We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,120)
Filter reviews
2,120 results
Traveller rating
1,214
526
230
94
56
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,214
526
230
94
56
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjunior suitea la carte restaurantsdressing areasea viewhalf boardindoor poollovely hotelthalasso spathe general managerbuffet restaurantlobby barall inclusive packagetaxi ridekids clubbig balconyseparate showerwelcome drink
Filter
Updating list...
292 - 297 of 2,120 reviews
Reviewed 22 July 2016 via mobile

This hotel was fantastic & facilities were excellent. Would come back in a heartbeat. Great for families.

We were only bed & breakfast, but the buffet catered for every taste & need. Only thing we struggled with trying to pay for drinks & meals, as the hotel caters mainly for all inclusive so in most cases they don't take cash payments. Also they don't list the cost against the items charged...which is very strange. This then leaves you with no idea of what youve charged then an unexpected restaurant or bar drinks bill when you come to check out.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank Steven M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elba Estepona E, Director General at Gran Hotel Elba Estepona & Thalasso Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2016

Dear Steven M,

Thank you very much for taking the time to evaluate our hotel on Tripadvisor and help other travelers make a wise choice. We are proud of you comments and knowing that we have contributed to enhance your holiday experience makes us very happy. We are aware that a satisfied costumer is the best ever publicity we can have and we thank you for your kind recommendation. We will share your praise with all the team, I am sure they will be very motivated about it.

We hope to see you again on your future travels
Kindest regards,

Juan Manuel Galán
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2016

Overall a very disappointing experience at this hotel, It certainly wasn't Five Star.
Thought the location was not the best and indeed needed to use taxis if you wanted to go into Estepona itself. This was needed as the entertainment was on the whole pretty poor. Seeming to cater for young children every night up till 11ish. No adult space or time was allowed.
There was however, a nice adult only section with comfortable sun beds and loungers to relax on. Also an indoor pool available.
The service from bars was not the most efficient. Possibly because not enough staff were employed at busy times.
The food, was also not five star, being served on a buffet basis, and was often cold. Though you could have eaten a la carte for an extra €13 per person. We preferred to go out.
Though have to say our room was very spacious and had a nice bath plus separate power shower to relax in after a day in the sun.
But overall disappointed and would certainly not visit again.
Have read reviews on hotels before and thought that some people can't ever be pleased. But visit this hotel at your peril.

Room Tip: You possibly want to get a room not overlooking the gardens where the entertainment at night is or rooms above outdoor pool and restaurants.
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Rob R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elba Estepona E, Director General at Gran Hotel Elba Estepona & Thalasso Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2016

Dear Rob R,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a complimentary review on your recent stay with us at the Elba Estepona Gran Hotel & Thalasso Spa *****
We are glad to read your comments in reference to the our style and décor in our common areas and the great size and excellent furnishings of the room reflect the great efforts we took to to ensure guests as yourself enjoy the highest standard of luxury accommodation.
Our buffet breakfast is one of the favourite highlights of all of our guests, and with more than 300 diverse products on offer including a juice bar and showcooking egg and bacon corner as well as a tortilla station we can easily understand why.



We are sorry that the evening buffet at our main restaurant was not to your liking, we reckon it is rather difficult to match all tastes but still so we like to point out that you will hardly find a better quality-price relation for a hotel buffet around . We have different theme nights, for example Mexican, Canarian, Italian, Asian and our seafood night is worth to have a special mention as many guests have highlighted this evening as one of their favorite theme nights.

Rest assured that we value the opinion of all of our guests and we take them into serious account.Many of these opinions have helped us to take decisions, make changes and start new projects in line with guests expectations.
We firmly believe there is always room for improvment in any hotel, so we take this feedback as constructive criticism and will work even harder to achieve a 100% costumer satisfaction rate.
Once again we wish to thank you for your review and hope to get the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future

Kindest regards,
Juan Manuel Galán
General Manager
Elba Estepona Gran Hotel & Thalasso Spa*****

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2016

Room Tip: Fumigation for mosquitoes
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Jet2holidays
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Elba Estepona E, Director General at Gran Hotel Elba Estepona & Thalasso Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 18 July 2016 via mobile

My husband, daughter & I spent a week at the Gran Hotel Elba we found all the staff very helpful from our arrival to our leaving & the hotel immaculately clean. This was our first visit to a 5* hotel in Spain & must admit we found a couple of little niggles but these didn't spoil our holiday at all. We had ground floor rooms which were just what we wanted (had sent email request for quiet rooms) they were quiet & in beautiful surroundings with the superb gardens.
We did find it strange that the pool bar did not open until 11am for any soft drinks (especially as some people were by the pool before 9am) & snacks were a few meat sandwiches & croissants which our daughter couldn't eat as she's allergic to animal fats so snacks were out. Usually even in a 4* hotel one can usually get snacks for longer periods & more choice than we found here.
As I said just little niggles but everything else including the food was excellent & the Spanish restaurant was brilliant would highly recommend both the food & service was out of this world. My daughter & I had a massage in the SPA which was good value & very relaxing. Well worth a visit I'm sure you will enjoy. Jacqui & Robin Ashton

Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
Thank Jacqui A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elba Estepona E, Director General at Gran Hotel Elba Estepona & Thalasso Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2016

Dear Jacqui & Robin Ashton,

Thank you very much for taking the time to evaluate our hotel on Tripadvisor and help other travelers make a wise choice. We are proud of you comments and knowing that we have contributed to enhance your holiday experience makes us very happy. We are aware that a satisfied costumer is the best ever publicity we can have and we thank you for your kind recommendation. We will share your praise with all the team, I am sure they will be very motivated about it.

We hope to see you again on your future travels
Kindest regards,

Juan Manuel Galán
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2016

We received a great welcome - a really good impression on arrival and pink fizz too! We were struck by the heat and humidity and the foyer/reception area was suffering from a lack of functional air con. This was also an issue within the corridors of the hotel. The room we had was really big, clean and had a fantastic sea view from the balcony. Over the week of our stay, we did see a little inconsistency in the replenishment of simple things like sachets of coffee (always decaf) or complementary biscuits in the room. We had no little bars of soap at all for days, but this is hardly a big deal really. The service lady was a real joy and bless her, tried hard to meet us half-way when trying to talk in our 2 languages!! The wardrobes were actually within a large bathroom area. Both had iffy locks and one of them would come out of the setting into your hands regularly. Both, we know, will be attended to quickly as this is how they function whenever possible. Within 5 minutes of reporting a broken aerial, a maintenance chap came up and sorted it!! If, like me, you tend to pack too much of the 'just-in-case' clothes, you might need to bring a couple of extra hangers - I did, and was glad I had. That said, with their track record, I'm sure the hotel would supply something for you. There are anti-mosquito plugs in each bedroom. All staff work for hours on end and do a great job. The Arena Beach restaurant is where most buffet meals are served. Plenty of choice for everyone. The staff work very hard indeed. The chefs behind the kitchen/servery end of the restaurant (where they cook to order), are so accommodating (or were for us certainly). No cash is accepted at the bars (Lobby Bar is a good) in the hotel until your departure day after booking out. What surprised me very much was that there were never days when you found it difficult to find sun loungers at the pool and the private beach area (just through a card-controlled gate at the pool), was always problem-free in terms of finding a place to sunbathe on loungers. The one thing sea-swimming fans should be aware of is that the wave activity is strong and although underfoot is sandy, there are rocks underneath, so be careful. It isn't always possible to see them because of sand swirling. It is lovely though!! We walked the coast back to the hotel from Estepona - a challenge if wearing the wrong footwear. Some of it paddling, some of it walking over large rubble or drying weed. Trainers an idea, but it's good fun. Estepona - definitely worth a visit, as is old town Marbella. We went to Gibraltar too - a bit on the industrial and tatty looking side, but, the visit up the rock to the caves and of course to see the notorious monkeys is worth it. Staff at reception know their locality and are honest about it in terms of worthy places to see, according to what your likes are. All in all, this is a lovely place to stay. We didn't hire a car, but taxis are available easily (not too desperately expensive either). Don't laugh, but there is a large Aldi, lurking over the road walkway, opposite the hotel (no, not a major eyesore!). That saves money especially for things like plastic bottles of water). Would we return? Yes. Thanks to the staff for a great holiday venue.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank PHandLaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elba Estepona E, Director General at Gran Hotel Elba Estepona & Thalasso Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2016

Dear PHandLaura,

Thank you for deciding to write an online review after your stay at Elba Estepona. We are happy that your short break has been an enjoyable experience and we are truly thankful for your recommendation.

Best regards,

Juan Manuel Galán
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews