We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (218)
Filter reviews
218 results
Traveller rating
109
78
18
9
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
109
78
18
9
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews roof terrace dona lola safety rules brick bbq tennis courts steam room and sauna first floor road noise huge patio uncrowded beach small pool towels and bedding apartment was very clean asked reception cooking utensils bedroom unit small market
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 218 reviews
Reviewed 15 September 2018 via mobile

Just got back from a lovely family holiday with our two children who are 3 years and 8 months old. We travelled with tots travel and were really impressed by how family friendly the resort was. The apartments were great and we had our own private garden which the children loved. The pool was fab, so much space between the loungers and lots of grass which meant it felt very safe for our youngest rolling around. There was a good choice of restaurants on site and a nice beach. We did walk out to cancelada however the walk isn’t great (over the A7) and wasn’t ideal with little ones. However with nice restaurants on site and a little shop there wasn’t really any need to leave. We would definitely return.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
Thank Reviewer22556
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sebastián U, General Manager at Macdonald Villacana Club Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2018

We are delighted you and your family enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to greeting you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2018 via mobile

What a beautiful place to spend the holidays! This is my 3rd time back and I just love how well groomed the gardens are, how clean and safe, and a very accommodating staff! There are so many sites to see that are less than an hour away and Antonio at reception is so helpful in helping plan an excursions!

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
Thank Denise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sebastián U, General Manager at Macdonald Villacana Club Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2018

Thank you Denise for your positive comments. Hopefully we will be able to welcome you back soon on your 4th visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2018

We stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment. There were 4 of us and we found it very comfortable and spacious; if it had 2 bathrooms it would have been perfect (but this didn't bother us). Spotlessly clean with plenty of towels. The maid visits only once a week, but this was not an issue for us. Well equipped kitchen with dishwasher (tablets etc supplied) - no washing machine. Air conditioning worked well, the only sting in the tail was the £50 charge for electricity at the end of the week. I do feel this is rather excessive. Our safe was faulty and remained this way despite requesting that someone fix it. We should probably have hassled them a bit more but they were happy to keep our passports locked away in reception, so we weren't too bothered. It's a beautiful complex with a few pools. We used the 2 larger ones and were very happy except for being asked to pay for loungers when we used the pool closest to the beach. Again, not a problem, we just used the grass! We enjoyed a family quiz and evening meal at 'Ninety Miles', but watch out for the service charge! They add 10% before presenting you with the bill. The small shop on the complex is very handy and I didn't find it overly expensive. The complex is right next to the beach; it is somewhat pebbly but we still enjoyed it - there is lots of sand too! The whole resort is spotlessly clean and well cared for, and it is extremely pretty thanks to the white buildings covered in flowers. I would most definitely stay here again. You must visit the Chinese on the opposite side of the road; delicious food and brilliant value for money. I would also recommend Casa Miguel, though this is more expensive. The bar next to the larger pool (by the beach) is great for lunch and snacks. We visited Old Town Marbella and got a boat to Puerto Banus, I would highly recommend this. We had a wander through the beautiful square and visited the shops in the morning, then went to Puerto Banus and had lunch, followed by an hour on the inflatables in the sea, then went back to the old town for dinner. Also make sure you visit a market. We went to Estepona and picked up some real bargains; try to get there by about 9.45/10. A thoroughly enjoyable week with something for everyone.

Room Tip: Many apartments have steps so be careful if you mobility issues.
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank janetmarie301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sebastián U, General Manager at Macdonald Villacana Club Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2018

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2018 via mobile

Lovely white houses in a well maintained complex. Flowery, green envinonment with several pools, close to the tranquil beach.
The complex itself is rather busy but nothing compare to the center of Marbella.
Very helpfull staff at the reception.
What more do you need for a beach holiday?

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
Thank AfricanTravelsNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sebastián U, General Manager at Macdonald Villacana Club Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2018

Thank you for your positive comments. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2018

The scenery is just stunning. We stayed in a 2 bedroom villa on the first floor that looked out onto a beautiful little courtyard. The apartment was on 2 floors with the kitchen and living room on the first floor and the bedrooms upstairs. The apartment was well equipped with cooking utensils and towels and bedding was supplied. They give you red towels to use on your sun loungers. The apartment we had, had a large balcony that had a upstairs utility room attached. This was really useful for keeping your drinks cold at night and saved your legs going downstairs. There was a hairdryer in the bathroom but I would recommend bringing your own as it wasn't very powerful.
There were 2 pools, a small one that was very peaceful and probably not really child friendly and a larger one which we used. It is still quite small but adequate for the number of guests. Inflatable things are only allowed in at set times and a lifeguard was always on duty. Beside the pool is a jacuzzi but you are only allowed in if you are over 12. There is a small inside pool that was nice to have a dip in if you wanted to get away from the sun.
The entertainment for the kids was really good. Andy was the only guy I saw but he was brilliant. I think hiring a car is a must if you come here and there was ample parking. Like previous reviews have stated there is an onsite shop but it is expensive. There is a footbridge to get to the village across the road. It is worth a visit and has some nice looking restaurants. We only went to the Chinese but it was nice and cost a fraction on the price compared to resort restaurants. We had one meal at the resort down by the beach. It was lovely and we had nice views of the sea and the kids could play on the beach.
We wanted to extend our room as check out was 10am which I think is very early but unfortunately we couldn't. Overall we had a lovely stay and it is in a great location to visit lots of other resorts.

Stayed: July 2018
2  Thank mafiasheep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sebastián U, General Manager at Macdonald Villacana Club Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2018

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate your positive comments. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews