We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy family holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gran Hotel Elba Estepona & Thalasso Spa
Ranked #4 of 33 Hotels in Estepona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 July 2016 via mobile

Lovely clean, family friendly hotel. The staff were very kind and wonderful with the children. The swimming pool was ideal for my 4 and 6 year old as it had a huge area which they could both swim and stand up in with a separate baby shallow pool too!!! Plus right on the edge of the beach with a lovely promenade directly outside for safe family walks after a big tea in the fabulous buffet!!! The variety and freshness of food here is magnificent!!!! Really superb quality and presentation - kids loved it too!!!!

I would highly recommend this hotel for a lovely, child friendly, family destination!!!!

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
Thank Joannakv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elba Estepona E, Director General at Gran Hotel Elba Estepona & Thalasso Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2016

Dear Stephen G,

Thank you very much for your visit and for your 5 star review on Tripadvisor. We are very happy to find out that you enjoyed a marvelous holiday from the start til the end and that you loved our hotel.

Once again thank you for your support and for your qualification as happy family holiday – we feel proud of such positive words and they encourage us to keep up the fine work.

We look forward to meet you again soon!

Friendly regards,
Juan Manuel Galán
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,884)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

215 - 219 of 1,884 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2016 via mobile

This hotel was fantastic & facilities were excellent. Would come back in a heartbeat. Great for families.

We were only bed & breakfast, but the buffet catered for every taste & need. Only thing we struggled with trying to pay for drinks & meals, as the hotel caters mainly for all inclusive so in most cases they don't take cash payments. Also they don't list the cost against the items charged...which is very strange. This then leaves you with no idea of what youve charged then an unexpected restaurant or bar drinks bill when you come to check out.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank Steven M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elba Estepona E, Director General at Gran Hotel Elba Estepona & Thalasso Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2016

Dear Steven M,

Thank you very much for taking the time to evaluate our hotel on Tripadvisor and help other travelers make a wise choice. We are proud of you comments and knowing that we have contributed to enhance your holiday experience makes us very happy. We are aware that a satisfied costumer is the best ever publicity we can have and we thank you for your kind recommendation. We will share your praise with all the team, I am sure they will be very motivated about it.

We hope to see you again on your future travels
Kindest regards,

Juan Manuel Galán
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2016

Overall a very disappointing experience at this hotel, It certainly wasn't Five Star.
Thought the location was not the best and indeed needed to use taxis if you wanted to go into Estepona itself. This was needed as the entertainment was on the whole pretty poor. Seeming to cater for young children every night up till 11ish. No adult space or time was allowed.
There was however, a nice adult only section with comfortable sun beds and loungers to relax on. Also an indoor pool available.
The service from bars was not the most efficient. Possibly because not enough staff were employed at busy times.
The food, was also not five star, being served on a buffet basis, and was often cold. Though you could have eaten a la carte for an extra €13 per person. We preferred to go out.
Though have to say our room was very spacious and had a nice bath plus separate power shower to relax in after a day in the sun.
But overall disappointed and would certainly not visit again.
Have read reviews on hotels before and thought that some people can't ever be pleased. But visit this hotel at your peril.

Room Tip: You possibly want to get a room not overlooking the gardens where the entertainment at night is or r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Rob R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elba Estepona E, Director General at Gran Hotel Elba Estepona & Thalasso Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2016

Dear Rob R,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a complimentary review on your recent stay with us at the Elba Estepona Gran Hotel & Thalasso Spa *****
We are glad to read your comments in reference to the our style and décor in our common areas and the great size and excellent furnishings of the room reflect the great efforts we took to to ensure guests as yourself enjoy the highest standard of luxury accommodation.
Our buffet breakfast is one of the favourite highlights of all of our guests, and with more than 300 diverse products on offer including a juice bar and showcooking egg and bacon corner as well as a tortilla station we can easily understand why.



We are sorry that the evening buffet at our main restaurant was not to your liking, we reckon it is rather difficult to match all tastes but still so we like to point out that you will hardly find a better quality-price relation for a hotel buffet around . We have different theme nights, for example Mexican, Canarian, Italian, Asian and our seafood night is worth to have a special mention as many guests have highlighted this evening as one of their favorite theme nights.

Rest assured that we value the opinion of all of our guests and we take them into serious account.Many of these opinions have helped us to take decisions, make changes and start new projects in line with guests expectations.
We firmly believe there is always room for improvment in any hotel, so we take this feedback as constructive criticism and will work even harder to achieve a 100% costumer satisfaction rate.
Once again we wish to thank you for your review and hope to get the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future

Kindest regards,
Juan Manuel Galán
General Manager
Elba Estepona Gran Hotel & Thalasso Spa*****

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2016

Room Tip: Fumigation for mosquitoes
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Jet2holidays
Thank Nigel H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Elba Estepona E, Director General at Gran Hotel Elba Estepona & Thalasso Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 18 July 2016 via mobile

My husband, daughter & I spent a week at the Gran Hotel Elba we found all the staff very helpful from our arrival to our leaving & the hotel immaculately clean. This was our first visit to a 5* hotel in Spain & must admit we found a couple of little niggles but these didn't spoil our holiday at all. We had ground floor rooms which were just what we wanted (had sent email request for quiet rooms) they were quiet & in beautiful surroundings with the superb gardens.
We did find it strange that the pool bar did not open until 11am for any soft drinks (especially as some people were by the pool before 9am) & snacks were a few meat sandwiches & croissants which our daughter couldn't eat as she's allergic to animal fats so snacks were out. Usually even in a 4* hotel one can usually get snacks for longer periods & more choice than we found here.
As I said just little niggles but everything else including the food was excellent & the Spanish restaurant was brilliant would highly recommend both the food & service was out of this world. My daughter & I had a massage in the SPA which was good value & very relaxing. Well worth a visit I'm sure you will enjoy. Jacqui & Robin Ashton

Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
Thank Jacqui A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elba Estepona E, Director General at Gran Hotel Elba Estepona & Thalasso Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2016

Dear Jacqui & Robin Ashton,

Thank you very much for taking the time to evaluate our hotel on Tripadvisor and help other travelers make a wise choice. We are proud of you comments and knowing that we have contributed to enhance your holiday experience makes us very happy. We are aware that a satisfied costumer is the best ever publicity we can have and we thank you for your kind recommendation. We will share your praise with all the team, I am sure they will be very motivated about it.

We hope to see you again on your future travels
Kindest regards,

Juan Manuel Galán
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Estepona hotels
1.5 km away
H10 Estepona Palace
H10 Estepona Palace
#9 of 33 in Estepona
1,474 reviews
16.3 km away
Marriott's Playa Andaluza
13.5 km away
Iberostar Costa Del Sol
Iberostar Costa Del Sol
#3 of 33 in Estepona
799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.8 km away
Occidental Estepona Thalasso Spa
0.7 km away
Hotel Fuerte Estepona
Hotel Fuerte Estepona
#5 of 33 in Estepona
923 reviews
11.6 km away
Healthouse Las Dunas Beach Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Hotel Elba Estepona & Thalasso Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Hotel Elba Estepona & Thalasso Spa

Address: Urbanizacion Arena Beach | Carretera Estepona - Cadiz, Km 151, 29680, Estepona, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Estepona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Estepona
#3 Luxury Hotel in Estepona
#3 Romantic Hotel in Estepona
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Estepona
#4 Spa Hotel in Estepona
Price Range: €126 - €218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Gran Hotel Elba Estepona & Thalasso Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 204
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Alpha Holidays Limited, TravelUp, Stayforlong S.L., Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Gran Hotel Elba Estepona & Thalasso Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Hotel Elba Estepona & Thalasso Estepona
Gran Hotel Elba Estepona And Thalasso Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing