We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, very modern hotel”
Review of Barcelo Malaga

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Barcelo Malaga
Ranked #4 of 89 Hotels in Malaga
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 March 2012

Clean modern hotel right beside the main train station so it was handy travelling from the airport in only 8 minutes. Room was clean and the bed was very large and comfortable. Extensive choice at the breakfast buffet which we had one day as we wanted to make a very early start, but a bit expensive at €15 per person. Going down the slide is a must and is great fun feature. A couple of minor niggles like a loose plug in the bath and loud noise when others let their doors slam but nothing that spoiled our stay.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Amanda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,103)
There are newer reviews for Barcelo Malaga
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,299 - 1,303 of 3,103 reviews

Reviewed 23 February 2012

The hotel location is excellent if you are arriving by train or bus. The hotel can be accessed from the train staion and the bus station is adjacent. You can travel to and from the airport for €1.40. The waterfront is a short walk away. There are lots of eateries in the station which is also a shopping centre.

The puiblic rooms are modern and the decor is a matter of taste. The bedrooms are spacious with excellent showering and bathing facilities. There is wifi in the rooms , a minibar but no tea or coffee facilities.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank jaybea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2012

This is a smart and modern hotel, which tends to look a little basic in its decor. The room was good and big and we had two large comfortable beds. The train station is adjacent and for a nights stay after travelling it was perfect.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mosomoso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2012

A lovely hotel in a very good location - above the railway station, with a shopping centre, bowling alley and a variety of restaurants and only 3 stops from the airport.
We had a really warm welcome (even though we arrived 3 hours early). The rooms were large and clean with very comfortable beds (sheets were a little to well starched, but I'm not going to complain as they were very clean). There was a seperate bathroom with a great power shower, big towels and complimentary toiletries. Breakfast was good with lots of choice. Decoration throughout the hotel was 'unique' with some great features. However, the highlight of my stay was definately the slide from the first to the ground floor - I was like a child for the day getting the lift from the 6th to the 1st floor then the slide down to the ground - everytime I left the hotel I had a big smile on my face ;0)
All in all we had a very comfortable night in a lovely hotel.

Room Tip: It doesn't matter - just make sure you only go to the first floor when you exit and take the sli...
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 68sf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2012

This hotels best point is its handy location directly adjacent to main train station; fast links to basically the rest of Spain can be easily achieved.
Nice functional hotel clean comfortable, wi fi did not work in my room but was given Ethernet cable by front desk so sorted. I did find the bar in hotel a very strange concept as I had to ask where to get a drink and coffee and was asked to wait in area by reception and someone appeared from behind door to take my order and returned with my coffee and drink, I was the only person in this modern space ship environment and not surprised as it did feel rather unwelcoming. All personnel polite as professional, excellent breakfast selection.
Stayed mid January 2012 and found Malaga to be very pleasant City, some good eating in centre of old town, can also recommend the Carmen Thyssen-Bornemisza Collection and Picasso museum if you like that sort of thing.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JRH26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malaga hotels
Room Mate Larios
#3 of 89 in Malaga
1,097 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Ilunion Malaga
Ilunion Malaga
#8 of 89 in Malaga
532 reviews
Centro
NH Malaga
NH Malaga
#9 of 89 in Malaga
1,236 reviews
Perchel
Salles Hotel Malaga Centro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Malaga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Malaga

Address: Heroe de Sostoa 2 | Estacion Vialia Maria Zambrano, 29002 Malaga, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Malaga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Malaga
#2 Family Hotel in Malaga
#2 Romantic Hotel in Malaga
#4 Luxury Hotel in Malaga
Price Range: €89 - €267 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Malaga 4*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Barceló Malaga hotel located next to the city railway station, just 10 minutes from the city center and the coastline is one of the few Spanish hotels recognized by the prestigious British Magazine Wallpaper as one of the 50 best business hotels in the world. It hosts the most amazing lobby of our country with its particular six meters high stainless steel slide connecting the first floor directly with its B-Lounge. Its 221 modern and comfortable rooms ensure a pleasant break, while the 1,500 m2 Convention Center seduces sectors committed to design to ensure the success of their events and meetings. In addition, the outstanding cuisine of the restaurant 'El Anden' awarded with the José Meliá Finisterra award for the best hotel restaurant in Malaga, makes meals a real gourmet experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Barcelo, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Barcelo Malaga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Malaga Hotel Malaga
Barcelo Hotel Malaga
Barcelo Hotel málaga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing