We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel, dont book with first choice though!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
H10 Estepona Palace
Ranked #8 of 35 Hotels in Estepona
Reviewed 17 September 2011

Just come back from a weeks all inclusive at the Estepona Palace. Really liked the hotel but first choice were rubbish! The only glimpse of a rep was when we all got on the coach and she checked everyone was there, then after telling us the journey to the hotel was about an hour and a half she left. Nearly two and a half hours later we arrived! Having booked it as a premier hotel, they say you get priority drop off and this certainly wasn't priority! We endured the same coach journey on the way back to Malaga where they were clearly trying to make as many stops and cram as many people on as possible. There was no rep at the hotel all week to book excursions, and the information file was never updated so we ended up having to call the 24/7 holiday line just to establish what time we were being picked up to go home and even then it was a uk number which we had to hold for 15 mins or so before getting a response!

Despite first choice's bad planning, we had a lovely time. Reception arranged a car for us for a few days and we did our own trips out to Gibraltar, Ronda, Puerto Banus and Selwo Safari Park which are all worth visits. The walk to Estepona town took about half an hour and a 5-6 euro taxi ride back.

Hotel was clean, staff were friendly and helpful and there was always plenty of choice at breakfast, lunch and dinner. Worth paying for a sea view room, we booked fairly last minute and had a room that looked out the back of the hotel over trees. Nice and peaceful but didn't spend a lot of time in the room so no big thing. Pools were clean but a bit chilly and always managed to get a sunbed when we wanted them.

Would definitely return to this hotel, but not through first choice and would hire a car from the airport to avoid transfers!

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ecr82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,415)
There are newer reviews for H10 Estepona Palace
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

663 - 667 of 1,417 reviews

Reviewed 16 September 2011

The breakfast and dinner buffets are a pleasure for everyone. There is a virtually endless variety of foods, the quality is excellent, everything is fresh and tasty. Some food -such as omelet in the morning and grilled fish and meet for dinner- is cooked in front of the the tourists. Only slight minus is that the restaurant is too large, so it becomes too noisy and agitated at "rush" hours. For the next renovation, I suggest dividing the large room into smaller ones, for more quietness and privacy.
On arrival at the hotel, champagne is offered; apples are on offer at any time at the reception.
The hotel is quite agreable, with a big plus for the services and a little minus for the decoration. The stripped, blue-white carpet floor looks quite nice and must have been expensive, but now is stained and needs to be replaced.
The garden and pool area is of average size, but very well maintained, extremely clean and pleasant. There is a gate leading directly from the garden to the beach. On the beach there are some chaiselongues that belong to the hotel and are free to be used by anyone. Unfortunately, the wellknown habit of reserving them all day long by leaving a towel behind will not die soon. For this reason, it is impossible to get a sit there during the day.
A car is needed for better mobility, because Estepona is a long walk away and buses are rare. Except for a gas station, there is no place to buy food or water near by.

Room Tip: All rooms are facing the sea. I believe some rooms are smaller, judging by the size of their balconi...
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank ausZurich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2011

Am staying here right now with my wife on our second visit to the H10, the first time we stayed I booked the pay in advance ( cheapest) option as I had no idea if the hotel would be good or bad. Our room that time was spacious with a good bed good bathroom and a mini bar/fridge, but it was on the first floor, with a balcony which was about 1.5 meters deep and right beside the bar where each night from 8-12 PM some tuneless toneless and charisma-less warbler would belt out tunes with no thought for the local wildlife.
This time I booked a privilege package which was not hugely more expensive, and its worth it, 6th floor room huge balcony with amazing views room cleaned twice a day and free use of lounge free newspapers, assigned tables in restaurants. Go on spoil yourself. Your'e worth it. By the way there are full/half board options available if you really are lazy, but with excellent restaurants and the port a 10 minute safe walk away, why bother.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank DSG01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2011

We stayed in this hotel as part of a package holiday booked via Thomas Cook.
As you drive up to the hotel it looks impressive, Reception is very large and bright with seating and free WiFi.

1) Location
If you are on a package holiday be aware of the transfer. Our transfer was over 3 hours from Malaga airport. Malaga airport is about an hour away from the hotel but the coach visited so many hotels transfer was a nightmare. We demanded a taxi transfer on return trip.

The hotel is about a mile outside the resort to the west. Outside the hotel there are no bars, restaurants or other entrainment in the local area. It's about a 15 minute walk to bars etc. There is a petrol station near the hotel where we could get snacks and drinks etc.

2) Reception
Reception were generally helpful. Service could be slow at times .

3) Bar/Service
What a nightmare, this hotel wins my award for the worse bar service ever. There were never enough staff on duty and you would have a major wait at peak times. There are several bars in the hotel. The chill-out bar was nice but again service was really bad. We gave up waiting for a waiter one night and went to the bar to get drinks, at the bar we were told to return to our table and wait for the waiter. I felt the bar prices were rather expensive especially given the service. There are no local alternatives so i guess the hotel takes advantage of this.

We did go to bars in the Estepona marina a few times. We walked to the marina (15 mins) and got a cab back (4 - 6 euro). Nice atmosphere but nothing really starts until quite late.

4) Restaurant
Generally restaurant buffet was good. Choice of food was good, some evenings better than others but that may be down to personal taste. Sea food evening was nice with fresh fish and Sushi.

Hotel has some outside tables but very limited and seemed to be reserved for hotel priority program guests.

5) Room
Room was very basic for a four star hotel. Beds were very hard and the worst pillow i've ever had in a hotel. We considered going out and buying our own pillows as the hotel pillows were that bad. You get better bedding in a budget hotel.

Bathroom was fresh and clean with a basic selection a toiletries.

Room had a balcony, we paid extra for a sea view. The fact the hotel doesn't seem to have any non-sea view rooms I'm really not sure what i paid for.

Hotel room is tiled but corridors are carpeted. Carpets were light in colour and rather stained which didn't look that good.

6) Pool
Very nice pools. Hotel has a number of pools linked by bridges. You can swim between the pools under the bridges. The pools also have two water falls which the kids liked.

Like most holiday hotels you'll be playing Sun Bed Wars at this hotel. We watched people getting up before 7am to put towels on beds.

Drinks in Pool bar were very expensive and service could be slow.

7) Hotel Beach
Beach not that clean with rather a lot of broken glass in the sand. Sea has number of rocks just in the water and a few people cut themselves on the rocks. Hotel had some sun beds on the beach but you need to be up very early to reserve on of these. Better beaches are within walking distance.

Entertainment,
Hotel had dance troops a few times a week. Limited seating for shows.

In summary i have trouble saying this was a four star hotel. The hotel should be a four star but the bar service and bedding lets it down.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank GotaSuitcase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2011

we stayed at this excellent Hotel in july this year.Our room was clean and well kept. We had a view from the side balcony up to gibralter. We also enjoyed the swarm of swifts giving an arial display first thing in the morning. The Food was excellent,but the meat could be cooked a little bit more.(But this is a personal choice thing). The staff throughout the Hotel were very helpful and could not do enough for you,especialy, Paul in the resteraunt who is worthy of extra mention. The Hotel is very modern and we spent most of our days round the swimming pool,which was very relaxing. I tried the sea on the first day near the hotel and nearly broke my toe,watch for the rocks you cannot always see them. We walked to the port a couple of times and also went by taxi into Estepona Town a couple of times.We loved the town because it was very much the old Spain,we remember as youngsters.Be sure not to miss the Market,the taxi will drop you there.But you have to walk down to the Town to catch one back.It's not that far just ask for directions. My wife and I had an enjoyable week at this Hotel and will be back. P.S. The hotel could do with replacing the striped carpet in the corridors which looks a mite tatty!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GlamorganBiscuit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Estepona hotels
1.5 km away
Gran Hotel Elba Estepona & Thalasso Spa
2.2 km away
Hotel Fuerte Estepona
Hotel Fuerte Estepona
#4 of 35 in Estepona
891 reviews
12.1 km away
IBEROSTAR Costa del Sol
IBEROSTAR Costa del Sol
#3 of 35 in Estepona
734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 km away
Occidental Estepona Thalasso Spa
14.9 km away
Marriott's Playa Andaluza
14.3 km away
Senator Banus Spa Hotel
Senator Banus Spa Hotel
#7 of 35 in Estepona
680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to H10 Estepona Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about H10 Estepona Palace

Address: Avda del Carmen | Playa del Guadalobon, 29680, Estepona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Estepona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Estepona
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Estepona
#8 Spa Hotel in Estepona
#8 Family Hotel in Estepona
#8 Romantic Hotel in Estepona
Price Range: €74 - €219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — H10 Estepona Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 237
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TravelUp, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your H10 Estepona Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
h10 Estepona Palace Hotel Estepona
h10 Hotel Estepona
Estepona Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing