We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,082)
Filter reviews
1,083 results
Traveller rating
644
275
114
25
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
644
275
114
25
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsround bathcosta del solsea soul restaurantoutdoor jacuzzianimation teamdress code in the restaurantseparate showerswim up roomproper swimspa accessoffering foodprivate shared poolnice room and bathroomabba tributegreat job of keeping it cleanspecial mention to pacohalf board
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 1,083 reviews
Reviewed 11 August 2018 via mobile

We arrived late in the day by van coming from Gibraltar. They had made a change to our room reservations but allowed us to look at the rooms before it was finalized. That was very helpful though it took awhile. There were kids running everywhere and music coming from a show by the elevator. We were excited to stay.

By the time that we were done figuring out the room changes we still needed to get dinner for the six of us. We asked Patricia what time the buffet closed and she indicated it closed in 9 minutes at 10pm but it would be no problem as they stop serving at 10:30. She practically insisted we go and get a table. I collected the family and we entered the restaurant about five minutes later. When we got to the seat, a waiter came and started asking all kinds of questions about where we are staying, which room, which package we had, what we needed. When we finished with all of that, we headed to the buffet. They started removing all the food and shutting off the lights. It turns out Patricia was wrong and they do immediately close at 10pm. We grabbed a couple of old pieces of fish and whatever scraps we could as they cleared the buffet. We were told they were closing and received a bill for 45€ per adult (4 adults) even though my wife didn’t even get any food. It was 15€ per child (2 children).

Essentially they told us that even though there was not food out, and we only ended up with 10 minutes in the room, crossing the threshold means we pay full price. They acted like we were being unreasonable despite them ushering us in the door knowing they were closing. They were rude and tried to make it seem like we should have known better despite having never been to their hotel. Patricia told us she would talk to the manager about the miscommunication.

At check out, we were billed the full amount and asked to speak to the manager. All Patricia did was leave a note telling management we were wrong and deserved to be billed. I spoke with an administrator who had to go and talk to the manager of the restaurant. She ultimately came back and said they would remove the bill for one adult and one child. We payed 150€ for ten minutes to collect leftover scraps and spend the first night arguing with Patricia. I asked to speak with the manager of the restaurant and was told he is off site despite the lady having just gone back to talk to him.

It is my opinion based on reading the reviews and my experience with the place, that it is a bustling hotel focused on volume and consistent additional charges such as a fee to to use your in room safe (I have never seen such a thing) instead of a quality stay. I would not recommend this place for an American staying abroad. It is not pace to relax and you will be treated as an atm for their staff.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank jrhennin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHoteles, Quality Manager at Iberostar Costa Del Sol, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear guest,

Thank you for your feedback. We sincerely regret the incident on your night of arrival. Our staff are professional, highly-trained and well-prepared individuals, therefore we are surprised by your observations, nevertheless, we will relay your personal opinion to our team for their serious consideration. We hope that you enjoyed the rest of your stay at our beautiful, four-star hotel, the perfect place for a marvellous family holiday and we hope to see you and your family in the future at one of our establishments.

Best regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Costa del Sol

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2018 via mobile

We booked this hotel looking for a Marbella vacation. Ratings and reviews were good what convinced us. Is fully ok however we might have been expecting more from a 4 star hotel as we know from other countries. Entrance to hotel is very nice. Facilities are good. Rooms are not special but fine and all very clean. Bathroom in the partial see view room was big, with a large round bathtub and separate shower. A highlight: the water stays inside the shower! What do not usually happens in modern design showers. Products, if you get them (whole hotel running out of body wash gel) smell very nice and are supposed to be organic. Food was ok. As a person which tries to eat vegan I found more choices than in other places for breakfast, however my husband found the food bald. Pool is a bit small for the size of the hotel and number of activities they want to have but to be fair it was high season. Everywhere is crowded! Beach is not pretty, too many stones.
Overall good and ok value for your money. Only thing to know is that without a car you are in the middle of nowhere!! Even a cab ride to Estepona starts at €15 without too much traffic.
Personnel was friendly and helpful.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Loregirltravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHoteles, Quality Manager at Iberostar Costa Del Sol, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2018

Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing Iberostar for your holiday. Your helpful review is an incentive for us to continue to the best of our ability so that all our guests feel as comfortable as you were in our hospitality. The fact that you could have a wonderful time in our hotel is an excellent confirmation of our efforts. Also, we would like to thank you for your helpful feedback and will gladly forward it accordingly on your behalf. We attach great importance to every detail available to us in order to ensure that our guests always have a very pleasant stay in our hotels. Therefore, we would like to express our appreciation to you for the improvement possibilities that your comments provide us with.

Thank you once again for sharing your review and we hope you continue to include us in your future holiday arrangements.

Best Regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Costa del Sol

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2018

Visited this hotel at the end of June with family and friends.There were 5adults and 4 children and I would certainly say it is a hotel for families as at this time there seem to be an influx of Spanish families on holidays and I found the pool busy and noisy.Fortunately there is beds at the beach end of the hotel which was a quiet area to read my book and go for a stroll along the beech, The hotel itself is clean and comfortable and the food was very good with a good variety at breakfast and dinner in the evening.The entertainment in the evening was not off a high quality but really enjoyed the ABBA Girls.Staff were all pleasant and helpful and rooms were cleaned to a high standard.It is a bit far from Marbella a taxi costs 30 Euro one way which is expensive.I would say that anyone with children would really like this hotel personally I prefer a more Quiet hotel but that’s my preference.

Room Tip: Side sea view rooms were very nice
Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Goingonhols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHoteles, Quality Manager at Iberostar Costa Del Sol, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2018

Dear guest,

We would like first of all to thank you for your review of your stay with us. Our day to day efforts are to create a particularly pleasant atmosphere for our guests with the numerous services available in our wonderfully designed hotel, so your words confirming our success are really important to us. We will certainly extend your praise to all of our dedicated colleagues because we know we have quite a remarkable team here.

We hope to have the pleasure of your company again, in the not too distant future at one of our Iberostar hotels.

Best Regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Costa Del Sol

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2018 via mobile

We checked in today. We have stayed here twice previously - in April 2016 (2 nights) & October 2016 (1 week - our honeymoon). We really liked the hotel with its spacious, comfortable rooms, friendly staff & decent food & drink. We decuded to treat ourselves again to a sharing pool suite - not cheap at this time of year - as we stayed in one in October 2016 & loved it. There was an indoor pool with 3 hydro jets & a large jacuzzi - apparently this no longer exists. I am a bit obsessive about hydrotherapy as I have severe problems with back & pelvis & shoulder & I find jets & jacuzzis very beneficial. I have just been in the shared pool & found that neither of the two large jets are working. So presumably the hotel expect me to pay €17 for two hours in the hotel spa thermal circuit if I want to ease my severe back, hip & shoulder pain. We would never have paid £4,500 for this holiday had we realised there is no longer an indoor pool ir working jets in the shared pool. There used to be jets in the main hotel pool as well, but they have been removed & in any case that pool is not big enough for the size of hotel. Iberostar why have you closed the indoor pool & why aren't the jets working in the shared pool for our very expensive shared pool suite?! I'm currently waiting to see if the engineer promised by bloke on reception turns up to "fix the problem" of the jets & also awaiting a call or visit from the hotel assistant (duty?) manager. Meanwhile, I am so disappointed I could cry!! And on top of that we did not receive the glass of Cava on arrival (a Spanish family were checking in at the same time & all the adults had a glass!). Moreover, lunch was disappointing -I tried the seafood paella & it had little in the way of seafood; couoke of little oysters & some rubbery fish chunks & the rice hadn't cooked properly. They didn't have vanilla or chocolate icecream either! Sadly, thus may be our 3rd and final visit here. I had hoped to write a glowing review but atow that is on hold pending feedback, advice, help frlm the hotel management.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
2  Thank FABFEB3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHoteles, Quality Manager at Iberostar Costa Del Sol, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2018

Dear Guest,

First of all, we would like to thank you for taking the time to share your impressions with us about our hotel and to express our gratitude to you for returning to visit us for the third time. We sincerely regret that you were not happy on arrival at our establishment, and are delighted that our team have since been able to help you.

Our dedicated maintenance team always repair any discrepancies in our facilities as soon as possible, however, we apologise for the inconvenience caused. Furthermore, we are sorry for the misunderstanding regarding your welcome drink, at Iberostar we aim to welcome all of our guests with open arms, but we believe on this occasion that there was some confusion. We trust that you enjoyed the rest of your stay and as on your other visits thoroughly enjoyed the room, our excellent and varied cuisine and of course our wonderful team of staff that are characterized by their kind and friendly manner. We hope that we will have the pleasure of your company at our hotel for your fourth visit and until then we wish you all the best.

Kind regards,


Quality Manager
Iberostar Costa del Sol

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2018 via mobile

The hotel is situated too far from the city Estepona. There is nothing besides the hotel.

Most of the hotel staff is unsupportive, they don’t pay attention to the guests requests. Even though they present as family hotel it is almost impossible to enter the spa. The services do not comply with 4 star hotel rating.

Too loud animate programs not structured well.

Overall we would not recommend for your family vacation.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
4  Thank Michaela K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHoteles, Quality Manager at Iberostar Costa Del Sol, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2018

Dear Michaela,

Thank you very much for your comments regarding our hotel. We regret that you did not completely enjoy your stay. First of all, we would like to explain that our staff are selected following a strict protocol and are constantly trained, therefore we apologise that you did not perceive this during your time at our hotel. We will investigate the issues that you mention in your review and would like to think that you enjoyed the rest of your visit to our beautiful hotel in Estepona, next to the beach, the ideal location for a family holiday and that you will grant us another opportunity and that we will see you in the future at one of our hotels and conquer you in true Iberostar style, until then we wish you all the best.

Yours sincerely,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Costa del Sol

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews