We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
49 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
US$430
View deal
Free cancellation until 20/08/22
Expedia.com
US$429
View deal
Free cancellation until 21/08/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Melia.com
US$380
View deal
Free cancellation until 21/08/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Hotels.comUS$429
PricelineUS$430
ZenHotels.comUS$437
View all 14 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (5,360)
Filter reviews
5,360 results
Traveller rating
1,664
1,886
1,097
378
335
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,664
1,886
1,097
378
335
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lagoon pool family suite kids club the lion king half board family holiday across the road sea view smaller pool big hotel evening entertainment something for everyone fantastic hotel crisps dining room mini disco main pool
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
48 - 53 of 5,360 reviews
Reviewed 19 June 2022

Just home from our trip to the Sol Principe. Have stayed there on a number of occasions pre-covid. The group consisted of 7 adults, a potential adult as my son turned 18 the day he arrived home!!!! and 3 teenagers. From previous visits we did notice change and felt it may be a process of recovery after our uncertain covid years. Our package was inclusive of drinks and food and our accommodation was the family suites.

The suites were very suitable for our group and were very well serviced by the cleaning staff. They could do with a little bit of TLC but that would be just to freshen them up. The block was very quite on our previous stays but there appeared to be a lot more noisy traffic in the early hours of the morning combined with strong smells of recreational drugs. Accept that we were on holidays but it may impact families with young kids.

Pool area is great and particularly for a member of our group with inclusive access to the pool with the lift. This allows wheelchair users access to the pool. Like all hotels umbrella and bed access is limited but in the vast majority of the time I believe people were catered for. The staff are active watching out for bed hoarding and did remove towels where people had been gone for too long. The pool area was well cleaned every day

There were shows every night and what was on offer did appear to cater for all ages. The bars weren't over staffed so queues did develop very quickly and at peak times particularly you could be waiting to get drinks. We as a group felt this was may be due to staff shortages post covid. Bar closes at midnight so if you have gone for a stroll and want a night cap remember this. We didn't visit the sports bar so can't comment on what happens in there but I feel its not promoted enough particularly for older teenage guests who might want escape from their adult parents. The games arcade near the main pool area is still there. This is a bone of contention for us as we feel it doesn't sit with the hotel complex and is a money pit for young children.

In comparison to past visits the restaurant experience was different. Staff appeared to be much busier therefore less attentive. Proved difficult to get drinks and if you wanted a second then better to order well before first was finished. There was waiting times for the food so I would suggest experimenting with times to determine when the waiting times were shorter. Unfortunately though there were waiting times so be prepared, again we felt the issue was a shortage of cooking staff. The restaurant is big so be prepared for the volume of guests and the back round noise as a result.

With respect to food the group felt there was a slight drop in standard. Always plenty of salads, fruit, deserts. There were lots of choices of fish and meats and whilst the meats were generally repeated nightly, it required being inventive with salads/sauces to make each sitting different. Again from our previous visits there were themed nights to give diners a different dining experience but this wasn't evident on this trip. Possibly an Irish thing but we would have liked a greater choice of potato rather than the preferred offering of chips, even my kids got fed up of them!! A suggestion would be to take time whilst having a look at the food on offer and make choices wisely to vary what you eat every night. Not a hotel issue but beware the queue hoppers.

The snack bar available at the pool was only fair being very honest. The foods on offer in the past were much more plentiful and regenerated regularly. If you use this area for food try and avail of the food when it's put out initially rather than having sat there for too long. Once you understand the dynamics of the snack bar it keeps hungry teenagers bellies content.

New this time was a child friendly area in the lobby whilst not used by our group it was a nice addition to the lobby area. Used by many young families it was a positive for those with very young kids and an obvious effort by the hotel to be child friendly.

Overall we had a positive holiday and comments made are as a result of previous visits. There are differences in standards and we put this down to as previously stated to hopefully post-Covid difficulties rather than a change in hotel management mentality. The staff cleaning the rooms are particularly helpful so don't be afraid to speak with them with respect to room towels, bedding and cleaning. Planning next years holidays already we will be going to a different destination based on a desire for change and when we revisit Torremolinos I will consider the Sol Principe but will have a good look through the reviews to make sure the hotel is at a standard we like.

Room tip: family suites are very spacious
Date of stay: June 2022
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pat2001ie
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 19 June 2022

There are some positive things to mention like location is very good and staff is very friendly. And breakfast was good also. Beach is also very close, and the Amillo beach (and staff) was really nice.

Unfortunately there are several negative topics, which do not justify four stars. In my humble opinion.

It seems that Sol Principe management does not care what is going on at this hotel.

Check in took like 45 minutes even though I had checked in via Melia mobile application in advance. Only 2 of 7 (?) counters were open. During check in there was not any guidance given, when the restaurants are open, where those are located etcetc. Why there is not enough staff available at the receiption?

Room was a large one located on upper floors. Condition of the room was average, please check photos. It is a strange that housekeeping/service can see these faults every day, and they do not inform their supervisers.
Minibar was filled in with stuff (yoghort, juices) from previous occupants. Gladly, service visited the room and filled in minibar with accurate goods, but the service did not remove existings stuff. Strange.
Room was also clean but during the stay, housekeeping entered to the room very late. The latest timing was half past five. It seems that there is not enough people at the housekeeping team.

There was a clear guidenance that sunbeds shall not be reserved in advance. Howerver, every morning (8:30) all sunbeds were taken. Why managemement has given this type of guidance if it is not followed?

There is also a guidenance that people should wear shirt inside the common hotel areas. Still some men were wandering in the areas only shorts on.

Restaurant was also a short of staff. In the first evening, we got drinks when we already had eaten. Waitresses were too busy to serve all. Lesson was learned, and we located ourselves close to the waitresses' counter to get drinks asap. It worked. Generally, food was average, normally they heated up leftovers from the previous night (like shrimps).

When I had this experience at Sol Principe, I will avoid other Melia locations.

Date of stay: May 2022
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank randomherohimself
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Guest Services, Other at Sol Principe, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2022

Dear guest,

First of all, I would like to thank you for taking part of your valuable time to share your assessment through this platform.

We greatly appreciate your good words regarding our location and staff service, we strive every day to meet customer needs and offer the best quality service. However, please be assured that I will transfer this information to the appropriate departments to improve our services and achieve full customer satisfaction.

We really hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again at the hotel and offer the best hotel experience in Torremolinos.

Kind regards,
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2022 via mobile

Just come back from a week away here as a couple and it is a lovely hotel but has it’s negatives.
Positives - All inclusive drinks were really good and lots of choice.
- Rooms are lovely and we had a side sea view room and it was spacious and clean.
- Right on the beach front and the pool areas/hotel are clean and tidy throughout.
Negatives - A very busy hotel, long queues for reception, the bars during the day and evening for drinks. The hotel does not accommodate for the amount of the guests there are.
Very hard to get a sun bed, some days we were up at 7:30am and there was very little left which meant we had to go to the beach which wasn’t ideal when we had paid for all inclusive.
The food isn’t good in the restaurant, it is very repetitive and if you don’t eat fish, there is very little to choose from and the very little we did eat considering we aren’t fussy eaters at all wasn’t good.
The front pool doesn’t open until 11am which we thought was quite late but the front is a lot quieter than the main pools and this is the only place we could get a sun bed.

We did enjoy our stay and would return to Torremelinos however, probably not to this hotel.

Date of stay: June 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank shannondP1117DM
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 18 June 2022

Nice clean hotel, better than average beds. Plenty of food buffet style.
Dont bother attempting to get a sun lounger at pool its impossible. The hotel will reply its their policy for the lifeguards to remove towels from loungers not being used for an hour, this is a blatant lie, they never remove any towels whatsoever. People queue from 6.30am to put towels down to reserve loungers so no one can use them through the day.
Theres probably 1 lounger for every 2 rooms and upto 4 people in each room.
Had a nice balcony with view of sea but no sun after 10am so useless really.
Cleaning staff did a good job cleaning rooms.
So the all inclusive from a drinks perspective allows some premium spirits such as havana club 3, Smirnoff, Gordons gin. I thought well thats good then, however the bar staff will do whatever they can to avoid giving you the premium spirits(pretty sure they aint paying so this must be management policy). I asked for smirnoff and coke, they try to not let you see they are putting in Smirkinoff vodka instead which is pointless to drink as doesnt get you drunk, when challenged they will then give you what you wanted but bad mouth you in spanish to the other bar staff. Bar staff are very rude and unprofessional, they need to realise we the customers are paying their wages. The staff in the restaurant however cannot do enough for you and are really nice.
The staff that look after the kids in kids club are great with kids and very nice.
Reception is hell, there can be just one person in front of you and it takes an hour to check in.

Date of stay: June 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank H3623UQroberte
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Guest Services, Other at Sol Principe, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2022

Dear guest,

First, I would like to thank you for taking part of your time to write and share your assessment of your experience at the Sol Principe hotel.

The hotel's policy establishes that the sunbeds in our pools cannot be reserved in any way, the lifeguards remove the towels from those clients who have put their towels without being in the place or those who take more than 1 hour to appear, in addition they offer accommodation to customers waiting to get the sunbed. We are so sorry that we did not meet your expectations.

We are very sorry that your experience has not been completely satisfactory, all the hotel staff work every day to offer an optimal service. However, please be assured that I will transfer this information to the appropriate departments to improve our services and achieve full customer satisfaction.

We really hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again at the hotel and offer the best hotel experience in Torremolinos.

Kind regards,
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2022 via mobile

What a horrible, horrible hotel.

They advertise as a family friendly hotel but far from it.

I arrived late on Friday with Saturday being my first full day. Around lunch time a glass wall around a pool shower collapsed two feet from myself, my wife and four year old son with shards of glass going on everywhere including all over ourself and our belongings. We were lying on our sun loungers at the time and the glass went everywhere. I dread to think of the outcome if my son was any closer.

Understandably we were all shocked and taken aback. The noise sounded like an explosion and I’m sure most will agree a terrifying experience. We took ourself upto the room and showered as well as spent time cleaning our bag, towels and belongings.

I pointed this out to hotel staff along with other issues and I’ve been completely ignored. Since then I’ve noticed cracking around other glass shower walls and the manager Silvia refuses to do anything and accuses me of being threatening. For what, saying there is another potential issue about to occur. What an embarrassing statement Sylvia!!!

Lots of the glass shower walls have severe cracking around the glass adhesive and I believe are ready to collapse, potentially on top of a young child.

Other issues, no inflatables are allowed in the pool, not even palm sized balls. As you can imagine my four year old son was shaken by the other issue, wanted to have some fun in the pool and everything he does he is told he is not allowed by the agressive pool staff. The funny thing is they do pool activities like volleyball and basket ball and clearly balls are allowed then. Later Sylvia said pool balls WERE allowed so guess what, I take a small ball in the pool to be confronted by a rude and aggressive pool attendant again.

What do they expect young kids to do in the pool all day when they aren’t allowed inflatables or balls in the pool? Do they honestly think kids will swim around all day with no suitable activities or toys allowed?

Other side issues that I wouldn’t normally bother with while on holiday. I’d just get them fixed and move on but not in this case. The electrics in the hotel room weren’t working and had to get staff to fix it. Days later the key card thing to switch on the room electrics fell off the wall baring wires.

The safe (that they unbelievably charge for) didn’t work.

The food is poor with no kids options unless they like veal or burnt salmon. They do not cater for kids. The overall food selection every night was the same and we ended up eating out most nights after paying HB.

The staff are rude, especially Silvia and the lifeguards.

It’s a crying shame as the hotel has a lot of potential but they seem determined to ruin what should be a fun, family experience.

Avoid, avoid, avoid.

Date of stay: June 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank ScottJem
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews