We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot for a visit in Malaga”
Review of Hotel Molina Lario

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Molina Lario
Ranked #4 of 89 Hotels in Malaga
Certificate of Excellence
Warsaw, Poland
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great spot for a visit in Malaga”
Reviewed 6 May 2012

We stayed there 2 nights, at the beginning of our Andalusia trip. Very good location, close to all major attractions and plenty of restaurants nearby to choose for dinner. Deluxe room that we booked was specious, included a king size bed, good quality bathroom amenities and Whiskey as a welcome drink. Our rate included breakfast, which we definitely recommend. It was best quality breakfast we enjoyed during the trip. The only watchout is the size of breakfast room. Make sure you avoid rush hours. Unfortunately the roof pool was in renovation during our visit, so we didn't have a change to check it out.

Room Tip: Choose the deluxe room, incl. breakfast
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wbarto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,903 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,007
    714
    133
    36
    13
See reviews for
249
1,070
63
124
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (309)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2012

I originally booked the Molina Lario on Hotels.com three months before my arrival date because of the central location in Malaga and pictures which presented the hotel in a good light. In retrospect, what a mistake.

Upon arrival, I was told by the receptionist that my reservation would not be honored. Despite the fact that they chose to overbook the hotel for a special event (Spanish film festival group), they chose to add insult to injury by insulting my intelligence. They blamed the overbooking on a “computer problem.” They offered us a room across the street in a deteriorating hotel that reeked of cigarette smoke and was not as nice.

Since I am a Hotels.com “Fivestar member” and loyal customer I called the 800 number and explained the situation to them. They spoke to the receptionist and she continued to claim that the computers were the root issue and would not accomodate us in any way. Hotels.com completely refunded our money for the inconvenience. However, we were stuck with the substandard hotel.

Since I would not want anyone else to experience this same disrespect and inconvenience I officially requested that Molina Lario be removed from Hotel.com list of hotels and that this request be referred to the highest level of management for review.

To date, I have not heard the final outcome, but hopefully the hotel will be removed from the hotel.com site so that no one else who uses the site will be disappointed. As for anyone else who finds this hotel by other means, be prepared to be shuttled to another hotel if a better deal comes along despite the fact that you booked three months prior.

But hey, if that happens just know they’ll make sure they insult your intelligence by blaming the overbooking on the “computer” and you’ll get some cheesy halfhearted attempt at an apology with two teeny tiny bottles of cheap wine (the kind of bottles they serve on airplanes) and some gummy bear candies.

I haven't been treated this shabilly in a long time. Worst customer service I have run into yet.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank TravelQueen2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
932722083, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Molina Lario, responded to this review, 9 May 2012
We can only apologize for your bad experience in our Hotel. We are very conscious that when someone is travelling is very uncomfortable that once you arrive at the Hotel that you booked, the Hotel decides to give you a room in another place. Overbooking is not our police, however, in this occasion, due to a computer error, we were obliged to accommodate you to another hotel. Because we really worry about our guests, we decide to change you to the Hotel which it is located just in front of our Hotel, and have the same category of ours, 4 starts. We are really sorry, if you didn’t fell comfortable in the AC Hotel.

We would like to know you that we take comments about your staff very seriously, and for us is very important that our guest fell completely welcomed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2012

Great location, a deal with the breakfast, often upgrades are available if you book direct and really good staff, parking underneath the hotel is ideal. I love Malaga and studied here years ago, the Molina is really well located and closer to 5 star than 4. Grab yourself a bargain before everyone else finds out. I have stayed here three times now and apart from the bar prices its exceptional on all fronts, most of all you are a few minutes away from central Malaga and its fantastic nightlife.

Room Tip: Just stay here its ace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AdrianM853
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2012

4 Star comfort, with friendly staff, ideally situated for the Old Town of Malaga - excellent Restaurants and old buildings .

Room Tip: 4th floor - some lifts still require you to climb stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Al H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrickfergus, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2012

Stayed here for 1 night pre cruise, hotel is really good, room was bright,spacious and spotless! We were two adults and two kids and there was lots of space! The staff were excellent and very helpful! Definitely would recommend this hotel to all!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hals19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malaga hotels
Barcelo Malaga
#3 of 89 in Malaga
3,032 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Room Mate Larios
#2 of 89 in Malaga
1,083 reviews
Centro
Room Mate Valeria
Room Mate Valeria
#1 of 89 in Malaga
487 reviews
Perchel
Salles Hotel Malaga Centro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Molina Lario? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Molina Lario

Property: Hotel Molina Lario
Address: c/ Molina Lario 20-22, 29015 Malaga, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Malaga > Centro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Malaga
#2 Business Hotel in Malaga
#4 Romantic Hotel in Malaga
#4 Luxury Hotel in Malaga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Molina Lario 4*
Number of rooms: 103
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Molina Lario reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Molina Lario málaga
Molina Lario Hotel málaga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing