We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
18 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
US$252
View deal
Expedia.com
US$252
View deal
Free cancellation until 14/08/22
Melia.com
US$227
View deal
Free cancellation until 14/08/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Hotels.comUS$252
PricelineUS$252
HurbUS$261
View all 17 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (6,526)
Filter reviews
6,526 results
Traveller rating
3,427
2,185
600
184
130
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
3,427
2,185
600
184
130
Show reviews that mention
All reviews level room level service sea view junior suite across the road rooftop pool mini bar half board excellent hotel costa del sol large hotel breakfast and dinner dining room beach front small pool pool towels town centre
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 6,526 reviews
Reviewed 3 July 2022

As usual, all the staff are so accommodating, helpful & genuinely friendly. Big improvements going on with the new reception area the new Melia's beach bar. Breakfast in the restaurant and the Level all good.

I have been using the Level ever since it was introduced downstairs on the side of the Bar. But what has happened to the Level standards? Where have all the little extras that made the Level stay that bit more special? The level room standards, evening bed turn down with fresh towels & a little chocolate bar. A strip of material with a perfumed spray keeping the room smelling nice. Free daily bottles of water no more. Ironically the "extras" are still shown on a video around the hotel.

The standard of room cleanliness has dropped my floor was filthy as was the shower area. It's a great hotel but the standards must improve to justify the Level cost.

Date of stay: June 2022
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sunshine_in_Espana
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
MARIA LEAL , Otros at Melia Costa del Sol, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Sunshine-in-España,
Thank you for taking a few minutes to share your opinion about Melia Costa del Sol, and choosing our hotel as your holiday’s destination
We truly appreciate your comments, we do take them into account in order to keep improving our services, ensuring a good quality service and guest satisfaction.
All our team hopes to get the opportunity to welcome you here again soon!

María Leal - Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2022

Let's start with the good - the hotel is nice. Nice rooms, amazing rooftops (both towers), good beachfront location, quality facilities, and so on.

The bad? We are halfway through our stay and not a single staff we have interacted with has been pleasant so far. I would've settled for indifferent but they've been downright unhelpful and borderline rude. Which is baffling because the people in this town (and Spain, in general) are very friendly.

The check-in lady blamed me for the reservation showing up incorrectly in their systems, even though I had a clear print-out of the hotel confirmation that said I had booked The Level. The manager insisted that I pay extra on the spot for a room at The Level, and to dispute it with the travel agency. The staff at The Level were equally rude about our ability to use the rooftop lounge. And when our keys stopped working the day after check-in, the front desk staff blamed us for putting them close to our phones. However, when asked, she acknowledged that the validity of the keys were incorrectly set to expire days before we were checking out. After she re-keyed them, I pressed her to check again and she said the validity of the keys were correctly set to tomorrow, even though we're checking out in 3 days. Lastly, the Beach Club entry guy was super rude when we asked if we could buy drinks. He basically said we needed to make a reservation to sit on the beach chairs and we must order food, which is false. He kept insisting that they were a restaurant, when there clearly were dozens of empty beach chairs.

Zero apologies. Zero accountability. Zero ownership of any issues you bring up to them. The staff here treat you like you're a burden and you're always wrong, instead of trying to help with the situation. Sadly, this is by far the worst service I've ever encountered in Spain, which is such a beautiful country with amazing food, people, and culture.

I really want to like this hotel and I've given it a couple of days, but... my recommendation? Avoid this hotel if you are expecting any service whatsoever. That said, the facilities are lovely.

Date of stay: July 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank kiatxl
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
MARIA LEAL , Otros at Melia Costa del Sol, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Kiatxl,

Our apologies for the inconveniences you have had in your stay. We do our best to exceed our guests´ expectations and we deeply regret to know that we have not reached yours.
We really take good note of all your impressions to try to avoid these incidents in the future and give our guests the best quality of services and products.
I remain at your complete disposal and look forward to have the opportunity to receive you back in the future.

María Leal - Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2022 via mobile

Absolutely lovely hotel gorgeous view from room. Completely spotless throughout. Staff were so very helpful especially the staff who work by the pool. Every morning they helped with getting umbrella for my Mum. Definitely recommend

Date of stay: June 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank J5760ZIpaulam
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
MARIA LEAL , Otros at Melia Costa del Sol, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Paula,
We hugely appreciate your kind words because for us your feedback is very important. It is a great pleasure to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us.
We truly hope to have the honor of welcome you back soon!
Best regards,
María Leal - Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2022 via mobile

Unfortunately we were very unlucky during our stay. Probably this does not happen to all guests and we were just unlucky, but still the experience remains the same.
Hotel location is great, just by the beach with many beach restaurants and souvenir shops close by. Car parking available. All rooms with seaview (from the side).
Sadly housekeeping and technical/reception services was horrible. Eveyday something went wrong. We didn't have any towels in the room upon check-in at noon. Took us 3 reminders and 6 hours until we finally received towels to shower in the evening. Balcony wasn't cleaned once within 7 days. Safe and telephone didn't work. Took 2 days and a reminder to get someone repair the safe and 4 days and 2 reminders for the phone. Muddy footprints on the toilet lid after housekeeping cleaned the room. Complaints at reception never changed a thing, communication between departments must be off as it took days for things to be done. Despite all these incidents we were never offered any compliments, were even denied to speak to a supervisor/manager. Upon checkout receptionist didn't even ask how the stay was.

Date of stay: June 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank NinaLu2287
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
MARIA LEAL , Otros at Melia Costa del Sol, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago


Dear NinaLu2287,
Thank you for taking a few minutes to share your opinion about Melia Costa del Sol, and choosing our hotel as your holiday’s destination.
Guests’ feedback is very important to us as it helps us improve our service and offer even more incredible experiences. We really hope to have another opportunity to welcome you back in the near future, so we can give you a better perception of our services and offer you the unforgettable experience you deserve.
Best regards,

María Leal
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2022 via mobile

Spent a delightful 4 days at Hotel Melia @ Costa del Sol, Malaga.
It’s a lovely property.
The room had all amenities. The breakfast was nice though we wish there were more vegetarian & vegan options.
Strongly recommend people to try this property

Date of stay: June 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 669aditim
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews