for 90 euros a kilo). The desserts were yummy (pastries and fresh fruit). Half bottles of wine ranged from 5 to 10 euros, bottled water was 1,5 euros and soft drinks, beer or juices from 2-3 euros. The buffet breakfast was pretty standard including juces, coffee (capuccino, expresso and café latté). Beach and boardwalk: There is a long boardwalk in front of the hotel where you can was endlessly either way. There are outdoor restaurants and shops all a long the way. San Miguel stress is a 5 min walk, the Carihuela is a 1/2 hour away and the puerto marina about an hour (or 14 euros taxi ride). Loved all of these 2 walking places. The asian buffet restaurant The Wok was excellent (16 euros per person) for the sushi lovers and diagonally accross the hotel on the beach is the Veloro restaurant for great paella or fish and the sangria is only 7 euros for a pitcher. In the restaurants, bread is an item that is charge from 1-2 euros a piece and if you don't want any you must tell the waiter right away for him to take it away or else they automatically put it on the table and charge you for it whether you eat it or not.

Pool and beach: 5 regular size pools, 3 kid pools and 1 jaccuzi. All very clean, however no sufficient umbrellas unless you reserve one before 8:30 - 9:00 a.m. Beach accross is amazing. We wore beach shoes cause sand is very hot and there are crushed stones and shells as you enter the water. Waves were rough half the time (couldn't swim), but eitherway the water was to cold that we never actually stayed in the see for more that 5 min. No vendors on the beach except for a lady that comes around in the p.m. selling beverages. We bought an umbrella for 10 euros and planted it in the sand on the beach when we went. Many people did this and avoided paying 4 to 7 euros for the rental of an umbrella and beach chairs in a determined crowded area of the beach.

Excursions: We took 5 excursions: Morocco (Tangers), Gibraltar, Ronda/Marbella, Granada and Sevilla. Loved all of them. My only complaint is that the bus stops at 11 other hotels to pick up people so it takes anywhere from 2 to 2,5 hours before even departing on the excursion itself. The competence and professionnalism of the guide makes or breaks the excursion. All were great except for one. The bus rides are long so better be prepared with a lot of water and snacks. We opted for the meals to be included in our excursions and the only time we regretted this was in Ronda/Marbella as they took us 5 miles outside the city to eat in a restaurant without a/c. We wasted valuable time doing this rather then eating in one the many great outdoor restaurants in the city and spending our free time visiting. If I had to rate by preference the excursions, I would say Morocco (10/10), Gibraltar (9/10), Sevillia (9/10), Ronda/Marbella (8/10) and Grenada (7/10).

Suggestions: This was our first time in Europe and in Spain. We would definately return to stay at this hotel in Torremolinos. We visited the Melia Costa del Sol and hotel Isabel near by, but by far the Sol hotels are better located and the choice of pools makes it so much more appealing. Next time, we would say in a Sol Don Pablo corner beach front room. I visited both the beach front rooms at the Don Marco and the Don Pablo and by far, the rooms at the Don Pablo are better (slightly larger and corner rooms have 4x the balcony size). May I suggest rooms on a high floor (501 or 502; 601 or 602; 701 or 702; 801 or 802 and 901 or 902 as you can see above the other hotels that may block your sea view. Just breathtaking and at the same rate as a standard room at the Don Marco. Also, in order to wake up on time for our excursions, we had asked for a wake-up call for these mornings, however at one occasion, we did not receive any. We were lucky and did not miss our excursion but we could have. We received appologies from the person at the reception. May I suggest you bring an alarm clock.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank elyssa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jaimefloyer, Manager at Sol Don Marco by Melia, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2012

Thank you for your detailed and extremely well presented write-up of the Sol Don Hotels and the area. I think it will be very informative, especially for first timers to the Costa del Sol.
I am very glad that you enjoyed the hotel and the complex so much and we sincerely hope that you come back soon to try the Don Pablo corner room.
I must reiterate the apology for the lack of alarm call on one of your excursion mornings. I assure you that this does not happen often but it is obviously very disconcerting that it should have happened at all.
Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torremolinos hotels
0.1 km away
Sol Don Pablo by Melia
Sol Don Pablo by Melia
#9 of 71 in Torremolinos
2,571 reviews
0.7 km away
Sol Principe by Melia
Sol Principe by Melia
#17 of 71 in Torremolinos
3,597 reviews
0.6 km away
Melia Costa del Sol
Melia Costa del Sol
#4 of 71 in Torremolinos
4,240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 km away
Sol Don Pedro by Melia
Sol Don Pedro by Melia
#15 of 71 in Torremolinos
1,088 reviews
3.2 km away
Sol House Costa del Sol by Melia
3.2 km away
Sol Timor by Melia - Apartamentos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol Don Marco by Melia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Don Marco by Melia

Address: Paseo Maritimo s/n, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Torremolinos
#4 Spa Hotel in Torremolinos
#7 Family Hotel in Torremolinos
#8 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Torremolinos
#10 Romantic Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range: €66 - €167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sol Don Marco by Melia 4*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sol by Melia present Sol Don Marco, has a privileged location, right on the Bajondillo beach promenade, in Torremolinos (Malaga), part of the Sol Don Hotels complex together with Sol Don Pedro and Sol Don Marco. Is the perfect choice for relaxing with your partner and having fun on the Costa del Sol. Magnificent rooms decorated in a modern style, with a balcony and views of the sea, the pools or to the hotel gardens. 22 inch LCD TV satellite, desk, telephone, terrace / balcony, mini bar (*), safe (*) and full equipped bathroom with bath and separate shower or with a shower, hairdryer, magnifying mirror. All the rooms are for non-smokers except those on the second floor. Wide and varied day and night entertainment program, in Sol Don Pablo y Sol Don Pedro. Sol Don Hotels Complex has 6 outdoor swimming pools for adults, 2 children's outdoor pools, 1 indoor heated pool in winter (in Sol Don Pablo) and 2 hot tubs, surrounded by gardens and overlooking the sea. Different dining areas (Restaurant Casares, Cordoba Restaurant, Bar Bangkok, Bar Andalucia, Bar Patio, Bar Romano and pool bar); free internet connection (WIFI) throughout the hotel; Internet corner (E - point) (*); Public and Private parking (*); Spa and Hairdresser (*); Convention Center with 10 meeting rooms and can accommodate up to 500 people (*). A few minutes from the center of Torremolinos and close to the airport, Malaga and Puerto Marina. (*) With charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Alpha Holidays Limited, Melia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sol Don Marco by Melia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Don Marco Torremolinos
Sol Melia Torremolinos
Hotel Don Marco
Sol Don Marco By Melia Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing