We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,600)
Filter reviews
4,600 results
Traveller rating
1,753
1,718
751
230
148
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,753
1,718
751
230
148
Show reviews that mention
All reviews self service soft drinks plenty of choice bar staff pool bar main restaurant plenty of sunbeds train station on tap evening meal lovely hotel great holiday costa del sol entertainment room all inclusive hotel across the road dining room
Filter
Updating list...
266 - 271 of 4,600 reviews
Reviewed 5 April 2018

We have stayed in many Riu hotels in Spain and Gran Canaria, we stayed in the Costa Lago and Belplaya hotels prior to them combining to this hotel.
It was obvious on our first day that there is nowhere in the entire hotel to sit and enjoy your drink, the only place to sit was in the lobby which was shared with guests arriving and departing with suitcases. The main doors were opening and closing, and even though was sunny the wind was cold so made the lobby an uncomfortable place to try and relax.
There are no branded spirits here, the wine was drinkable but not pleasurable. Though all inclusive we went out locally for a drink most nights.
Food was samey, if you like fish it was a little more interesting, and great if you want a Mediterranean diet, but we were bored - breakfast was the best. Steaks, Mexican, curry or Greek would have been a nice change, a specialty evening or barbecue perhaps.
All the staff were lovely, cleanliness was of a high standard.
Decor was lovely, the pool areas were ideal, good quality sunbeds.
Our air conditioning in our room was set to 25 degrees so we went to reception to ask if it could be turned down as was very hot and stuffy in the room. We were told that it cannot be adjusted as is set to a particular temperature and cannot be changed at this time. As the room was so hot we had no choice but to leave the patio door open and switch on the ceiling fan which made a noise like a train on the track. A few days later we noticed that the aircon unit had been switched off, was not showing a digital display.
Because of the lack of quality branded spirits and not having air conditioning in my room (which would be expected in a 4 star hotel), and dreary mealtime experiences - we will not stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 823billyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiuHotelsandResorts, Online Reputation Manager at Hotel Riu Costa del Sol, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2018

Dear guest,

Thank you for your loyalty to RIU Hotels & Resorts and for taking the time to give us your feedback and for expressing your concerns. As a global brand, we strive to maintain consistent levels of quality in all our hotels.

We are committed to provide excellent quality of our products and services to our guests and for this reason we are sorry to learn that this time your experience did not live up to what you usually expect from us and that you have left our hotel thinking otherwise.

Please be assured that we have sent your comments and suggestions to the respective heads of departments involved and actions would be taken to address all your concerns.

To end on a positive note, we are glad to see that you appreciated the friendliness of our staff and the service provided.

We sincerely hope that we will one day be able to welcome you back to our hotel and have a chance to demonstrate the high standards of guest service that are typical at our hotels.

With our best wishes we remain,

ClubHotel Riu Costa del Sol
Online Reputation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018

Our room which was a suite was lovely. Really clean and spacious. Fabulous shower room and beautifully decorated. We over looked the pool which was lovely. The location of our room was lovely and the amenities within easy reach. Our only criticism is the Italian Restaurant-the starters were lovely, two out of three main meals were inedible we felt very rushed and weren't even told where to get dessert from. Very disappointed and over all having been to a few RIU Hotels found the food was not as good as it used to be in the normal restaurant!! (we went here two years ago) Would we go back - probably not. The Hotel is all very new after the refit and large the staff are all lovely and very comfortable beds!!

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank Daviddavid I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018

Just returned last night from this hotel, 3rd holiday in this Riu spotless clean staff amazing BUT 2 of party really ill with sickness. Talking to other people when we checked out there is a problem here, please don’t Ignore this review can be serious for some people. 3 people in our party of 10 feel ill on our return home this morning

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
13  Thank mexic015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiuHotelsandResorts, Online Reputation Manager at Hotel Riu Costa del Sol, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

Dear guest,

Thank you for your loyalty to RIU Hotels & Resorts and for sharing your experience with us.

As a service-oriented hotel chain, it makes us very proud that you have rated our staff very well and appreciated their work and we are glad to gear that the cleanliness of our facilities were to your full satisfaction.

On the other hand it is very disappointing to read your comment regarding the stomach issues you believe you contracted during your holidays and we hope you get well soon. We have not had any cases reported and we can assure you that the health and safety of our guests is taken very seriously and we follow strict procedures while handling our food products in order to prevent and avoid any kind of alimentary risks or hazards.

We sincerely hope to welcome you back to RIU Hotels & Resorts in the near future and to have a chance to demonstrate the high standards of guest service that are typical at our hotels.

With our best wishes we remain,

ClubHotel Riu Costa del Sol
Online Reputation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018

This hotel is well worth a good review with pretty decent recommendations all round. Positive compliments for attention to cleanliness throughout, standard of facilities, cheery hard working staff, proximity to airport and being on the front making for a relatively easy stroll. The layout is largely designed for sitting outside but as we travelled in March (for a good price with TUI) we took a gamble but were pretty unlucky with the weather as it turned out. The entertainment area seating layout was a bit too formal for most with much rearrangement of chairs not making for easy access to the bar.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank D_B871977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

My mum and I stayed in this fab hotel a couple of weeks ago and Just wanted to mention Katie the TUI Rep as she works so hard and always has time for everyone.
This very pleasant young lady is a credit to Thomson and is definitely one of the best representatives we have met.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
6  Thank 876aldavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews