We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,886)
Filter reviews
2,886 results
Traveller rating
1,208
1,126
394
100
58
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,208
1,126
394
100
58
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sunny side bowling green half board plenty of sunbeds walk in shower across the road plenty of choice reception staff don marco dining room side sea view hotel complex excellent hotel building work evening entertainment indoor pool entertainment area
Filter
Updating list...
43 - 48 of 2,886 reviews
Reviewed 20 August 2018 via mobile

Just returned after a week HB st this hotel and will concentrate our review on what the hotel are 'responsible for and could possibly address if minded'.
Plus we will only compare to Hotels that we have stayed in and think are comparable.
E.g. - We will not compare against The Wynn and Bellagio in L Vegas or the Royal Meridian in Dubai as we think that would be unfair BUT instead we will compare against the Don Pancho in Benidorm as we think they should be roughly of the same standard and we have stayed there previously.
Firstly all staff are smart, polite, pleasant and professional. Big tick
Reception are and public areas inside the hotel are bright, very clean and modern. Big tick.
Pool grounds and pool very nice. Again big tick.
Management now taking action against the sun bed reserving idiots. Big tick.
Restaurant are very nice and modern. Big tick.
Rooms modern appearance and bright plenty of storage space for a couple. Family???
Now a bit more detail....
Rooms - refurbished but to a pretty poor standard apart from decent flooring. Bit of white paint and some new cheap furnishes. Shower did not work and a big crack in the door stention - room 1403.(will try to post pictures.
Towels very poor and shabby - some days like sand paper!
Bedding never changed during the week.
Back to restaraunt - still had the same cutlery and crockery that was used in the Sol hotels of the 1990's. Dirty knives and forks, chipped and still wet from the dish washer.
Food - lots of choice but same most days apart from the 'carvery' meats. Evening meal options included some very strange unknown fish choices and these made up 50% of the evening options. If you don't do skin and bones then you end up with a big reduction in choice....
Bread selection was nice and fresh though.....
Being only HB we bought food and drinks for the first couple of days.
HOWEVER be warned, these are very expensive. Beer x two large ones were nearly ten euros!! Plus one portion of hopes was €4.50. I counted 32 chips in the portion. Taking your eyes out....
Tip - go to the shop just outside near the beach as drinks are a 3rd of the price €1.50 for a large can of larger.
Entertainment - stayed for an hour one night and left after a gold hot pants bloke on a pole, (suitable for children??)juggler who dropped batons and synchronised swimmers who were not....
So in short and in our humble opinion a Sol hotel from the 1990's (like the Magaluf Park) that has been refurbished to a OK standard but nothing to get excited about. And possibly a hotel that's appears geared to Spanish family clients and not to UK but I suppose we are in Spain after all.....
Finally, the Don Pancho hotel interior, food and staff coupled with the Don Pablo grounds would make this an excellent Spanish hotel.
As this does not seem possible at this time, we will not be returning to this hotel.....
Sorry Don Pablo!

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
4  Thank PoogieDurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacobo D, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sol Don Pablo by Melia, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2018

Dear Poogiedurham,

Thank you very much for sharing your impressions with all the travellers here! All your comments are essential for us to constantly improve our service.

We feel extremely disappointed to know that we did not fulfill your expectations during your last stay with us. Our personnel works hard day by day to provide our guests with the most unique, pleasant and memorable experience. For this reason, we are sad to know that we did not get this right, due to some services, with you and we would like extend most sincere apologies.

We really appreciate all our guests' comments and recommendations and we would like to express our commitment to improve regarding the comments received.

Said this, we hope to have the chance to welcome you back and offer you the excellent experience you deserve.

Kind regards,

Veronica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2018 via mobile

This is our third visit to the Don Pablo and both previous visits have been great but to 4* rating on TripAdvisor.

However ... the good news ... it's now 5* all the way due mainly to a modernisation and improvement program since we were last here which must have cost millions !!!

Now believe me we are not talking slight improvements and modernisations ... we are talking lets take this place into 21st century big time !!!

Bedrooms, corridors, restaurants, lifts, reception, outside terraces, pool areas, walkways, gardens - its like they've been ripped up and started again!

Theres also a new two storey bar / restaurant which has been built with views towards the sea.

A workable and welcome new sunbed reservation policy - reserve when you like but be warned ... they are monitored! Leave them "reserved" or "unused" for 75 minutes & they are liable to get removed !!!

All said & done a great hotel for a family holiday - would certainly recommend!

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
3  Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacobo D, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sol Don Pablo by Melia, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2018

Dear Steve S,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with us and choosing us again for your holidays.

We are very happy to know that you had enjoyed your stay at Sol Don Pablo and you really liked our facilities, services and the improvements.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Best Regards,

Verónica.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2018 via mobile

Staying here currently cannot fault it so far ,check in sevice very good everything explained to you .rooms just fabulous clean and very modern, plenty of plug sockets to use usb charging as well. Fridge in room which is a bonus. Food so far brilliant hot and plenty of choice.the whole refurb is fab .stunning and would definatly be back

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with friends
3  Thank janF6012NB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacobo D, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sol Don Pablo by Melia, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2018

Dear JanF6012NB,

Thank you very much for taking the time to shre your experience with us.

We are very glad to know that you had enjoyed your stay at Sol Don Pablo Hotel and you found our facilities, services, meals and the room great.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kindest Regards,

Verónica.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2018 via mobile

We stayed in this beautiful hotel for 10 nights. This hotel has a very high standard. It is very clean and provides great services like fresh clean beach towels for a €1 charge, gym classes, entertainment nights and a fabulous breakfast. Its right on the beach and about 5 mins from the steps of the town. The staff are wonderful, very professional and helpful.
My sister and myself did a trampoline fitness class and it was great fun. My mom did a water fitness class and really enjoyed it also.
Theres a great vibe in the hotel and a wonderful ease. You could eat for days with the breakfast each mornjng. The selection of food is unbelievable. We did find the beach right outside the hotel to be stoney and a little unpleasant but we ventured towards the rock at Carihuela where we found a really nice spot.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
3  Thank Tinker B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacobo D, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sol Don Pablo by Melia, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2018

Dear Tinker B,

Thank you very much for this excellent review!
We are genuinely glad to know that your stay with us has been wonderful.
We love to hear you and your mother enjoyed our activities program. Our entertainment team work really hard everyday to make your stay memorable.
We hope to see you again soon at Sol Don Pablo.
Thank you very much for choosing us for your holidays.
Kindest regards,

Verónica.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2018

This is a good 4 star hotel but the food can be a hit or a miss sunday 12th dinner was a big no no half cooked fish and burgers . I did mention this to the cook at that part of the service and got a shrug for a reply .entertainment was good at night but during the day poor woud have been good to have a pool table in one of the three hotels archary or darts for adults to pass the time . Great location beach and shops a short walk away
may return

Room Tip: Our room on the fifth floor was very good 1533
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank billy030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacobo D, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sol Don Pablo by Melia, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2018

Dear Mr. Billy030,

Thank you very much for taking the time and sharing your experience with us.

We apologice for the inconvenience about the 12th dinner. We will adress your comments to the kitchen, for sure. However, we are happy to know that you had enjoyed with the entertainment during the night and you found our location nice.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kindest Regards,

Verónica.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews