We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (219)
Filter reviews
219 results
Traveller rating
110
78
18
9
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
110
78
18
9
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews roof terrace dona lola safety rules brick bbq tennis courts steam room and sauna first floor road noise huge patio uncrowded beach small pool towels and bedding apartment was very clean asked reception cooking utensils bedroom unit small market
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 219 reviews
Reviewed 2 July 2018

We do NOT recommend this place AT ALL because of following reasons: 1- the floors very dirty, my new born was craling on the floor and the shirts were getting BLACK every one hour from the dirty floors. 2- Beds are uncomfortable and sofabed even worse for the price yourepaying 3- They are very dishonest regarding they payment method. When you want to leave they charge you 5 euros PER DAY for electricity consumption which is a FLAT rate. that is equivalent of 450 euro per month and such a small flat inSPAIN will NEVER consum so much even if you have the aircon on all day. And if its a flat rate they must be honst and charge upfront. why do they have to wait till the end to charge people such high rate for elctricity. this way of charging is a lack of respect to customers intenligence. 4- As if the place is not expensive already they ONLY let you to enter at 17:00 yet You MUST leave at 11:00 and YET they charge you for the day and electricity bill paid by both cusotmers of different days. VERY DISHONEST WAY OF DOING BUSSINESS and i do not recommend them. Very disppointed.

Room Tip: por favor revisar el precio final con luz. La camas no son comodas, es sucio y por unos euros mas tienes mejores ofertes
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brighton1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sebastián U, General Manager at Macdonald Villacana Club Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2018

Unfortunately, you do not mention in which apartment you were staying and we are not sure whether it was in one of the private units or part of our resort. We also do not know how you booked, whether it was via a booking agency or directly with us. On all the websites, the fact that we charge for electricity is mentioned, as well as the check in and check out times. If you were indeed staying at our resort, I apologise for the floors being dirty although we do pride ourselves on excellent housekeeping, so I find this very strange. If you wish to contact us directly, we would be happy to clarify all these points.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2018

We, my 2 sons and I, booked this very last minute - due to the lateness we had a choice of this resort or another in Tenerife. So pleased we went for this one.

Lots of positives: The resort is kept spotlessly clean. The pool is cleaned most days as is the area around the pool and the pool loos are spotless. The grounds are lovely with lots of flowering plants, so gorgeous against the bright white of the walls and apartments. There are plenty of cushioned sun loungers.

Our apartment was a 2 bed (one bedroom with twin beds and the other with a small double) 2 bath, kitchen/dining area, living room area (with 2 x sofa beds), which means this apartment could sleep 8, although I think they say it caters for 6. It has a huge patio with outside table and chairs, 4 x sun loungers and parasol. This area was also lovely with flowering plants. On arrival, for the most part, the apartment was very clean.

The kitchen was well equipped with crockery etc, although we didn't cook any meals - we had our breakfasts and lunches in the apartment and went out in the evenings for dinner - so I can't really comment on the cooking equipment.

There is an ironing board and iron and other household equipment, and in this apartment there were 6 pool towels.

The beach is a short 5 min walk away. The cleanliness of the beach isn't too bad, but the sea shore is quite stony and there's quite of bit of seaweed in the sea.

There is a convenient little shop a 2 min walk from the resort, ideal for immediate provisions and bread and croissant. However, please see 'Top Tips' below.

There are a few restaurants very close to the resort:

90 Miles - quite good in our opinion.
Gregorio's - again quite good.

Restaurants a bit further a field - 10 min walk. Go out of the resort and turn right and walk over bridge crossing the dual carriageway, then it's a short walk to an area called Cancelada.

Bodeguita Santa Maria - very good.
Casa Miguel - very good.

Jaipur Purple - very good. See 'Top Tips' below.

We didn't have a car, so could only visit close by restaurants.

Negatives: Cockroaches in the apartment!

Although the apartment was cleaned to a high standard in most regards, the outside of the bin in my ensuite was very dirty, as was the top of the ceramic loo roll holder.

Not enough sun parasols and bases. There's always one family isn't there that gets up at the crack of dawn and 'reserves' their sun loungers and parasols before anyone else shows up. As it was the case for our week's holiday; by 8.30 am, they had 'reserved' 9 sun loungers and 8 parasols, leaving about 4-5 parasols for the rest of the guests!

We were in apartment 48, far away from the noise of the dual carriageway but right next to the bar area. The first couple of nights were fine - not too much noise. But then on Wednesdays they have a Karaoke night!! The volume was so high we couldn't talk to each other without raising our voices significantly, watching the TV was an impossibility and we certainly couldn't relax and play cards outside on our patio. By 11 pm, it was still blaring way (why is it that people with really bad voices love Karaoke?!), and didn't stop until 12.20 am! Far, far too late for those who are in villas close to the bar area. It most other resorts we've stayed at who do Karaoke it's over by 11 pm and us conducted as far away as possible from the apartments.

The previous evening, we had unsupervised small children (3-7 years) running up and down the pathway immediately outside our apartment, probably whilst the parents were enjoying a drink, shouting and screaming for upwards of an hour and a half, which lasted until way after 11.30 pm. Last night, although not as loud, small children were shouting and screaming well after 12 am! Is it just me, when my sons were that age and we holidayed at a similar resort in Portugal for a few years, they were tucked up in bed by 10 pm latest. Although we may have liked to go to the bar for a few, we recognised that we couldn't and had a few glasses of wine on the balcony/patio instead...

With this in mind, there should be more of an emphasis from the resort management to the guests about consideration. I know sun lounger and parasol 'reserving' en masse is difficult to police, but I've not seen anything in the apartment information book or around the resort asking guests to be considerate with regard to 'reserving' sun loungers and parasols or about noise levels. This is something I've seen in many other similar resorts. You would hope people would be considerate of their own accord, but sadly....

TOP TIPS:

If you don't rent a car, there is a Lidl a 20 minute walk away, which is A LOT cheaper than the local shop. It's open until 9 pm. Consider getting a taxi to Lidl (€5-6 each way), to get your groceries. Pack freezer bags, get bread rolls, croissants etc - enough for a few days (25 - 40 cents each) and freeze them in the apartment freezer! They sell bottles of good Rioja for less than €3! Then once you've done your shopping, walk right across to Jaipur Purple for a delicious Indian meal - good value all round!

Bring ear plugs!

We had a good holiday here as the positives outweigh the negatives.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
7  Thank LaLaLand1810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2018 via mobile

We normally go to Dona Lola Calahonda the other McDonald resort but chose this as a change and we were not disappointed. Accommodation included a wee secluded patio area that we could enjoy sundowners staff very good and friendly . Love the jacuzzi and I had a couple of treatments massage and reflexology which were excellent

May return here rather than dona Lola

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank ThePhotographer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sebastián U, General Manager at Macdonald Villacana Club Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2018

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again soon, either at Villacana, Doña Lola or our resort in Mijas, La Ermita.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2018

It’s brilliant, and not before time, that Macdonald’s have stopped charging for wi-fi usage or indeed the safe, these small things can make a difference. The apartment and whole resort continues to be spotlessly clean. The restaurant was closed three evenings we were there. Occupancy didn’t seem that high, maybe too early in the season. We found a wallet in the car park and handed it into Reception, they never said if was reunited with it’s owner, I sincerely hope it was.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank joe w w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2018

Just finishing a week at MacDonald Villa Cana Resort in Estepona. We had a 2 bedroom unit (112). It was located in the top half of the resort (nearer the hwy). Road noise was not an issue, although you could hear traffic sounds once in a while.

The unit had kitchen, dining area and living room on the main level, with 2 bedrooms, bathroom and a small area with sink and beer fridge just off the outside deck, which had seating for 6 and 2 chaise lounges (with cushion pads). Sun or shade available, depending on where you sat. No view to speak of from the deck. It looked over the courtyard and across to neighboring units. Maid service once a week on Wednesday’s (which was excellent).

Kitchen – Excellent appliances, a large fridge and dishwasher. Electric stove top (4 burners) and convection oven, Microwave, coffee maker (with filter) kettle and a large toaster all in good working order. Dishes for 6, mugs, wine glasses, flutes (heavy glassware) etc. They start you off with 1 roll of paper towels. The only improvement I could suggest is they need measuring spoons, a measuring cup and a whisk. All easily brought or bought if needed. Pots and knives were good quality, although I did wish for a full size chef’s knife from time to time. No roasting pan in the unit, I used the broiler pan until I could pick up a couple of foil pans.

Living Dining Area – 1 small to medium size flat screen TV, seating for six at the dining table and a pull out queen sofa bed in living area. Channels included Sky News, CNN Intl, several BBC and GOLTV and REAL Madrid TV and many others. A small (2 foot) deck off the living area with a view to the West (including a tiny slice of the sea if you stand on the balcony). There are screens on almost all windows and doors allowing for great air circulation.

Master Bedroom – A queen size bed (a bit firm, but my husband liked it), 2 bedside tables with lamps, 2 wardrobes with drawers. The safe was a good size, held two full size laptops, cameras, kindles etc with no problem. There was a small (3 foot) deck with a view to the West (including a tiny slice of the sea if you stand on the balcony). A remote controlled A/C unit, which looked excellent, but we did not require during our visit. Excellent linens. I found all sheets, towels to be very good quality, with the small exception of the pool towels, which were a bit worn.

2nd Bedroom – Two twin beds, with a bedside table between them, 2 wardrobes. We used this room for storage as there were only 2 of us in the unit. It included a remote controlled A/C unit, same as the master.

Bathroom – Had 1 sink and makeup mirror, large tub, bidet and toilet. Good linens as mentioned earlier.

Resort Grounds – Well maintained grounds, lovely gardens and good parking. It has two heated pools, a restaurant and an activity schedule. We did eat our first night in the restaurant and found the food and menu okay. There is a small market just outside the grounds on the sea side. They baked fresh bread, baguettes and pastries several times each day. The beach was about 1 block walk down a road between other resorts. The beach was rocky and it was a bit cool (early April) to be sitting on the beach.

All in all, the unit was well maintained and clean. Do make sure the switch on the solar hot water heating panel is in the UP position. If not, you will only have hot water when the sun is out. For us, we are beach people not pool people this is not the best choice of resort. I made our reservation late this year and did not do enough research. However, we enjoyed our week here and did a lot of exploring. We had a great day in Estepona town/port and a beautiful trip to Tarifa, one of the best beaches I’ve seen in Spain. Lots of kite surfers when the conditions are good. Today we are heading to Marbella Old Town and Port and tomorrow we check out.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Waveriders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sebastián U, General Manager at Macdonald Villacana Club Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write such an extensive review of our resort. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and hope you will visit us again in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews