We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good two weeks”
Review of Hotel Riu Nautilus

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Riu Nautilus
Ranked #3 of 71 Hotels in Torremolinos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 July 2012

Arrival at the hotel went well, and we were given some sparkling wine while we waited to book in (nice touch). We had asked for a high floor main building and possible a sea view. We were given a east facing side view third floor Ideal!! (Not had full sun all day,suited us very well) The lifts were very responsive, and we were very pleased with out room. Decided to choose a later sitting for our evening meal, so we would not be rushed when going out for the day (especially to Gibraltar). This was our bargain trip. Cost us 12 euros each - 5% discount for O.A.P. rate from a little place near the hotel. As we had been three times before to this area namely Torremolinos/ Benalmadena this was our only long distance trip booked. We had 5 hours shopping in Gibraltar with a free raffle on the coach for some jewellery. Excellent value. As we have stayed in Rui hotels before (that's why we chose it) it lived up to our expectations. Very Good. Our only grumble was the quality of the meat section of the evening meal the first week, this was not there usual standard. By the beginning of the second week they had changed the chef and and everthing was back to their usual excellent quality and range of food. Their bar staff are excellent. They should send them to the hotel we had last year in Kusadasi Turkey, and teach them how to do it!! Everywhere in the hotel and pool area is kept very clean and our room was excellent. The area is served by a good bus service to Torremolinos, Fuengirola, Mijas and Malaga costing roughly 1 euro - 2 euro 50 single fares. Excellent. In all a very good relaxing holiday with beautiful weather.

Room Tip: Main building has better views, especially higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank oldie46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,541)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

990 - 994 of 1,541 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2012

We have just returned from a short break (5 nights) at the Riu Nautilus. The food choices and quality were excellent. The staff were always friendly, particularly in the dining room and also at the Reception desk. Our room was a really good size but not the most comfortable bed we have experienced. The swimming pool was nice and there were plenty of sunbeds and umbrellas. However, as non-smokers our experience of sitting by the pool was spoilt by the smoking. There is no restriction on smoking around the pool or in the outdoor eating areas. It seemed that everyone staying at the hotel were smokers apart from us and there were no areas to get away from the smoking. For a short break this resort and hotel were fine and the weather was amazing but we were glad that this was only a short break for us.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel have a full sea view. Rooms at the side (eg 105) have only a very par...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2012

Just back from a great short break.
Good:
Food was excellent and varied, location right on the beach, 5 mins to the harbour and 15 the other way to a Torrremolinos, friendly and helpful staff without exception, bar prices reasonable, short cab ride from the airport, nice clean resort.
Not so good.
A little dated (but not enough that it should cause you concern). As non smokers we didn't like that smoking permitted in the outdoor dining areas. Dining seat allocation, some of the tables are very close, there are only inches between tables so you do not feel like you are dining alone which is a shame as there was plenty of space while we were there.

Don't let me put you off especially if you are looking for a quiet break. We had a lovely stay and would willingly return. Torremolinos and the Costa del Sol were much nicer than we imaged.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paul021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2012

Just got back today from riu naut I travel all over and stayed in many hotels round the world ,hotel is very clean staff are exceptional .rooms are bit dated but clean tv channels bbc1 an film 4. There are two blocks not much difference in them ,south side sunny all day ,but to be honest you can stay on beach till 7pm it's still 80 ,food in two sits 6.15 an 8.15 didn't like that tables are very close an your allocated table for the week but there are single tables mostly outside that's were I chose it was lovely eating my dinner with an ocean view an cool breeze,food was good always something an my wifes ,fussy meat fish pasta pizza every night,you can get lunch in hotel about 6 to 8 euro toasted sandwidge burger chips ,not for children the would be bored but for week in sun good food it's ok .Round pool is very hot we went to beach more of breeze 4 euros a bed an u get brolly aswell,ask the sun bed man to save your beds he puts towels on them till u get there I gave him 1euro a day extra ,shops an supermarket outside big marina 5 min walk shops restaurants,beach was very clean sea was clear aswell all in all nice break only thing I missed was no Internet conection room an beds bit hard.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank harveyHerts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2012

This hotel offers you an all round good experience. The staff were very very very good and food and accommodation likewise. There was an air of tranquility that was maintained throughout our stay. The reception staff were fantastic. The bar and restaurant staff were attentive and the chambermaids thorough. The entertainment was appropriate for the guests and prices in the hotel sensible. The views are ok if you are at the front of the hotel - we asked to be moved because initially our view was of a conifer, small grassed area and public walkway - ok but not really what you want to look at on a visit to Spain. Our request was granted half way through our stay which was really appreciated. I would go back to this hotel without hesitation.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms at the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank NickBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torremolinos hotels
2.4 km away
Melia Costa del Sol
Melia Costa del Sol
#4 of 71 in Torremolinos
4,240 reviews
0.2 km away
Sol House Costa del Sol by Melia
0.5 km away
MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada
MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada
#7 of 71 in Torremolinos
1,337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 km away
Sol Principe by Melia
Sol Principe by Melia
#17 of 71 in Torremolinos
3,598 reviews
3 km away
Sol Don Pablo by Melia
Sol Don Pablo by Melia
#9 of 71 in Torremolinos
2,571 reviews
0.1 km away
Sol Timor by Melia - Apartamentos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Nautilus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Nautilus

Address: Avenida Salvador Allende 39 | Torremolinos - Malaga, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
#1 Spa Hotel in Torremolinos
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Torremolinos
#2 Romantic Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range: €104 - €218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Nautilus 4*
Number of rooms: 293
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Adults Only & Half Board Hotel Riu Nautilus opens all year round and is located just off the promenade, right on the beautiful La Carihuela beach. The RIU Classic Hotels offer comfortable rooms and excellent facilities with great leisure and relaxation facilities, as well as international gastronomy. Enjoy a relaxing holiday - whether alone, with family, partner or friends! The location is ideal due to its proximity to Malaga airport AGP (8 km) and Benálmadena (1 km) and invites you to explore the area. The hotel has 293 comfortably furnished rooms and offers many amenities. Relax in our spa or get in shape at the fitness center. 1 outdoor pool, 1 indoor pool. Day and evening entertainment. For lovers of gastronomy, we offer live cooking stations at our main restaurant, a Spanish specialty restaurant, as well as 2 bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Alpha Holidays Limited, Expedia, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Stayforlong S.L., TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Riu Nautilus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Nautilus Torremolinos
Riu Nautilus Hotel Torremolinos
Hotel Riu Nautilus Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing