We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (827)
Filter reviews
827 results
Traveller rating
389
308
84
22
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
389
308
84
22
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssteam roomleisure facilitiesthe salt water poolfinnish saunaindoor poolfitness areatrain stationtransplant gamesprevious hotelworking portspacious hotellarge tvport areaport viewbreakfast spreadan easy strollgreat hotel
Filter
Updating list...
42 - 47 of 827 reviews
Reviewed 23 December 2017

I could not fault the staff, the breakfast and the facilities. What ruined the stay for me was the extremely hard bed in our room - 526. As soon as I sat down it felt like all there was was a sheet covering a wooden platform. I have never experienced a bed so hard in all my travels. I went downstairs and asked for a foam covering. The young lady at the desk did not seem surprised when I said the bed was too hard. She immediately sent up housekeeping to put a foam cover over the mattress. Unfortunately it was very thin covering that did not nothing to ease the hardness. I went downstairs again and asked for help but none was forthcoming. No offer of another bed or another room, or proper padding. My husband and I could not sleep and faced the next morning with unbelievable pains in our legs and our backs, plus exhaustion from lack of sleep. I asked in the morning to have pillows sent up to the room and they brought enough pillows to cover one side of the bed. we put them together, recovered them with a blanket and the sheets. I then asked for more pillows - twice- to cover the other side of the bed but none were forthcoming. My husband and I lived on painkillers the whole time we were there. Since it was right before Christmas, it would have been impossible to find other accommodation.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank loughreagal95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilunion H, Gerente at Ilunion Malaga, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2018

Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for sending us your comments.
We regret that you could not fully enjoyed your stay with us and we are really sorry that all our effort did not fulfill your expectations.
We will take in consideration your feedback to improve our service and we hope to have the opportunity to recover your confidence in our hotel.

Kind regards
Mar Almagro
Directora Hotel ILUNION Málaga

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2017

We stayed here in mid-December for a few days' escape from the British winter. It may well be different in high season.

The hotel appears to be geared up mainly for business users. There are extensive conference facilities and the first impression on entering the foyer is that it's a corporate headquarters. The benefit of this is that everyone has their act together and the service provided by the staff is very slick and professional. The receptionists all speak excellent English (and German and French). The hotel is modern and very clean.

We had a double room with port view. These rooms cost more but are large and have a kettle. There was a small supply of instant coffee, tea and various fruit teas but only sachets of coffee whitener. You also get free bottled water. We were presented with two single beds pushed together, which wasn't a problem. If you want a king-sized bed, specify it when you book. The room had two easy chairs plus a chair for the desk. There was a large flat-screen TV, but the only English channels were American financial news. There are entertainment channels in Spanish, French, German and Italian.

There was a lot of traffic noise from the main road in front of the hotel, even with the windows closed. This shouldn't be a problem for city dwellers, but if you want peace and quiet, get a smaller room at the back. The air conditioning was efficient and the beds were comfortable. Wi-fi in the room was poor, although quite good enough for checking email. There is a wired internet point in the room and there are PCs available to use in the reception / lounge area.

The bathroom was large and had a bathtub with shower over. There were two wash basins and the plugs worked - a rarity in Spain! The water pressure was good and the hot was hot. The WC and bidet were separated from the main bathroom by a frosted screen and door.

There was plenty of hanging space in the wardrobe, but the room lacked much in the way of drawer space. Presumably, the rooms are geared up for short stay business trips. There is plenty of room to store your case flat and keep your clothes in it.

There is a large breakfast room with a buffet service (so you can eat and drink as much as you like). There is a range of fresh juices. Coffee comes out of a machine, but was excellent. The machine also dispenses hot water for tea. Breakfast caters for all European tastes with bacon, eggs (fried, scrambled or Spanish omelette) and sausage, a wide selection of cereals, fresh fruit, bread, cakes and toast, cold meats cheese, nuts and dried apricots. The hotel bar serves light meals at lunchtime and in the evening. We only ate there occasionally but what we had was excellent.

There is an indoor pool and spa although we did not use them.

The hotel is about 400 metres from the main station with trains from the airport and to every part of Spain. The station also encloses a large shopping mall and there are other shops closer to the hotel. If you want to make proper English tea in your room, there are two supermarkets that both sell fresh milk and tea. I'd recommend also using their bottled water at 20 cents for 1.5 litres - the tap variety is heavy on chlorine. It's about 1.5 km to the centre of town, but the stop for the ubiquitous no 3 bus is just around the corner. Just pay the driver - at the time of writing the fare (billete ordinario) was €1.30. The bus also takes you to the Corte Ingles department store.

Generally, we had a comfortable stay with excellent service. The only irritation is that Ilunion Hotels central booking system is confusing to navigate and it's very difficult to contact a human from the UK. Their website does not give a phone number of email address for hotel reception. Going through one of Tripadvisor's partners might be an easier option, but you would miss out on the cheapest deals.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front are better appointed but there is traffic noise. Those at the back are quieter,
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilunion H, Gerente at Ilunion Malaga, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2018

Dear Jim,

We greatly appreciate the time invested in giving us your comment about your recent stay with us.
It has been a pleasure for us to have you among our guest and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you very much for your nice words.

All our team hope to welcome you again very soon.
Kind regards
Mar Almagro
Directora Hotel ILUNION Málaga

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2017 via mobile

We didn’t manage to find the hotel easily in the late evening but we impressed when we found it. Reception staff were helpful and gave us a local map. The towels fir the indoor pool are€10. Each and refunded on return. Housekeeping will provide dressing gowns , if asked, as there are no changing rooms in the pool area. When we were there, the pool temperature was a bit chilly, the steam room worked 3 out of 5 says and the sauna 4 days. There were tea & coffee facilities provided in the room and a hot and cold breakfast including fresh omelettes. We only managed to have 1 omelette as the chef seemed a bit elusive at the times we went for breakfast. There was a small dining area open in the evening and we ate there 3 times. They were open until 11.30 pm and had a good range of meals. It was a good 15 min walk into Malaga centre and 1/2 to the lovely port area and we sometimes didn’t feel like going back out again in the evening. There is an underground car park at the hotel and the charge is €11 a night. The local buses €3.5@ each, one way to the coast and a hour journey .

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Carol W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilunion H, Gerente at Ilunion Malaga, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2017

Dear Carol,

We would like to thank you for choosing ILUNION Málaga and for sharing your opinion with us,
It has been a pleasure for us to know that you have enjoyed your recent stay with us.
All our team hope to welcome you again very soon.
Kind regards,

Mar Almagro
Directora Hotel
ILUNION Málaga

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2017 via mobile

We stayed here for 5 nights with our small child. Nice, clean hotel with good facilities.

Very friendly and helpful staff. Check-in was efficient.

Lovely heated indoor pool (December).

Housekeeping better on some days than others depending on which staff member was attending. Sometimes they wouldn't replenish our water and tea.

We booked a double-bed room but got 2 twin beds pushed together.

Overall, I would recommend this hotel.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
Thank HeratiTeera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilunion H, Gerente at Ilunion Malaga, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2017

Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing ILUNION Málaga. It has been a pleasure for us to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

All our team hope to welcome you again very soon.
Kind regards,

Mar Almagro
Directora Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2017

We spent six nights at the hotel. Reception was very friendly and helpful. We got a nice quiet room and spacious bathroom on the seventh floor. Bed was very comfortable and we slept very well. Hotel is located at five minutes from the train and bus station. Nearby is the Corte Ingles and a large commercial centre (Larios). It's a 15 minutes'walk to the historic centre which is really worth to walk around. From there you can walk to the port and the beach. Breakkfast had excellent choices. In the evening we had a drink in the bar where the sevice was very friendly. We recommend this hotel for a stay in Malaga which is really a very pleasant city and worth a visit.

Room Tip: We had a room on the seventh floor and it was very quiet.
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ErikaZonhoven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilunion H, Gerente at Ilunion Malaga, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for giving us your review. We are grateful for the fact that you give such a good feedback about your stay with us.
Your opinion has been share with the whole team and we would like you to know that we will be very happy to receive you again in the future.

Yours sincerily,

Mar Almagro. Hotel Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews