We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
11 people are viewing this hotel
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.comUS$118
PricelineUS$118
Barcelo.comUS$118
Hotels.comUS$118
TravelocityUS$118
TripadvisorUS$118
View all 18 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (923)
Filter reviews
923 results
Traveller rating
431
207
157
80
48
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
431
207
157
80
48
Show reviews that mention
All reviews limited storage stayed nights in hotel kids animation pool opens spanish german french guests lovely hotel wardrobe door the check in process lovely swimming pool family room something nice to eat all inclusive branded spirits loved our stay bottled water quieter pool
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
66 - 71 of 923 reviews
Reviewed 20 June 2022 via mobile

Big hotel with nice area. Food is very poor-every day the same, ants in the room and bed, animators started to work just only in Friday. Also need practice for them. All inclusive but you get only nuts from snacks! Ice cream only in lunch and dinner time!!!
We came at night, to find room in the dark was very hard.
Air mattress is not allowed in the pool, but writing that is family hotel. They said that is rules. But everywhere was allowed before where we was.

Date of stay: June 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Zydruneben
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Hotel- cmanager, Owner at Occidental Torremolinos Playa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2022

Dear Guest,
We appreciate that you took the time to share your experience with us.

At Barcelo, we strive to make our cuisine one of the best experiences our guests can have and always welcome their suggestions.

Additionally, we try to offer a wide range of entertainment activities to ensure that everyone has a fun stay, please let us know what you would like to see next time around.

The ban on the use of inflatable mats in the pool is a safety issue for our guests, we regret that you did not like this.

We hope that we can see you again soon.
Kind regards,


Juan Antonio Romero
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2022

Just back from a relaxing seven nights at the Occidental and can't fault it. My wife and I have walking difficulties and actually picked the hotel for its walk in shower as we can't get in and out a bath. We were told by the travel agents that the hotel was a good 30 minute walk to the town centre but that didn't phase us because we had no intentions of sight seeing or shopping and our holiday would be just relaxing around the pool.
That's what we did and it was superb. The staff were lovely and helpful, the meals were high standard and hot, the AI drinks were decent and the weather was great. Best holiday I have had in years.
Will definately return.

Date of stay: June 2022
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank greenbraes27
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Hotel- cmanager, Owner at Occidental Torremolinos Playa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2022

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your kind feedback.

We are delighted that you appreciated the efforts of our chefs as we strive to satisfy the many culinary wishes of our guests by offering tasty international and local dishes.

Thank you for your lovely comments regarding the service you received from our team members, we will be sure to share your kind words as we know it will mean a great deal.

We look forward to welcoming you back for another memorable experience.

Best wishes,


Juan Antonio Romero
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2022 via mobile

Good - it is easy to get to from Malaga airport on the train .
The pools are large , clean and a great temperature. Good for kids because it’s not that deep .
The rooms and hotel inside are modern , stylish , comfy beds and a decent bathroom .
The drinks on all inclusive are great , some of the best we have had on all inclusive offering branded spirits with decent measures.
The location is is great fir the beach ; just across the road .
It’s a 3 mile walk into Torremolinos but there are bars along the way .

Bad
Only the train as transport to get into the centre so put on your walking shoes . But in its favour , it is a flat walk along the beach road .
The food maybe ok for some ; it’s fine and edible but it’s the same stuff with limited choice each meal .
On the positive , upgrading to all inclusive was only £30 a day which we definitely consumed in drinks and snacks alone so on the whole there is nothing to complain about .
But , if you are all about the food then this may not be the place for you .
The shower has a really bizarre door on it that anyone in the bedroom can open and see right inside . It’s the weirdest thing I have seen in a room . If I wasn’t 100% comfortable with anyone who I am sharing with seeing me butt naked or on the loo , I would not stay here .
The cleaners are very nosy in the morning( 7 am ) . They shout down the corridors and even after my friend went out and asked them to be quiet ; it continued .

We are two ladies having a break from reality for a long weekend, this hotel did its job and kept us hydrated and relaxed us . We walked out in to town for a few meal to break up the monotonous meals at the hotel . We would come back for a girls holiday but would only return with our children and husbands if the price was good to allow us to go out to restaurants in the evening to compensate for the food !
If the hotel improved its food then it could really compete !

Date of stay: June 2022
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Rachel12000
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Hotel- cmanager, Owner at Occidental Torremolinos Playa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2022

Dear Rachel,
We appreciate that you took the time to share your experience with us.

We have taken good note of your remarks on the dining experiences which will be reviewed with our chef for information and action. Furthermore, we are sorry you were disturbed by our housekeeping team; we will reinforce the necessity to respect the wishes of our guests to relax.

We are pleased that you had an enjoyable stay with us and that you were able to make the most of our heated pool.

We would like to thank you for highlighting the comfort of our beds; at Barceló we understand that a comfortable and satisfying nights' sleep is a top priority for our guests, therefore we pay close attention when it comes to choosing the mattresses.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back on future occasions.
Best regards,


Juan Antonio Romero
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2022

After a rocky start with 3 unsuitable rooms we had a great stay. We had requested adjoining rooms as we are 4 females on a birthday trip and we wanted to all spend time together. Our allocated rooms were on the ground floor with terraces opposite from each other. The website had stated balcony/terrace, however what we had was a path with two chairs and a small table. Not private at all as guests were walking past and we were opposite the pool toilet. We were moved to another two rooms, one of which was very smelly. Third room was still disappointing, the balcony was only big enough for two chairs and one small round table and would definitely not fit the 4 of us together. However we opted to spend the night in it and speak with a manager in the morning. The manager, Antonio? was very apologetic and moved us to two junior suites, however we had to pay a premium to upgrade.

After the rooms were sorted, we had a great stay, the junior suites were very spacious and had large balconies, a large bathroom and a separate sitting room. If you want to spend time on a balcony with your family the standard double/twins are not big enough.

Food was and drinks were good. Breakfast served till 1030am. Dinner did not start till 730pm which I felt was a little late and the snacks were not topped up regularly in the restaurant outwith meal times. We asked for more snacks at 615pm one evening and were told they had finished, however we knew they were not finished until 715pm and so eventually they replenished them. Bar staff were friendly. Hotel was clean.

We had a good stay with friends, however I feel slightly disappointed in the rooms and so I don't think I would return to this hotel for this reason.

Room tip: Rooms on ground floor have a very small terrace.
Date of stay: June 2022
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jackie443
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 12 June 2022 via mobile

Travelled to this hotel with our 2 young kids last week, All inclusive. The hotel is at least 30 minutes walk to Torromelinos. There is a small shop around the corner which is quiet expensive. There are a number of restaurants along the beach. No night life or late night bars in the area.
The hotel itself is a lovely hotel with beautiful floral grounds which are kept well, staff are very friendly. Rooms spacious and clean. The entertainment and food let the hotel down. The food was so repetitive and oily.
The kids menu is very disappointing , there was a serious lack of variety mostly pasta and chips. There were no ice lollies or ice creams available to kids outside of meal times. There was a Kids club, we never seen anyone around the pool for kids activities, lacking entertainment for kids. Every day at 3pm a girl did water aerobics that was it. The slides for the kids in the hotel in our opinion were not very safe for younger kids as the steps were metal and kids were falling up the steps and hurting their shins. At night there was a Mini disco which was cancelled on a few occasions and the night it was on it lacked enthusiasm and fun.
The Adult night entertainment was extremely disappointing. The bar area practically empty by 10.30 every night. The Bar staff were excellent but visibly under serious pressure with queues forming and there was nobody on hand to wipe up drink spillages off floors and tables only the bar staff if they got a chance. The glasses in the bar were not clean on occasion.
We really feel for the price we paid we did not get the 4 star experience that we had experienced in previous 4 star hotels.
A special mention to photographer Stefan who was so friendly and polite around the hotel, always a smile and hello. He took great pictures of our family he was excellent and has a lot of patience capturing treasured moments of our kids.
Overall this hotel is not up to the standard of a 4 star. We will not return to this hotel anytime soon.

Date of stay: June 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank MrsIrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews