We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (256)
Filter reviews
256 results
Traveller rating
77
95
57
20
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
77
95
57
20
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews no lift ground floor room la carihuela beach montemar alto nice pool stayed longer short walk to the beach sunbathing area clean rooms each morning lots of shops air conditioning malaga airport reception area spain lola bars
Filter
Updating list...
31 - 36 of 256 reviews
Reviewed 16 October 2015

On arrival we agreed the hotel was very quaint. The bedroom clean but only one socket in bedroom area, the other one had been blocked by the air conditioning unit. The bedroom linen and towels were changed regularly and the room and bathroom also clean so that was a bonus. The downstairs area was dusty to the point of dirty and the breakfast area which was outside needed a good sweep and weed. The swimming pool area and garden also required more attention, we only used the pool area once as we both had mosquito bites that evening, our first day there. The breakfast was very basic, bread roll, cheese, ham, preserves and a packaged small cake, though it was served to you by a friendly waitress. There was a small bar but after we had been given brandy in a tumbler of questionable cleanliness we didn't use it again. This hotel is in a perfect location for the beach, shops, restaurants and small supermarket and with the right attention could be so much better.

Room Tip: No lift and we had to carry our own luggage, our room had a view over the swimming pool and garden, didn't see any of the other rooms
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Sue G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2015

Very romantic, little hotel surrounded by a garden. Very nice and helpful staff. Beautiful garden breakfast area, also a bar in the evening. Green pool area. Very clean rooms. Good location in the heart of Carihuela. Close to the beach and restaurants.Old house that used to be a private residence. Lot of stairs, no lift. Good air condicioning. Beds a little bit too hard. Good parking area on the premises.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Pauliina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2015

The hotel is an old house in a good position near the beach along the La Caruela strip. But it could do with modernisation but then it probably would not be such good value. Had a tripple room with 2 young children. Paying €10 extra for a tiny balcony at the back but was not worth sitting on. €3 per day for safe & you can hire a fridge which we didnt but its needed in summer for water and baby food.
Breakfast is basic and they could be more generous with the Juice a basic pre packaged muffin and some hard toasted rolls served in a pleasant coutyard which unfortunatel if having breakfast around 10am in summer some tables were in full sun which was not comfortable.
We had a scare with a coackroach in the room when we came back on our first night which rather put us off but the reception dealt with it after our screaming, couldnt move us but cleaning room throughly next day with plugs in bathroom. Apparently a common problem in area.
Staff were friendly and helpful in the circumstances.

Room Tip: balcony over the pool at the front would be best
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Henry K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2015

Strange name for a hotel in Costa del Sol, but if you just forget about the name, you will find a nice old setting with a small but clean swimming pool and an outdoor restaurant. This large three-story house was de home of a local celebrity, Lola Medina, a flamenco dancer who built it in the early 1950s. It became a hotel in 1957. Very well located, around fifty meters to the Carihuela beach, it is a quiet place even during the summer. Room 1 is obviously the best, with a large balcony over the swimming pool, but it has no air-conditioning, so it can be quite hot on summer days. A bit more of maintenance and updating would make a difference: there is no wifi in the rooms, only in the reception and restaurant.

Room Tip: Room 1 is the best
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gumucio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2015

Stayed at this lovely hotel at the end of June for a few nights with my daughters. What a find! Close to shops, restaurants and bars yet so peaceful. Yes the sun beds do need replacing and a fridge in the room would be very useful. I agree with previous comments about this hotels potential, it's a beautiful place with a lovely feel to it. Some cold meat, cheese and fruit would be a great addition for breakfast but then I guess the price would go up. All in all a lovely hotel and one I would return to.

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank shirl2904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews